We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Spring Break 2-13” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excursion Punta Cana

Excursion Punta Cana
Waynesville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2-13”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you love the ocean then this is an excursion to take. The water is crystal clear and the dolphins, stingrays and manates were all up close and personal if you chose to swim or interact with them. A must if you are vacationing with the family because there is something for all ages to do and enjoy

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    136
    51
    30
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Locals Harrass You!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We did two different excursions in Punta Cana. The Saona Beach all day catamaran tour, and the Polaris Side - by - Sides. We were not impressed with either. For the beach excursion, we were promised all inclusive drinks and top quality food, with a paradise beach. We received none of that. The catamaran stocked only Rum to drink, so as a beer drinker, I was left on the boat for over 4 hrs without a drink. The food on the island was terrible, and the beach was small and rocky. Couldn't even relax because all the peddlers kept harassing us to buy their trinkets. Then the videographer chased us right onto our bus trying to get us to pay $40 for a video of the day!

The side-by-sides were a little better, but 3 stops to local markets were way too much. the 4 hr excursion only had us on the machines for about an hour. rest of the time was spent trying to avoid pushy locals selling their stuff.

At almost $100 per excursion, there is way to much emphasis on visiting markets and being harassed to buy things, and not enough time spent enjoying the beautiful scenery you paid to see!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The half day jeep tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very interesting and a lot of fun the ride out and around punta cana was nice to see, the beach was very clean and the ocean was amazing to see and a lot of nice people we met

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia155017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don´t miss this excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to an excursion named "Caribbean Adventure", a ful day trip,visiting the Caribean Sea,including a catamaran sailing,with three stops for bathing,one of them in front of the beach where the Blue Lagoon picture was recorded.The other one viewing the enconter Atlantic ocean with the Caribean Sea,stopping over a sand bank in the middle of the sea,with half meter deep.It is included too an excellent lunch,with an huge lobsters per traveler.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland,New York,USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ocean Adventures- Caribbean Festival, Punta Cana,DR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a half day excursion. We left hotel at 8:00am travelled to the excursion site. Upon arrival found that we had to walk across the sand to get to the boat. I am in a wheelchair, and unable to do this. I decided to wait at the reception area, and my husband would go on. Soon the host of the boat came over to me, and asked why I was not going. I advised of my issue with the chair and sand. He said oh no you can not stay here, it's not a safe area. We will get you to the boat. He went and got my chair, and he and another young man dragged my chair and I, to the boat. They then assisted me onto the boat. We left the dock, and headed to the area with the stingrays, and sharks. While everyone was doing the excursion, the staff stayed with me, asking several times if I wanted a drink or snacks. Then on to the coral reef for swimming. One man, named Pierre sat with me for most of the time visiting, and making the time pass. Once the excursion was finished, the men dragged my chair back through the sand right to the bus. This was very nice service in a place that is not really handicap accessible. I would also like to thank them for being so nice to assist me. The company also gave me a discount on the cost as I was not going to actually do any of the activity, which was very nice of them. During the boat ride, the staff did a dance, and entertained everyone. We were given sandwiches, and drinks also. We were returned to the hotel by 12:45pm. I would recommend this excursion.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rmooney121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excursion Punta Cana also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Excursion Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing