We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home cooked food!”

La Posada de Gladys
Ranked #81 of 311 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Restaurant details
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Not sure about the picture someone posting showing La Posada de Gladys as swanky, chic, cause it's NOTHING like the picture.

If you want inexpensive, authentic dominican food, La Posade de Galdys is the place! ^ of us ate at this very casual roadside restaurant/ hut for under $50.00usd with 24oz Presedenti beers for all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shredsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicolet, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great local restaurant close to the Barcelo Dominican Hotel. Excellent food and a very good service. We had take-out and we enjoyed our chicken meal with rice and beans! A lot of locals go there and it is cheap: cost us around 15$ US for 3 persons, including french fries! What a bargain!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa , Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A taste of the Dominican”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We rented a condo, so we wanted to try out some local fare. We had the chicken every time as it was great. It came with rice and beans. I also ordered the ham and swiss, and it was also very good. Beer was really cold, and the staff spoke mainly Spanish. We managed with my limited knowledge of the language. If you want to try some Dominican food and be surrounded in a great culture with other locals. Definitely give this place a try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_guy4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dominican Dining Immersion”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Feb. 2013 - The restaurant is located by the Barcelo Dominican Resort in Plaza Dorado. It is an open air restaurant with a thatched roof staffed by mainly non-English speaking Dominicans. The service was immediate and the menu is limited to the ingredients on hand. The chicken is delicious and they offer take out. The beer is nice and cold! Chicken with rice and beans with two beers was 380 pesos which is approximately 9 US dollars. Recommended if you want to experience the real Punta Cana reality. Gritty but great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebStoneyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have been going to La Posada de Gladys for the last two years and expect returning next month when we return to PC. This is a local restaurant where you get to eat with some locals, tourists etc... At noon, this place is really busy with lots of takeouts. They have great tasting chicken, beans etc.. Wine is a bit pricey, so we stay with the beer. They make delicious San Cocho (local stew), unfortunately, this is made maybe once a week, but is a local favorite. Situated right on the main drag. Worth going to !

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellamonieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posada de Gladys also viewed

 
Bavaro, Punta Cana
 

Been to La Posada de Gladys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing