We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Punta Cana
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17,883)
Filter reviews
17,884 results
Traveler rating
12,452
3,442
1,163
488
339
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12,452
3,442
1,163
488
339
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cascade pool the grill lobster chez isabelle our honeymoon martini bar flavor market las olas sax player horseback riding swim up bar french restaurant bug spray red flag greeted with champagne garden view ride from the airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 17,884 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our second visit to an Excellence resort. The first one a year ago at the Excellence Playa Mujeres. So this one had a lot to live up to, our expectations were high !

We went for 14 nights arriving January 2nd. We used the VIP service on arrival at Punta Cana airport then a private transfer to the resort which takes around 45~50 minutes.

Staying EC we had the private check-in, use of Magna and a swim-up room. All to be recommended.

The weather was windy everyday which made the sea rough. You get whistled at if you stray out too far. With the middle five days being pretty stormy. But even then it wasn't raining all the time, mainly overnight with heavy showers in the morning. So there were still plenty of times the sun was out.

We found all the restaurants to be very good. The only time we had to take a pager and wait 20 minutes or so was at Chez Isabelle, though it is well worth the wait.

So all good ? Not quite. A couple of issues which the hotel should really deal with are; guests who insist on playing their music or watching videos on their phones without headphones when their either sunbathing around the pool area or on their balcony. Pretty unacceptable and uncomfortable for the other guests ! Also the resort should be a non-smoking one, including no vaping in the restaurants !!

Apart from these concerns overall a very good two weeks. The staff were all excellent.

Room tip: Swim up, Excellence Club
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Martin,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Excellence Punta Cana and for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers.

We are very pleased to hear from you that we were able to meet your expectations due the great EC perks, and the nice suite you were accommodated in, the delicious food offered at all restaurants.

At Excellence Punta Cana, we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction, in order to have happy clients with kind words for our work. Although, regarding the noise by the pool, we would like to mention that this kind of behaviors are not permitted in our properties as they are not the standards which our guests are accustomed to, and which we are known for. However, we will forward your feedback to the appropriate department in order to straighten the policy which currently applies.

It has been a pleasure hosting you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you back soon to share more memorable experiences. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When planning our honeymoon we did a bunch of searching for locations that were adult only. We wanted a place that was relaxing but quality. We took a little leap choosing Excellence since we did not know anyone who had gone, but watched a lot of review videos so we felt we understood the place enough to book.

Excellence met all of our expectations and needs. If you want to have good service, quality food and good drinks you should come here. We had the walkout terrace with the plunge pool. It was nice to have your own pool and the quiet of your own space.

Meeting people was the best part of the whole trip though. The nicest people come to this resort (lots of Canadians and English). We have a couple connections that will go beyond this week, the best thing we were not expecting.

Musts: Prelude bar, sit and people watch, watch the ocean and spend the day with the Kendry and Juan Fernando. They make the day fun and keep your drinks flowing. Nightly shows are fun. The best we saw was the circus and the Madonna show(singer actually singing). Breakfast at Lobster house with Jose. Watch the ocean and have made to order food in the morning. The Dominican section of Kitchen Table, chicken fingers at the Sports Bar, room service late at night. Drink a shot of Mamajuana.

Don’t: forget to tip. The service is great but a couple good tips won’t hurt you. Forget to talk to other guests and the staff. These interactions make the trip amazing.

Excellence Club is worth it. Upgrade and have access to the club only spots. The upgraded liquor in the rooms is fine, but it is the club pools, bars and Magna that make it worth it.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jjadamsfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Excellence Punta Cana and for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers.

It is our pleasure to read that our resort and amenities exceeded your expectations, making you feel relaxed and pampered all the time. Our commitment is to make of every guest experience, as exceptional and unique as it can be.

Thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our hotel facilities, the food & drinks quality encountered, and the outstanding service provided by our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and have another opportunity to pamper you with our superb service. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The property is stunning and the staff are joyful and kind and will do anything they can to ensure your every expectation is exceeded. (Special shout out to Adan and Junior who ensured our dinners and breakfasts were beautiful and memorable!) We will definitely be back and I recommend this property to anyone looking for a luxury experience in paradise.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kimberlycockrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kimberly,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to share this review with other travelers.

We are pleased to hear from you that we were able to exceed your expectations due to our stunning resort, and our kind staff made sure to take great care of you in order to provide the supreme Luxury all-inclusive experience. We will forward your kind words to our team who will be delighted to hear that they are doing a good job.

As a luxurious all-inclusive resort, we take care of every single detail in order to provide an unforgettable guest experience and exceed its expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and have another opportunity to pamper you with our attentive service creating another unforgettable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from a 9 day stay.
Special mentions of excellence for the service at the restaurant and the front desk.
This is the best pool I have seen in the many resorts I have been to:
Do not come in January if you want to swin in the ocean though: too rough.
The open view to the ocean everywhere on the site is fantastic. Very nice gardens.
A place to remember and come back to..

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Colette,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as host of your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor community.

It is our pleasure to know that our colleagues and amenities exceeded your expectations, making you feel relaxed and pampered all the time.

At Excellence Punta Cana, we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction to provide the best vacation experience ever.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another getaway. We will be pleased to make you another wondrous adventure time. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Took me a while to write the review as life takes over when you are back but I wanted to share our experience. We were a excellence resorts fans, several times at Epm and Erc and decided to give a go to Erc. This was really not up to the standards we know and love.
First à real positive: ec top cascade room pool is perhaps the best room we ever experience for us, no view but the private access to a deep full size pool was amazing.
Now the negative: the food was terrible, apart from a lovely diner at chez Isabelle and at Spice, we resorted to not nlbothering going out at the end of trip. Lunch options are real poor: uncooked burger at Las olas, disgusting pizza at oregano (can't even call this pizza), cheap options at the buffet. Where are the wraps, sandwich, meats, fish lunch options that are available at Erc and Epm!! We felt that they were only giving cheap food options.
Magna breakfast., the setting is nice but again the food was substandard, if you manage to even get what you ordered and what is on the menu.
Mosquitoes are always an issue but hotels usual take steps such as spraying. Because of lower occupancy they did not ever bother so everyone is eaten alive to the point that even a manager told her they were advising guests against eating outside at magna!

We spoke to a manager and he agreed the standards were not what they normally do. They had one of these questionnaire the day before and he told us that they never had such bad reviews. I understand that you suffered from bad marketing as a country this year but if you are not maintaining the standards your brand represents usually this is not going to help for your future. We felt that your low occupation meant you delivered low standards food and service even though your guests had paid the usual price.

We wo t be returning to EPC for sure perhaps to an Excellence hotel in the future but I think we will leave it a while as our experience left us with a sour taste regarding the brand.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank GaelleBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

ear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to bring your discontent to our attention.

On behalf of The Excellence Collection, please, accept our sincere apologies for not being able to deliver the Excellence standards which live up to our name. Your opinion is very important to us due to our most valuable guest feedback gives us the opportunity to better understand the areas where we can improve in order to provide the service our guests are accustomed to.

On the one hand, we are sorry to read we were missing the consistency in our food because we are aware that food quality is one of the major important aspects for our guests to make feel them comfortable, and as a luxurious all-inclusive resort, our Chefs are passionate about taking care of every single detail and they personalize our service and cuisine to suit the different tastes and preferences of all our guests, just as the attitude of our staff is intended to exceed our guests’ highest expectations going above and beyond in order to provide them with an outstanding service.

On the other hand, we are disappointed to read that you were bitten by mosquitoes, although we would like to emphasize that we strive to provide total confidence in hygiene and cleanliness because they are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel them 100% comfortable in our hotel. Our hotel has an internal company of fumigation to have hygiene in all facilities.

Nonetheless, we assure you that every constructive criticism you have shared with us has been taken very seriously by our team in order to keep standards which live up to the Excellence brand. There is a full commitment from the whole company and they are very passionate about their job and they do all their best to offer the outstanding service.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and reinstate your confidence in our service. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews