We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy Excellente!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed June 9, 2007

My wife and I stayed here from May 28-June for our honeymoon. This is definitely an excellent resort for couples or newly weds.
They brought us champagne in the lobby upon check in. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived so they upgraded us to a better room (4103) overlooking the pool. Make sure you ask for the upgrade though...it never hurts to ask. All the restaurants are fantastic. Chez Isabelle (french) is definitely the best.

Here are some recommendations for your trip:

Ask for the Mama Juana (Dominican viagra) at any bar. They will even mix it in with any type of drink you like.

Men: Bring pants so you can dine at the finer restaurants for dinner. Sandals are ok to wear.

Bring bugspray. When you're lounging at the bar, the lobby, anywhere outside the bugs will get you. Especially if you've been drinking the fruity drinks of the day. The bugs can sense the citrus aroma from your skin.

Remember to bring all your essentials because the drugstore will charge an arm and a leg for tampons ($10), toothpaste, sunscreen, etc.

If you have a honeymoon package, make sure you plan your romantic dinner when you arrive to get it out of the way. Make sure you plan your reservations for horseback riding early as well. They have 2 time slots per day.

Bring immodium, tums or pepto as well. If you happen to drink the water you may need some of this. They have bottles of water everywhere though. I would even recommend brushing your teeth with bottled water.

Remember that this is a 3rd world country. They don't have water filters in their tap water.

If you get car sick easily, I would recommend the helicopter transport ($288/couple) from the airport. Normally it's an hour ride in a van on a very bumpy road.

Bring some one dollar bills with you as well. The dollars go a long way to get a little extra service. It is well appreciated for these hard working people.

This was a fabulous stay for us. We definitely recommend Excellence Punta Cana to couples.

P.S. Watch out for channel 21 on your room television:)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Excellente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,319)
There are newer reviews for Excellence Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,266 - 11,272 of 13,319 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2007

I headed off to Excellence in May for a long weekend, and did so without my husband who had conflicts. I figured no big deal - however it certainly seemed to be for the hotel itself. i was continually contested on my soloness - at breakfast, lunch, dinner, by the maids, etc... it seemed an impossible concept to understand. This was not hugely offensive, it is a couples resort after all. That's my point, I guess - it is a couples resort.

I upgraded to the Excellence Club, which essentially meant there was food out all day long - which was true for the rest of the resort as well.

The rooms were fine. Not great. I had a swim out room which was convenient. The pool and beach were really wonderful, which is how this review caps its "average" rating.

Annoying: Maids entered my room 4-5 times a day for different reasons. I was never approached by the pool and offered a drink at any time in my 5 day stay (though I watched it happen all day long for other folks). The internet connection was spotty and inconsistent. I waited 2 hours for my luggage once I checked it. I eventually went and retrieved it myself, which did not go over so well - but the pool closes at 5p and I wanted to get a dip in on my first day.

Realities: This hotel is a solid hour+ (more like 90 minutes once it is all said and done) from the airport. The restaurants are so-so. The staff is very nice and very sweet. Take bug dope - lots of mosquitos. Cabs cost about $60 and are a tiny bit more convenient than a transfer with a company and a van.

Spa: I do not recommend at all. I had two treatments - both very amateurish and weak. Actually, one was downright laughable! A woman who confessed she was a manucurist just played with my hair for 30 minutes, vs. giving me a head massage. ThiS IS NOT A LEGIT SPA. If you are going for handwork, do not waste your time.

Weather in May: it was perfectly perfect as far as temperature. There were rain showers late morning and thunderstorms at night. I found that to be kind of nice and varied.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MKHChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

Excellence Punta Cana was absolutely amazing!! It is one of the most beautiful places ever! Everyone is very friendly and always willing to help and make you happy! There is no reason to leave the resort… everything you need is right there and you will never be bored! Six of the seven restaurants were great – Lobster House was not that good. The rooms are always clean – they come in the morning and in the evening. Sitting and relaxing by the pool is amazing… you don’t even have to get up and get drinks… they are brought right to you.

Entertainment is EXECELLENT!!! Aside from the beautiful resort, the best part of the trip was the entertainment group!! They were all so entertaining and really made the trip so much fun!

Francisco is an amazing entertainer!! He was always smiling and always made everyone else smile as well!! He is so sweet and helped us all every way he could. His activities were fun, entertaining, and educational!! We loved the water aerobics, the Spanish lessons and the map lesson – along with all the pool side games and activities.

Franklin is also a great entertainer and very sweet!! He also did the pool side activities, water polo, Spanish lessons and water aerobics, which we had so much fun with!

Luciano is very funny and a wonderful entertainer… He is great on the microphone and ALWAYS had the crowd laughing!!

Isabel, Julio, Luis, Daniel, Inez and Miguel were all great as well!!! We loved them all and had so much fun because of each and every one of them!!

And we LOVE when they do the Taki Taki!!!

We were six girls at a couples resort and still had an amazing time!

Joanne & Antoinette

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JerseyGirls2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Excellence last week for our 10 year anniversary and had a fabulous time! We chose this resort because it was adults only and it was well worth it. Everyone was so friendly that we came in contact with. They would all say "Hola" everytime they passed you.

The entertainment staff...I can not say enough about them. From starting your day with Louis and Inez (Waki! Waki! Waki!) stretching or dancing the night away at the club with Franklin doing the Taki Taki dance. These are the hardest working people I have ever seen!!!. They keep you motivated even when it is raining. It rained half the time we were there but like I said, there was plenty to do.

The food was okay. Our favorite restaurant was the Chez Isabelle which was French cuisine. The drinks are always flowing wether you are at the bar or on the beach (yes, they will bring them right out to you). You have to try the Mama juana.

We took a half day excursion and went out on ATV's. It was a blast and we got to see how the natives lived. Definitely worth the money.

If you are planning on visiting Punta Cana, bring bug spray because the bugs are bad. Also, bring plenty of sunscreen because the sun is hot even at 8 am.

I hope this review helps you out! You will have a good time if you stay at Excellence!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Clarktimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

This review will brief because my husband and I did not get to experience much of the resort during our stay (May 28 - June 2). My husband got severe food poisoning on our first day (he did NOT drink the water). After several hours of severe vomiting, I called the resort doctor. Although the doctor was responsive,
the language barrier was a huge problem. We ended up in an ambulance that took us to a Dominican hospital where no one spoke English. You can only imagine how scary this was for both of us. We spent the night at the hospital with no English communication about what was wrong with my husband.

The hospital sent us back to the resort with some medicine but my husband never got better. He was so sick for the next few days that we had to leave our honeymoon early. We were in the Excellence Club and they upgraded us to a new room for our troubles. The new room was great and we were very glad we had it because we never left it - he was too sick.

We had such high hopes for Excellence but cannot recommend it because of our nightmare experience with the food. We will not be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank honeymoonersBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

I would like to begin by stating that my boyfriend and I are well traveled and I am quite picky about all things accomodation and food related. That being said, I am so happy that I chose to spend four nights at Excellence in May. A few tweaks are needed, but what resort doesn't have some things to do? Four nights was just enough time to gain five pounds from eating the extensive (but not so healthy) food three times a day. Vegetarians, beware. I eat seafood, which helped tremendously.
We opted for the Club level, which I believe was good choice. Not only do you have an air-conditiioned area besides your room but there are English magazines, food all-day, cappaccino, unlimited internet, upgraded liquor (we often ordered our drinks to go from the Club where the Cuervo margheritas are ten times better than those on the beach) and of course keeping up with occasional Yankee game. Plus, if there weren't any towels left by the pool (which happened a few times) the Club was able to supply them. It is small, but it is also a nice luxury to have. There isn't a separate pool area but there is a separate beach - nice in case there aren't any other chairs left but we never had a problem either way.
The beach is amazing;so clean and well-maintained. While I was dissapointed that you cannot jet-ski in Punta Cana, it is a great beach to walk along.
The rooms were very nice, nothing too luxurious save for the jacuzzi bath tub. We chose a Garden View, which was great because we were only in our room at night.
The food: We ate a Chez Isabelle twice in four nights. It is the only restaurant that I believe is 5 star quality (excellent service, white tablecloth, well-cooked food). While Barcelona and Lobster House were fine, they were not the caliber that a five star resort should have. Dessert is just so-so everywhere - the mini pastries left at the concierge are much better. Breakfast was nice, though I wish there were some a la carte choices. Two choices for lunch - Lobster Box, which was nice though a little unreliable and Toscana for a buffet. I sometimes preferred eating at the Club where the food was a bit more upscale at times.
I found the activities a bit pathetic. While horseback riding was enjoyable, the dance lessons were a joke and I saw two people doing aerobics.
I would definitely recommend this resort to young and older couples looking for a relaxing getaway. Of all of the all-inclusives I have been to, this was the most beautifully appointed, had the best food and most importantly, an amazing beach.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank csc1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

We stayed at Excellence Punta Cana from May 26- June 3. We were completely satisfied with everything and thought the trip was FABULOUS.

The staff is great. They really care about your needs and want you to have a good time. The servers and hostesses are excellent. Enricque and Kelvin were great. If you see Kelvin, give him a fist pound for us!

We never had to wait for dinner or for drinks. Everyone working there
was eager to please. We tipped everyone, but we noticed many people did not. Regardless, everyone got excellent service. Most people spoke English relatively well. We heard a couple complaining to the management about some of the maid's and other staff's inablity to speak English. To these people, I would like to say that you are in a Spanish speaking country. These people are trying to speak a foreign language...give them a break. You dont hear them complain that you cannot speak spanish! Also, there are plenty of hotels in the US that have maids that do not speak fluent English. Have realistic expectations!

The entertainment was wonderful. There are activities planned all day and all night if you choose to participate. We were content to hang out on the beach and in the pool, but others seemed to be having
a great time. I cannot imagine being bored. At night, the entertainment staff has a different show planned each day. We loved the Michael Jackson show. It was the best by far. The shows are really entertaining and a good way to spend your night.

We also spent a fair amount of time at the Casino. We played poker and black jack and had a great time. We ended up breaking even but had tons of fun. We heard that the Roulette and Keno were the worst games to play if you want to win money, but we thought the black jack and poker tables were fair enough.

The food and alcohol was great. The morning breakfast buffet had a large variety of food. If you dont like buffets, one restaurant serves a sitdown meal and room service is always available. The French, Asian, and Mexican restaurants were very good. The meals were all amazing. The food may be slightly different from what you would get at a US restaurant, but it is still outstanding. There are bars everywhere and you have no problem getting most any drink.

We also did the couples massage at the beach. It was the best. It was
relaxing and very romantic.

We went on the Outback safari tour that we booked through expedia.com. I recommend waiting until you get there to book your excusions. It makes it WAY easier. We endorse this tour. It was a great way to see the countryside, meet Dominican people, and get a feel of the country out of the resort. Eddie was a great guide.

The beach is the nicest i have ever seen. The sand is soft, free of rocks and shells, and a glistening gold color. The water is turquoise
blue. The waves are a bit rough but there was no seaweed or jelly fish. The pools are warm and clean. They are large enough that you can either be around other guests or find an area to be alone. We actually spent the afternoon the upper section of the waterfall pool without a single other person in the water!

We have absolutly no complaints about this trip. The people of DR are all very nice and very welcoming. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. Most people are honeymooners and couples celebrating aniversaries.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank cmrreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,311 reviews
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
13.8 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#27 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
Excellence El Carmen
Excellence El Carmen
#3 of 5 in Uvero Alto
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $280 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing