We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
Ranked #89 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Highlands, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Amazing resort...still being worked on but already exceeded my expectations! Can't wait to visit again when all is complete. As a former fine dining resturant owner I have to say that the choice of resturants was amazing, and food was fabulous. The Bistro was the only on-site resturant open during our visit but a short shuttle ride took us to the Sanctuary and many other great options! Rooms are some of the finest I have ever stayed in (former flight attendant, so I have stayed in many). Spa was 1st class in every way. Golf options were way above par!!! The staff was wonderful...especially bellmen/golf cart chauffers Sandy and Julio :0) Ready to return to this tropical oaisis!!!

Room Tip: We had a view of the Marina and it was amazing...I never wanted to leave our large patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripmomma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    24
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
29
45
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great facilities, brand new rooms, clean beds and more than average room size. Good Restaurant and nice food, although not many options besides the Bistro Restaurant. It is not all inclusive, so wait to take transportation for everything; either be another Restaurant option or a beach. Also it is far away from all nice downtown Restaurants. The service needs to improve, the staff is willing to help and very friendly but, needs to be trained and get out of island time.

Room Tip: I did request and pay for a Ocean View but did not get it. Ask to be closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimmyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

AmaIng and beautiful is the only way to describe this place. Bring some door as the villas have a kitchenette with everything needed to have breakfast and lunch. Even cook your own dinner with full cookware.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpaziii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I would echo what some previous reviewers have already mentioned. While not finished yet, the resort, both property and rooms, are gorgeous. We spent alot of time at the main pool, which was incredible. The staff at the pool bar, namely Omar, Eddie, Willie, Mickey, and Maria, endeared themselves very quickly to my wife and me. By the end of the week, we felt as though they were part of our family. Luis, with the bellstaff was also fantastic and made our stay very comfortable. The flip side of staying at a resort that is not quite ready for prime time is that you may find that you have the entire resort to yourself, which we did for the first couple of days of our stay. I'd highly recommend Fishing Lodge at Cap Cana. The resort and rooms are beautiful, but the staff I mentioned are the true attraction.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Amazing place, very relaxing and beautiful. It is right next to Cap Cana Marina where you can enjoy beautiful restaurants and shops. I loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a four days stay, the resort is probably half way to prime time, the rooms are beautiful, services are great, food choices are very limited, and the most important of all it adds a lot of inconvenience without a beach or spa on the property.
We spent most of our time eating, sunbathing at the sister resort Sanctuary, returning to the Fishing Lodge at night, we haven't had the need to wait a long time for shuttle because there were lots of people shuttling between the two resorts.
The Bistro is the only formal dine in restaurant at Fishing Lodge, the food was pretty good. The breakfast Buffett is similar to what u get in US hotel, it is situated next to the lobby, no pool or ocean view.
The pools are also pretty plain, no cabana style beds, very little shade.
I was glad I didn't bring my 7 yr old cause it will be hard to find things to entertain him.
If you are looking for All Inclusive resorts with non stop activities, plenty of restaurants and lots of pools and bars and food right on the beach then you should look elsewhere, if you are looking for a quiet relaxing small crowd resort then this may be your cup of tea.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just spent 5 days at this tremendous place! The rooms are first class and the staff is wonderful. The resort is brand new and immaculate. The pools and views are perfect. The entire staff was very accommodating , but in particular I would like to recognize the Front Desk Manager Jose and Bell Staffer Eddy for their personal attention and professionalism. They really made us feel welcome.
Honestly, I was a little concerned that the place was too new to go right now. Once there, my concerns quickly went away. The restaurants were over the top GREAT. No mediocre buffets here. The sister property access at The Sanctuary made things nice too. Long story short. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: 2nd floor pool rooms or swim out (if you want to spend for the privacy) I saw several rooms. All wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
0.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,742 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#41 of 111 in Punta Cana
4,618 reviews
37.6 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
ApartHotel Lirio Cala
#102 of 111 in Punta Cana
5 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
0.5 mi away
Essenza Retreats At Punta Palmera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishing Lodge Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishing Lodge Cap Cana

Property: Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
Address: Calle Paseo de los Pescadores, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 minutes from the Punta Cana International Airport, in the largest and most luxurious Marina of the Caribbean, and surrounded by the famous beaches of white sand of Punta Cana and Cap Cana, Marina Sands is an impressive luxury resort of 299 suites of different and generous dimensions, decorated with top quality materials and furniture designed in true Mediterranean style.Five thematic restaurants, five bars, four swimming pools, a Dominican style chapel for weddings and mass, a state of the art fitness center, commercial boulevard with shops and boutiques, restaurants and bars, disco and set of activities and exclusive services that will satisfy even the most demanding.Marina Sands guests can take advantage of the magnificent Punta Espada Golf Club, regarded as the best Caribbean Golf course in Mexico and the Caribbean, as well as other top courses in the area. Also available are aquatic activities, animation, children's activities and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia and Priceline so you can book your Fishing Lodge Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing