We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanoa Island Excursion”

Punta Cana Day Excursions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Punta Cana Pas Cher is the leader of the adventure for a vacation in Punta Cana and the best adventures as safari by jeep from the hotel to the campaign and many more.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sanoa Island Excursion”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Bus picked us up at 7:30am. Had to pick other people up along the way. Some were given wrong pick up times, so we had to wait. Stop at a shop to buy souvineers to support the local schools. Off to the island. Got there at about 10:30am. Had our picture taken. On to the catamaran and off to the island. Advice!!! Get something in your stomach before you leave.. Rum and beer were served for a 45minute boat ride. One sick person off the back of the boat, music dancing etc. Got to the island, more beer, rum, and lunch. Lunch was good, but bathroom facilities are something to be desired. Have port-o's before you leave for the island. Spent about 2 hours there, got on a boat with 3-150 merc engines on and off then to the natural pool to look for starfish. That was a real treat. Bathwater up to your knees and a few starfish were found. Did that for an hour, and then we were headed back on the bus. Regarding the picture taking, found out it was put on a bottle of rum and $15.00 for purchase. bought that for keep sake, included was a CD of island music, in Spanish. Long day, I don't think I would take it again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tedWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    25
    13
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langton, Canada
1 review
“outback tours”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This tours was exceptional , we toured a school , sampled sugar cane juice and eat an terrific authentic Dominican meal . Our guide Ruddy made the tour interesting with all the facts he told , his great personality and the way he took care of everyone . Our driver was Yuma and I also cant say enough good things about him. There are soveniers to be bought and I didn't take enough money to buy all the great things the local people had to offer. when I come back to Punta Cana I will take the tour again it was so worth every minute of it. The bogie boarding at the end was a blast even for the inexperienced!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dominican Flavors Half-Day Tour”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The description of the tour as advertised on Amstar.com: "Don’t think you can get away for a whole day, try the half-day version instead! Explore mountains, sugar cane and cocoa bean plantations, discover the art of fine cigar making and visit a typical Dominican home. Finish the adventure in a secluded beach for some boogie boarding and snacks." It was not at all what we expected. We didn't "explore" mountains. We were driven through the lower part of the mountain on a very bumpy road (not a good idea for those with back problems). We did not visit sugar cane and cocoa bean plantations or visit a "typical" Dominican home. Not sure, but I think the home we visited was a tour-owned home. It was considered upper middle class considering all the lower class houses we passed along the way. This certainly was not a plantation. There were representations of a cocoa bean tree, banana tree, coffee bean tree, oregano plant, and no sugar cane. We did not see "the art of fine cigar making" at all (rip off!). At the "home", we saw demonstrations of how they process coffee and cocoa. That was the highlight of the trip. Of course, they have products you can purchase to help support the family that supposedly lives at this house. Didn't buy a thing. We went to the "private" beach (really a public beach in Macao), but only one person brought a bathing suit and towel. We asked to leave early. They did provide a snack and plenty of non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages, and even had a "test". Three winners won bottles of rum. Our travel guide, Jorge of the Jungle, was tremendous and did give us a lot of information about the Dominican Republic. Highly recommend Jorge, but the description of the trip is misleading. Would not do it again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hilicopter”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Hi, We took heli tour for 20min which was fantastic!
Kids were at the beggining afraid but after 3min all was over and all had fun.
Dont forgett the video camera!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wild Tiger Dune Buggies-Punta Cana”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a blast, and the highlight of our trip! I highly recommend it. You will be covered in mud (and maybe excrement), so wear old clothes. Bring a bandana or buy one from them for $5. This is a must – it keeps the mud out of your mouth. I wore flip-flops and so much mud in the bottoms that I couldn’t walk in them. The people who wore tennis shoes had soaked shoes, so it’s a toss-up as to which is better.

These dune-buggies were automatic, so that was much better than manual. And, they can fly. We went down some rural roads, so we were able to go really fast.

Worst part was the ride over to the place. It’s an open air bus. My feet didn’t touch the floor, so it was very hard to stay in the seat. When you get on the bouncy rural road, you will feel like you a bruised and battered. Takes about an hour to do the hotel pick-ups and drive to the place. Same on the way back. If you get car sick, this is not the excursion for you.

Felix – the guide – and the mechanics are great. It was nice chatting with them about the DR. We felt like they were very interested your safety. Could have done without the visit to the “typical Dominican” house, which was basically a pavilion where they try to sell you products. But they aren't pushy. Bathroom facilities are available at the beginning and the end, but they are primitive.

They have guys on a motorbike who ride around taking pictures and videos of your ride, so no worries if you aren’t able to take your own pictures. They will burn the CD for you for $35. Not sure about the cost of the video. Or, you can buy a small or large photo at the site for $5 and up.

We purchased this excursion through our AMStar/Apple rep at our hotel (NOW Larimar) for $65 each. They are 2-seater, so you don't have to share with other people as you would with other dune buggy excursions for sale.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank R J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punta Cana Day Excursions also viewed

 
Bavaro, Punta Cana
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Punta Cana Day Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing