We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Punta Cana
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17,192)
Filter reviews
17,192 results
Traveler rating
11,865
3,370
1,142
480
335
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11,865
3,370
1,142
480
335
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cascade pool the grill lobster chez isabelle our honeymoon martini bar flavor market las olas sax player horseback riding swim up bar french restaurant bug spray red flag greeted with champagne garden view ride from the airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 17,192 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay, very attentive staff. There was so much to do at the resort. We went just to relax and rediscover each other. The staff were up early and the morning getting the resort ready. Because of this trip I will always stay at an all resort in the future

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JOHN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor readers.

We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed every moment throughout your stay with us and we were able to surpass your expectations in all areas. At Excellence Punta Cana, we are passionate about paying attention to detail since our main goal is to provide unparalleled customer service and luxury to our guests. We assure you that we will continue working hard in this direction to have more guests satisfied with the outstanding service our guests expect from us.

It has been a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you back soon. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Excellence Punta Cana in mid/late September 2019. We eloped here. The majority of our stay was amazing. But we have to give only 4 stars overall. The biggest reason for our lack of 5 stars was working with Carlis who was in charge of our wedding photos. We made appointments to see our photos with her and she was negligent, rude, and wasting our time. She said in Spanish how awful my hair looked, assuming we could not understand Spanish. She was not friendly, unlike the rest of the employees at the resort. Plus, she was difficult to work with. We highly recommend the resort find a different person to work her position in the photo department.

Other than emphasizing zero starts for Carlis, we would give all other employees 5 stars. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. We were part of the Excellence Club (which only is during your stay,) and employees working the Club Lounge seriously treated us like family. I felt the food/meals/restaurants were sometimes amazing and sometimes very mediocre. Magna Restaurant, which is only accessible to club members, was always good. Our food and experience of our private dinner on the beach was amazing. The food for our Breakfast in Bed was amazing. So I'm inclined to think the quality of food and preparation was better for the club-only options. Don't get me wrong, all the other restaurants were definitely good, just seemed a little hit-or-miss sometimes, throughout our finite 1-week stay.

This was our first time in Dominican Republic. We made some friends who had been to several resorts around the Caribbean and specifically DR. They said this place was their favorite. Quality was great, service was great AND, there was no obstruction between the resort and the ocean. Other than scattered palm trees, you can totally see the ocean from our room and walk straight out into the ocean.

During our 1-week stay, waves were often pretty rough. We were only allowed into the ocean the last 2 days. We heard, and saw during our scuba event, that waves closer to downtown Punta Cana tend to be weaker. It did not bother us though. The day we went into the ocean was FUN with all the waves!

We were married two days after we arrived. A big thanks to Yessica and Johanny for pulling everything together in our tight, 30-day time limit. And yes, you honestly need at least 30 days to get all the paperwork together and decide on all the details about the wedding. Even if you don't really care about which bouquet you have; it

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Voyage13195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are more cruisers than destination vacation people but we decided to give this place a go and it was a excellent decision. We planned this trip over a year ago and like others did not let the bad press stop us. You are met by the resorts staff with open arms, as we stepped out of our transportation Champaign was waiting along with a cheerful Hola!! As we checked in we were given a tour of the beautiful property by the wonderful receptionist Carmen (Awesome lady). The room was great, spacious, very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the mini fridge stayed full. The view was awesome (ocean front view room)!!! There is plenty to do on the property, archery, swimming, billiards, darts, mini golf, gym, spa, dancing, excursions and a different show every night. The nightly shows were pretty good and very entertaining, they also had a saxophone player and live singers. As you can see, there is no shortage of things to do at the Excellence resort. The different restaurants they have are all top notch and the staff go above and beyond to ensure you are happy with your food and service. Our stay at Excellence Punta Cana, has definitely swayed me to be a destination vacationer as we WILL definitely come back to this resort. I want to give a special thank you to the following staff members there as they made the stay for us very special. Coca Cola, Junior, and Jose (the entertainment team), Cancu, Diaz, Sandy and Mario (restaurant/bar staff). Their hard work and pride in what they do, is what makes Excellence Resort excellent!!! It is safe, a must go!!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tazmjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to write and share your feedback with other travelers.

We are pleased to hear from you that we were able to exceed your expectations due to our stunning and well-maintained facilities, and there are plenty of food options to choose from and so are the entertainment choices. As a luxurious all-inclusive resort, we take care of every single detail in order to provide an unforgettable guest experience and exceed its expectations.

It is also lovely to read that our attentive staff members pampered all the time making you got everything you wanted and they went above and beyond to make sure that you had a great time. We can assure you that we will forward your kind words to our team for their contribution.

It has been a pleasure hosting you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best. The best bartender. The best ever at punta cana execellence!! He takes care of us at the bar and the pool. Sings with me and my mom and makes the best drinks. So helpful and friendly. He makes special drinks and loves to have fun. Absolutely the best

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Samantha,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor readers.

We are very delighted to read that our colleagues made you feel relaxed and pampered all the time. Our commitment is to make of every guest experience, as exceptional and unique as it can be, being kindness and helpfulness one of our staff's greatest strengths.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and have another opportunity to pamper you with our attentive service creating another unforgettable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just got back from six beautiful days at this resort and all I have to say is "EXCELLENTE"

It's a shame that American tourists have been terrified by recent press, as the DR is such a beautiful country with delicious food, kind people, and magnificent beaches. We booked this trip back in February before all of the media attention and as pretty regular travelers, bad press was not going to stop us.

I will also say here that we have been to Excellence Riviera Cancun not just once but TWICE so it was hard for us to pick a difference Excellence property. We really love Mexico but it was time for us to switch things up.

First off, this resort is beautiful. The landscaping is pristine and there is a lot of attention to detail - from an adorable boardwalk to sidewalks that get cleaned every day, the staff here works so hard to keep the property crisp.

We booked a regular mountain-view room (nothing fancy, we don't need a fancy place to sleep and this was not a special occasion for us). We were pleasantly upgraded at check in to an ocean-view room, which was really close to the pool. (Building 7) The room was spacious, bathroom was massive, and we had a bottle of chilled champagne waiting for us at our arrival. Talk about a great start!

Based on our dining experiences at ERC, we immediately went to Chez Isabelle and had a lovely multi-course meal. No need to buy a bottle of wine, folks, just get the house wine which a lovely red from Chile. I'd drink it at home so wouldn't shell out the big bucks for that. Over the course of the week we ate twice at Chez Isabelle, twice at Agave, once at Lobster House, and once at the Flavor Market. All were delicious and the service was great (hint, the aguachile ceviche at Agave was so fresh and spicy that I ordered it twice in one meal!) Flavor Market was the only one that was lacking - it doesn't seem that the Tapas model is very popular at this resort. We ate alone in the restaurant and it was pretty isolating. The Flavor Market at ERC is better executed and works better with the space - this felt really forced into an old bar space. I heard it was a pizza joint prior to the renovation, so maybe they should revert to that.

I can only sing praises for Aroma - being able to have bottomless espresso and bottomless ice cream on vacation is just.... amazing. We went multiple times a day. It was amazing!

The staff here work tirelessly to keep everyone happy. Luis and Jr are shining stars, as well as bartender Kendry (makes the best pina colada, I drank one at every bar and his won!)

Shows are as expected for this time of property - I'm in showbusiness so naturally hard to please. Michael Jackson show was the most entertaining - every other night was an upbeat theme (aka 80s, 90s, etc) featuring scantily clad women and not very good dancing. Maybe they should try a magician or comedian or something thats not so dance driven. Even a night of Dominican dance would be classy and culturally engaging.

We did a BOGO massage at the spa which also came with a complementary hydrotherapy session. For the price (about $150USD total for two people) it was a great value and a good activity for two hours. The massage was really quite good but the overall spa was probably a 7/10 - hard to compare to US high end spas where I usually go for a massage or facial. Still, a great value and by far the lowest "get-in" price we had seen for the Mille spa (havent been to the spa at ERC since its so $$$)

Compared to ERC, EPC really only fell flat in one category - alcohol. Liquor choices at ERC are varied; there's a tequila bar in Agave and a lot more choices of wine/beer/hard liquor at every bar. Drinks at ERC are also of regular strength whereas I felt like some of my drinks at EPC were kind of weak. I also don't love Presidente which is one of two beers you can get here (the other is Coors Lite... so nah). The beach here absolutely wins over ERC. Rooms and food are comparable though.

We can't wait to go back, or to try other Excellence properties in the future. So so pleased that we found this hotel group and happy to be an Excellence customer. As they say at the hotel, "Welcome home!"

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snicks93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews