We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Honest Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Ranked #56 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riu Palace Bavarro October 14th to the 18th. Check in was very simple and the staff were very friendly at front desk. The decor is a bit strange, a cross between the Jetsons and Vegas. The resort is VERY clean. There are no cockroaches in the rooms as some people claim. You see an occasional cricket. Other than that no bugs hardly any mosquitos either. The pool and beach area are very nice with lots of loungers available in the sun and shade. Bartenders at the pool bar are very nice. You do have to ask for the better liquor. Only one beer Brahma on tap and cans-not bad like a light beer. The wine is not good at all. Buffets are rather typical. The food was fully cooked not raw like so many people state in their review. We had no problem finding something we liked. We ate at the Steak house and had filet and lobster tail. It was so good we went back a second time. The steak melted in your mouth which is unusual at a resort. Do not go to the Casino. We truly feel that it is "rigged" making is impossible to win anything. We are both sure that the dealer was being quite dishonest. The entertainment staff are not as good as at other resorts we have been to but they try. We found the people in general to be rather unfriendly. We are used to going to Mexico where the people are welcoming, warm and friendly. It is unbelievably HOT and HUMID. You are ok as long as you are in pool or under palms on beach. The ocean there has alot of seaweed but the beach itself is beautiful. This is a large resort so you do alot of walking. Most of the workers at the airport had attitudes and were VERY unfriendly. To sum it up, the resort is beautiful but we did not like the area it was in. We will go to other RIUS but not back to Dominican Republic.

Room Tip: Rooms near the lobby and stage area are very noisy. We were over by Caribbean Street and it was ver...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LSampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,479)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,768 - 1,774 of 3,480 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

I recently returned from a short stay at thie lovely property. Oct. 8th-10th. The beach area was lovely and the food fantastic. They have excellent selection of bread that tastes like my mom baked. Chocolate fondue at night. The coffee bar in the lobby is wonderful - try the whiskey coffee.

Room Tip: Upgrade. As always the lowest category will have you at the back of the property with no view and f...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank packngo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Myself and two friends went here for 11 nights, (women) went out on the 5th and got back on the 17th. This resort was truly lovely, all the staff were so friendly and so helpful but not in your face!! The rooms were lovely and big and were kept spotless and the bar regularly stocked, but if you did run out a phone call soon sorted it. We also had the breakfast in bed option one morning and that was great and so much of it, also room service very efficient and quick. We only tried the steakhouse restaurant but myself I was not that impressed but my two friends enjoyed the meal more but I was glas I tried it. The buffet restaurant however was amazing for breakfast, lunch and dinner, so much choice beautifully cooked and presented, and if you are celebrating anything the celebration they perform is brilliant!!!! All the staff in the buffet were lovely and we had a lot of fun with them all. The beach was right on the doorstep as they say and you could benefit from climbing out of the pool to then falling in to the sea!!! So so stress free!! Resort was always been cleaned even seen guys on the roof with mop and buckets!!! We would thoroughly recommend this resort and we will definitely be returning.
The only thing that I did think was wrong that it is advertised for 4pools which is has got but one is for VIP guests only and the other for 'Senzi Mar' (Germans) guests only but we weren't told that we could not use them until we had meeting with Thompson rep!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were really impressed with this hotel. We were at this hotel for my parents 40 year wedding anniversy. We stayed here with 8 adults and 2 children (age 8 and 10) and all of us enjoyed the vacation.

The vacation was a different kind of vacation I normally have: it was do nothing, relax and have fun. The venue was fantastic for this.

Rooms:
The rooms were really big (50 square meters) and exactly as on the photos on the site. So a two queensize beds, a flatscreen tv, a bath in the middle of the room, a seperate shower, a seperate toilet, a lounge area with a couch and a balcony. The minibar was all inclusive with beer, water, soda's and also liquor.

Restaurants:
The main restaurant is fantastic. A buffet style restaurant with everything you can ask for. I could have eatten here every day. We also went to the Italian Restaurant (which was good) the Japanese Restaurant (which in my opinion is not really good, but we are big fan of Japanese food and go out to good restaurants quite often, in comparison with my parents who never ate at a Japenese restaurant and enjoyed the food) and a fusion restaurant (I believe this was called Krystal) this restaurant was the best restaurant!!

Pool/ beach
The poolarea is really good. Even though a lot of persons are sitting here it never felt crowded. The beach was fantastic also here it didn't feel crowded and you could sit easily under the palmtrees. All in all this was really good

Entertainment:
The entertainment team is doing their best to make your vacation good. The children loved it during the day and the evening shows are also fun to look at. In my opinion not a must, but fun when you have nothing to do.

Service:
The service all over was good. The cleaning service is good and check in/ check out is also really good

Excursions:
We went to Santa Domingo and went diving. If you like to see a little of the country you have to go to Santa Domingo. Even though it's a two and a half hour drive it's a must see. We also went diving. My brother, sister in law and I all have our open water padi. We always like to make a dive on the vacation. The sites near the hotel are not the best dive sites, but will do when you are not an experienced diver. The rates were also good. 100 US dollars for 2 dives.

All in all a really great time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kleinetijger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were really impressed with this resort from check-in to check-out. The food quality
and service exceeded our expectations - especially the Krystal Restuarant. Antonio,
who handles the restuarant reservations, was truly a great person and very accommodating. We will definately be back !!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the VIP section.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mike2222pine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel rooms are very big. I believe they are all almost the same, the only diffrerence is the view. We had a ocean view suite. The rooms has a jacuzzi, big bed, small living room and a big shower separeted of the toilet. I found the bed a little to hard, but this is only my opinion, for my wife it was ok.

All the rooms have a coffee machine and a small cabinet with whisky, vodka, rum and gim plus some soft drinks and beers.

The buffet and snack restaurants are big and the food is ok. They also have 4 restaurants (italian, steakhouse, japanese and fusion). At the time we stayed there only one worked per night.

The swimming pools are great and they have lots of sunbeds for everybody, the quality of the cocktails are ok.

My only complaim is about the quality of the wine that they serve in the restaurants at night, it is really bad.

They also have a sport bar with some video games and pool tables at USD 3 the coin.

The service was ok, no complains.

Is important to say that it was not high season.

I really recommend this resort for spending a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Selayzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I like many others, read a lot of reviews just before going on this vacation with 13 family members(7 adults & 6 children) from the United States. We did not meet many Americans at all, mostly European and Latin/Spanish guests. It was fun talking with them when we could communicate well enough. Any Spanish you now will help a lot.
As others mention the dark grey tiles are like walking on ice!! Check out the fruit smoothy selection at the breakfast buffet. The banana juice is outstanding and the made to order omelettes were great. You MUST have the coconut pina-colada from the bar in the lobby. Not the warm coconuts near the pool and beach, the cold coconuts served with rum and garnish. Absolutely the best drink I have ever had. Restaurants were good but many entrees were available at the buffets in some fashion. Pants are required at the restaurants but one of them is open air(no air conditioning like the other restaurants) so they except shorts.
The tall slim bartender at La Plaza(near the entertainment stage) is outstanding. I can't remember his name(Head Bartender) he will take care of you in EVERY way. The lobby bar and the entertainment bar have the best mixed drinks. The only beer is Brahma in a can but they do serve draft at the entertainment bar. Plenty of lounge chairs at pool and beach. Outstanding breeze at the beach everyday.(quite breezy) Some seaweed in the sea and on the beach but they try to clean as much as they can. No shells at all, white sands with some small broken pieces of coral around. Combine the very salty sea, the strong sun, and strong breeze and your lips will burn.
I recommend good walking shoes and a lot of drinking water. Many of us had sore feet and muscle cramps from all the walking to the beach, rooms, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Walk, walk,walk....
There is a blast of mildew smell in the lobby when you arrive but it subsides fast. We were greeted with many smiles, welcomes, and a drink. Some rooms were not ready but not long after arrival we were set. Some of our party did move rooms because of the loud entertainment which ends at midnight every night. The front desk helped them find a room on the other side of the complex. Rooms 2068 through about 2076 are directly above the entertainment but also overlook the dance floor, second stage, and have balcony's facing the beach/sea. After midnight the entertainment at the resort is done and the only thing left to do is go to the Sports Bar unless you go to the Disco down the street. We did not make it there.
Kiddie pool is small and tucked away from everybody. The kiddie pool at the resort next door is better but the main pool next door is very overcrowded. You can rent boogie boards, kayaks, windsurfers, and snorkel gear for free with deposit at our resort with limited times.
We did an excursion where we snorkeled, swam with sharks and stingrays, and partied in a Carribean Festival. $89/person
The spa is reasonably priced considering your overseas in a high end resort.
Air-conditioning was outstanding, the bed was OK, pillows were thin.

I am sure there is more but obviously I am rambling. Overall, it was everything we could want.
Go have a blast. The first few days are the best :), then you start counting down the days until departure.... ;(

Room Tip: Rooms near entertainment will be loud at night until midnight or so. Front desk will help to choose...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank softparade04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
17.8 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
15.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#68 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
2.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
15.5 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda | Higüey - Punta Cana, Punta Cana 74100, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: $199 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higuey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing