We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun experience”

Punta Cana Surf School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a surf school located at Macao Beach, Dominican Republic offers surfs services in the Punta Cana / Bavaro / Cabeza de Toro and Uvero Alto area with more than ten years in the bussines as a surf instructor and as Personnal or VIP guide
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fun experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lot of fun learning to surf at Macao Beach. Danilo has a very personal level of attention for each participant. He came, picked us up from the resort and took us to the beach. He and another instructor just for my wife and I to learn.

Very patient, good tutoring, and friendly personal service.

Got us in the water and up on the boards in no time!

My wife was really excited to try this and we were both very happy when we were done.

Recommended

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    1
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My son and I had been looking forward to this from when we booked our vacation and we were not disappointed. Danilo picked us up at the Hard Rock and took us to Macao Beach. I'm 54 and my son is 14 we both had a great time and it became obvious that my son is a better surfer then me, He actually got up on his feet on the first wave and many others. Danilo and his other instructor gave us one on one lessons. Macao Beach is beautiful and pristine. The waves were perfect for beginners. Overall we had a great time. When visiting Punta Cana you need to try this.
Thanks to Danilo for some wonderful lifetime memories.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

To begin--I had brought my four children to R.D. for my 50th birthday. The age range is 9 to 18 years old. My oldest son has surfed in California. Our plan was to have a family surf excursion that fits all of us.

The location is Macao Beach.

The instructor, Danilo speaks excellent English as did all of his assistants. He picked us up at our hotel and told us about the various sites along the way, even addressing safety outside of the resort and where the best exchange rates and purchases can be found.

At the beach, he talked to us about safety and after a quick dry-run on the beach, he had us in the water with individual assistants. He provided surfing shirts and sun-block, if needed. We each had an individual experienced assistant. He provided much needed refreshments on our break. To my surprise, we all were surfing within a short time.

We stayed at the beach for almost four hours, enjoying the sights, sounds, surfing to our hearts content. My boys enjoyed it so such they went back two days later. The surf was bigger and faster. I am glad that I sat that day out.

Regarding price . . . best value I found in Punta Cana!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington dc
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream came true!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I've been wanting to try surfing for a long time. So I finally got an opportunity to do so and it was wonderful! Danilo Fernandez picked me up from the hotel and took to the Macao beach which was about 30 min away from Barcelo bavaro deluxe where I was stayed. On the way there he showed me around, did a little excursion. The Macao beach is absolutely gorgeous!!! The waves were not big but perfect for the beginners. At first danilo gave a 15 min lesson on the beach and then we spent 1 hour in the water. It took probably about 30 minutes in the water to get a hold and stand up on the board! Then we took a 20 min break and another hour in the water. I loved it do much I went again the next day!!! A lot of fun! Everybody is very friendly and will do anything you ask.
Definitely recommend this to everyone!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IrinaRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“By far, the best part of my vacation.”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you are looking for something fun, energetic, and worth your money call Danilo! I'm a 35 yr old wife/mother and have always wanted to try surfing. I couldn't have had a better experience for my first time. The instructors are 1 on 1, very helpful & very friendly. I will definitely be back! Thanks Danilo, Marco, and the Punta Cana Surf team for a wonderful time!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punta Cana Surf School also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Punta Cana Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing