We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Jan 22nd - 29th Jan 2013, a warm friendly hotel with seven Al a Carte Restaurants, four Swimming pools and right next to the beach at Punta Cana. The transfer was a pain free 40 minutes by air conditioned coach.
The buffet food was exceptional for an all inclusive with a large variety of seafood as well as all the usual.
We were upgraded to a Junior suite for free by the hotel as we booked late and we didn't even ask, and wow it was quite somthing, a very large room with a Queen sized bed and a very comfy matress. the room was spotless as was the bathroom that had a seperate cubicle for shower and toilet. then there was the huge round jaquzzi bath which got pleanty of use after a day relaxing in the sun.
the beach is awsome with white powder sand a turquoise sea, the locals were very pleasent and a quick holding up of the hand keeps the salesmen at bay.
The Spa treatments were excellent with the two massages i had being of a very good standard indeed.
We did venture out on the whale watching trip as the humpback Whales come down to mate this time of year, we saw two whales frollicking about in the water just feet from our boat
Only complaint I have is the Horse Ranch which was included as part of the Whale Watching trip, the horses were a little skinny for our liking and some of the people getting on them were far from it.
Another slightly annoying aspect was all the towels people insist on leaving on the recliners to book them, I personally would remove these, however my wife would not let me.

Room Tip: Villa 2 Room 1028
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deadlysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having stayed at the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the community.
We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at our resort and that you have enjoyed most of what our resort has to offer such as que quality of the food at the buffets, your Junior suite and our amazing beach.
We are glad you enjoyed your trips along the the beautiful island.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,473
    1,838
    784
    358
    328
See reviews for
2,880
3,147
92
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

First off let me tell you that we are very well traveled people who travel every year to the carribbean (in a 5 star resort everytime), so we know what we are talking about! this was the first time EVER that we have been so upset & dissapointed with the constant harrasment, every five minutes someone walking by trying to sell you this or that, not once or twice a day either, i counted one day ten times from the same guy, even when i was trying to have a nap by the pool they bend down and start talking to you with no consideration that i'm resting! Also the towels are strategically placed wedged between the excursion guy & the fake tatoo / piercing guys so every time you need towels you have to hear them try to sell you some package & no isn't good enough,they don't get it, then at 2pm the vendors set up by the pool at every entrance so your trapped in, they litteraly will come over & grab you,put necklaces around your neck even while saying no gracias, we never seen so many people hustling for money like this, they have way too many people selling than cleaning up the place, in closing Jamie L hit the nail right on the head, too much disruption & not enough relaxing!!

Now the rest of the resort...

Food was great even in the buffets, no complaints here except that all the meat isn't cooked like we do here in Toronto, make sure you say well done, pretty good all in all

Hotel room was nice and spacious,big washroom,small balcony. The beds are harder than concrete & the pillows are a joke, woke up with ribs sore,back aching & my neck stiffer then a ironing board, two weeks there & our safe didn't work the last week,so my wife had to carry all our valuables,$,passports in her hand bag to pool, beach dinner everywhere! & yes we told them about it, but never got fixed. we noticed that the front desk can't keep up with the amount of people coming and going, (maybe some of the hustlers at the pool should help them).

Pools were nice,four to choose from, again if you don't get down there by 7am forget it, you will never get a seat let alone a umbrella. I was forced to get up at 5:30am and go down & hold the seats till my family arrived or else we would be seating on the concrete, i was pretty pissed knowing every morning I had to get up early & do this chore,it's ridicolious that people can just put a bottle of water on one chair to hold 7 chairs! & the chairs are empty most of the day, all the tables & chairs have towels but yet there is only a handfull of people actually swimming, that bothered me too, we've been to resorts where they monitor the chairs & if your gone for more then 30 mins they remove the towels, what a great idea (reading fiesta group). The pirate ship was nice for the kids, waiters walking around serving drinks really nice!

Entertainment, i can't tell you because i was wiped by 9pm from getting up so early to reserve my pool seats, so i didn't go anywhere at night but i can tell you that POP (people of palladium) where virtualy invisible the whole time i was there, went to get ping pong pattle for the kids to play & they where closed every time, 7,8,9 in the morning &12,1,2 in the afternoon ,not a soul to be found.

In closing i would only return to this hotel if i know that changes have been made and they pay attention to small details, us the customer, who is paying to have peace & quite by the pool sun tanning!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJ1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear TJ1997,

On behalf of Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort, Spa y Casino we want to thank you for the dedicated time you spent to share your suggestions.

Politely we would like to apologize for the inconvenience, thanks to you and other customers suggestions we are working to improved our services.

One more time thank you very much, we look forward for your return.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Look for Romeo Risoris and Evelyn at the pool, best entertainment staff at the resort! Lots of energy!!! We relaxed on the beach all morning and played pool activities all afternoon. If you get a chance walk down the beach to the locals and visit Chris in the pink shop(marlin sport center). No pressure while shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candicedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Candicedawn,

From the staff of Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort, Spa y Casino we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We are proud that you received your well deserved vacations.

Once again thank you very much, we hope to see you soon.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We just had a week here in early Feb and will certainly not be going back.

POSITIVES

The room - We got to the hotel very quickly (well worth booking a private taxi) and when I asked if we had a 'good' room I was told 'Yes sir, you have a romance suite, one of the best we have'. This was great, can't complain about free upgrades! The room itself was very nice, comfortable and clean. The bathroom had just been resealed (I could smell it) but that wasn't a problem. The outside shower itself was a very nice novelty but I'm glad I didn't pay the extra for it as we only used it once and didn't use the hammock at all.

The beach - As most people say, the beach itself is lovely, but we didn't spend much time there as we both prefer to sit by the pool, though the atmosphere was very nice when we did venture to the sea.

The weather - It was great apart from the rain showers every morning between 10-12 (which is not unsurprising in this part of the world), but they only last about 10 mins anyway and, in the heat, it's not a problem.

NEGATIVES

Towels by the pool - If you want to sit by the pool and have the option of shade, get up before 7am and 'reserve' your spot. I personally hate this and having to set an alarm at 7am on holiday so that I can make sure I have a comfortable place to lounge all day sort of defeats the point of a HOLIDAY. I would turn up at the pool at 0730 and usually grab one of the last pairs of seats under a parasol/umbrella, we'd then go to breakfast and be back down to the pool within an hour and find nobody there still. I noticed 'good' spots routinely being reserved yet unused until midday at least, which is absolutely ridiculous and incredibly selfish of the other guests. The hotel need to invest in some more (portable) parasols for the pool area or ban 'reserving' seats and actually enforce it.

Constant harassment - I honestly think that we couldn't go more than about 1 hour by the pool without someone coming up and asking us to go on a tour, or take a picture with a monkey/snake/parrot or buy their wares.

On one day they actually had lookey-lookey men (trinket vendors) come and set up by the pool to sell their stuff. I have never seen or heard of this before in a '5 star' resort and couldn't believe it was happening! They also actually came up to us at our loungers and asked us to come and look at their stall, more than once! A polite 'no thank you' won't always do, and you shouldn't have to say it 5+ times a day while inside the resort.

Restaurants - While there is a good variety of food available, the quality itself is very average. We ate at 4 of the Al a Carte restaurants and, other than the Mexican (which was very good) we weren't particularly impressed. There is no reservation system (WHY!?) so the restaurants are first come-first served. Which, at a resort so large, is impractical. We turned up at 8pm (the busiest time) and had to wait over an hour to be seated, though a 2 hour wait had been estimated. Another night we had to wait over an hour and a half. When we turned up to the Brazilian restaurant we were told we'd have to wait but were given no indication of time. When I asked the lady if she had any idea how long the wait would be she simply said 'No.' Any idea at all, just an estimate? 'No.' Ok, how many people are ahead of us? 'Seven.' So we sat at the bar for only 20 minutes before being seated, but for all we knew, it could have been hours (which they had estimated at the previous restaurants).

We generally found the food in the buffet restaurant to be alright with a good range of choice.

Inconsistent drinks service - The drinks service around the pool was either excellent or terrible, no in-between. People would either walk round and take your drinks ('drinkies?') order very regularly and come back with it promptly (with well made drinks, Pina Coladas and Tequila Sunrises are exceptionally tasty)...or they would MAYBE come round once an hour and then eventually come back 30 minutes later with a drink that either had no alcohol in it, or melted ice so was half water.

Saona Island Catamaran Tour - AVOID THIS UNLESS YOU WANT TO SPEND 7 HOURS TRAVELING. You'll pay around $170 for this trip and it's the biggest waste of money going. You'll be picked up at 7am, you'll then spend 2hours on a bus collecting people from other hotels and making rest stops before getting to the boat (advertised as a speed boat, IT IS NOT, it is a fast powered catamaran running at approx 34kts). You'll then spend around 2 hours on a boat going to the island making stops to stand in shallow areas of the sea or 'snorkel' in an area with almost no fish or good coral. You'll then get to the island around midday and have a rest (in the midday sun?) before being served a lunch of mostly salad, which doesn't always make it round the whole table, and some lobster (which was mostly good, though we both ended up a little ill later - don't know if it's related to the salad or the lobster). You'll then leave the island around 3pm on a sail/powered catamaran and then travel about 2 hours back to the mainland. These 2 hour trips on the boats follow a coastline which isn't interesting, is generally unchanging and the water surrounding it is much the same. The sailings generally consist of Spanish music and drinking, which led to a few people getting wild drunk, sunburned and dancing a bit to a couple of songs on repeat. If all this wasn't enough to make you question the trip, you'll then stop on the way back for a 'shopping' trip at a small local shop selling trinkets and souvenirs, when all you want to do is get a proper meal and sleep. We ended up getting back to the hotel at 1930. 12.5 hours out of the hotel - 3 hours ON the island we went to visit. Waste of a day.

Punta Cana Airport - Worst airport I've ever been to (and I have to travel worldwide for a living). You'll see why on departure day. Chaos and Queuing - but the booze is cheap!

SUMMARY
If all you want to do is sit in the sun on a beach all day, don't mind waking up early to reserve a good spot and can put up with being asked to go on tours etc all the time then this would certainly not be a bad place to visit. The rooms are good, the resort is spacious, there are a good range of restaurants and the staff are, in the majority, friendly and multilingual.

If you want to lounge by a pool (with the option of shade), in peace, and waking up when you want and eat when you want to (as opposed to 'When will I not have to turn up and then wait X hours?') then this isn't the place for you.

It wasn't the place for us and we won't be coming back but I can see why many people rate it highly.

Room Tip: Villa 21 is near the pool, if you like to nap in the afternoon avoid this villa as music and enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Jamie L,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort, Spa y Casino, we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your holidays, I assure you we will consider your suggestions, we are working to improve our services.

Once again thank you very much, we hope to see you soon.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

this is the second time at this resort, it is still absolutely fantastic!!!. All staff are friendly, kind, helpful. we did not try any alacarte food, as the selection in the buffet restaurants was excellent,and we enjoyed sampling a wide variety.
All the pools were lovely. we enjoyed the one at the palace best, because it was very near the beach, and lunch there was always lovely.
There is nothing that we wanted, that was not offered. Drinks were all lovely, food excellent. Our room was perhaps a little dark, but it was large, the jaccuzi was a nice feature,and it was spotlessly clean.
I misplaced our return flight tickets, but reception staff were very helpful, and let me use the managers office to access email, and re print them.Very professional,and reassuring.
Special thanks also to sharron, our first choice rep, who was excellent.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort to others, and will probably return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21rakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear 21rakis,

We are really thankful for you’re the precious time you dedicate to share your good experiences in the hotel with us.

It is a satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that we have totally satisfied your needs.

We are glad because you spend a great time with us.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

excellent resort, wonderful food, extremely attentive staff and the rooms are awesome. highly recommend this resort and island. the beach is beautiful, white sand, blue sky and clear water. the rooms near the beach are the best, but the entire resort is great. the spa is outstanding

Room Tip: near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Pamela W,

From the staff of Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort, Spa y Casino we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We are proud that once again you chose our Resort, trusting that we will give you your well deserved vacations.

Once again thank you very much, we look forward for your return.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I must apologize to the staff and in particular to Wilkin at the Grand Palladium Bavaro for not writing this review sooner.

This was our first time away for New Years and our third time at the GP Bavaro and as in previous visits the resort was great.

For the New Year celebration, all of the al carte restaurants were closed and there were three seatings at the buffet's (7, 8:30 and 10pm). The "Gala" setting was wonderful and food was delicious.

Music in the lobby with the band got everyone into the party mode as well as in the disco and theatre and we danced the night away till 3 am.

Once midnight came around everybody went outside to watch a spectacular fireworks display.

My wife and I would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks and gratitude to Wilkin for all of the wonderful things that you did for us during our stay and giving us the VIP treatment.

A special hello and thank you is also extended to all of the staff and in particular, Isadora (Bavaro lobby bar) and Santa (server Punta Cana buffet). All of you made our stay a very memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amigo_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Amigo_Paul,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort, Spa y Casino, we wants to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

Comments like yours are the best motivation for our team; thank you for choosing our Hotel and for trusting that we will give you your well deserved vacations.

We look forward for your return.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
15.9 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
38.5 mi away
Casa de Campo
Casa de Campo
#1 of 12 in La Romana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
13.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino & Royal Suites. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Bavaro (excluding the Royal Suites). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Bavaro Hotel
Grand Palladium Bavaro Punta Cana
Grand Bavaro Punta Cana
Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort Spa
Punta Cana Palladium
Punta Cana Grand Palladium
Palladium Punta Cana
Palladium Bavaro
Fiesta Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing