We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Johnson City, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

The staff at this hotel, especially folks like Juan Carlos, are what make this resort such a wonderful place to stay. We stayed for 6 nights and there was not one day that we did not meet a new staff member who made a lasting impression. I wish every place of business could have employees who take such care in making sure that you are having a great time. Everyday Juan Carlos found us by the pool, asked about our day, kept us informed of activities that were going on, and made our trip worth every minute. We will miss not being there and especially seeing Juan Carlos. He went above and beyond in customer service more than anyone I have ever seen. You can genuinely tell that he enjoyed making the customers happy.
The food at each of the restaurants that we went to was exceptional. For those who are complaining about the food, I'd like to know where they are eating because this place has top of the line food in my opinion.
The pool is long and not crowded. Yes, you need to get out early to make sure you have a shaded chair, but no earlier than 8:30. The beach is very beautiful and there is ample space on the beach to walk, play games, lounge, etc. The staff will even bring food and drinks to the beach! I would not recommend going to the shops on either side of the resort. They are very high pressure. There were plenty of people at the resort, but we never had to wait for anything of felt that it was crowded.
The nightly entertainment shows are very good. I was particularly impressed by the Circus show. I thought the hotel had brought in a traveling circus for this particular show, but later found out that they are part of the hotel staff!
As with anything in life, there are some downsides. First, my girlfriend was bitten multiple times by bugs. We saw a truck spraying for bugs and they sprayed the room once, but it offered little relief. We asked to change rooms and without question they moved us to a different room. It is strange because I did not have any of those bites. I believe the hotel staff did everything they could to make sure we were satisfied. Once in a different room, the bites went away.
The ride to the resort from the airport is an hour long. Many of the resorts in this area are also a good drive from the airport. After being there and returning home, the drive is worth it and not an issue in my opinion.
The rooms, as far as paint and bedding, do seem a little dated. I would not have noticed until my girlfriend pointed it out.
This is an adults only resort. The resort is spread out enough that you can enjoy your stay any way you like. There are areas of the pool and beach that are quiet for relaxing. There are areas that have activities and music and games and parties. It is completely up to the guest how they want to enjoy their stay. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return. I understand from another couple that December/January is the best time to travel to the Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonJohnsonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,634
    2,777
    956
    413
    282
See reviews for
778
9,003
106
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

OMG, this is almost borderline illegal, they sell this property as top of the line, one of the most expensive hotels in Punta Cana. The truth is that the property in general is run down. The staff is very friendly and eager to help but they lack the training to make things go smoothly for guests. They have too many rules regarding amenities and restaurants. The Bike trip, a total waste of time, The Saona Island trip is worth your money, just take enough bottled water with you, you don't want to catch Amoebas from their water coolers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anarier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila.pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Arriving in Punta Cana airport is something of a trip, we are used to hugh airports and this airport is something of a picture with straw roofs on buildings, so you know your in a third world country. The ride to the resort that on other reviews was complained about, I found to be adventurous and scenic, you get to see the culture and the standard in which the Dominican people live, the ride was about a hour and ten minutes but it was very cool, we were on an air conditioned tour bus with 9 other people. We stopped at moon palace and dreams resorts and the ride was still not that long taking the nature of the country.

Upon arrival at our resort, Excellence, we were greeted with champagne and cool towels, our bags were taken and we knew from the minute we got there we found another great facility ran by Excellence, check in was smooth but we did book a room by the cascade pool that was not available, so instead we were given a swim up room by the pool, staff was more the pleased the following day to show us the rooms by the cascade pool, but being as though we were settled in, we decided to stay in the room by the swim up, and the location could not of been better, all restaurants were minutes away, pool was not quite a swim up, but it was 15 feet from our door, room 6001.

The rooms were very clean, spacious and I do not understand why there could be a complaint about rooms in this resort.

Housekeeping was never an issue with any necessities, to my knowledge the safe would not lock, so I called the front desk and they were there in 2 minutes and it was me who misunderstood how to work the safe (safe must be held tightly closed when entering code).

For the beer drinkers =} just call room service they are there in minutes to restock the fridge. On to the hotel facilities, pools were spotless and to die for, beach was beautiful, restaurants were incredible, recommendations: Barcelona, see Elizabeth (our waitress) she was incredibly nice and gave us fantastic service, Lobster House, food was great!! they come highly recommended along with the Mexican Restaurant. Swim up bar, which might I add was 25 feet from our room, bar attenders Shout out to - Maximo and Olahandro (Spell Check)! They were tops, never needed to wait for a drink and I highly recommend tipping, even though it is not expected, it is much appreciated. Beach Bar, Shout out to Victor and the gang, yes I had a very good time with the bar attenders, Martini Bar, where we met Alexander the Great!, (bar attender), and the other guy haha! We also met great people at all of the bars, everyone is up for conversation and they even put up with me ( I am a lot to handle).

Activities, we were recommended to the Spa by Tom and Sharon, and I have to say the couples message is a MUST while staying there, look for the specials. Games around the pool are a blast.

To my new friends Tom and Sharon, how are you guys? Hope you read this, it was very nice meeting you and my wife and I had a great time partying with you. Hope to see you soon.

To my flyer fan friends, Chrissy and Steve, Jackie and Lou, Shout out to the 25th district and the other couple, sorry do not remember your names, it was great watching the games with you guys and partying at the swim up bar. Chrissy is very outgoing and I hope you are happy to be home with your child! And maybe we will see you at Wawa, here in Philly.

To all the staff members from top to bottom, Thank you for your friendliness and service because it was beyond excellent!

To anyone that complains about this facility and staff, I do not know what you are looking for, we have been to the Excellence in Mexico and this resort is just as nice, clean, wonderfully kept, spotless pools, beach's, excellent staff and my wife especially liked feeding the fish and the turtles, and the flamingo's were even friendly, warning watch out for the parrots. HaHa they do bite!!

Make sure you go to walmart, target and nancy's, located to the left of the resort on the beach, for souvenirs and cigars. See Jose and HAGEL! Make sure you by OFF from home because it is 15 dollars a small bottle and fabreeze.

All in all my vacation at Excellence was just that EXCELLENT +++++! I would recommend anyone to see this resort and spend a week relaxing in the sun, with a drink in your hand made by amazing bar attenders and chit chat with friendly people from all over, even around the corner from your home lol.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlboro612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

My stay at Excellence was for my friend's wedding and for a relaxing vacation with friends. I was highly impressed with the resort from the moment I arrived. We were treated like royalty, and guest services was so polite and accomodating. There was a slight issue with our room not being ready yet, but we were kindly escorted to the Excellence clubhouse, which was air-conditioned and we were offered a drink. We didn't have to wait no more than a couple minutes before being escorted to our room. I was amazed with the accomodations, and it was definitely above and beyond my expectations. Everything was very clean & the A/C worked great in our room. At times, it was too cold! But it felt good coming in from the humid island heat. All of the hotel, restaurant and entertainment staff were very polite, fun & accomodating the whole week we were there. I especially was pleased with Cesar Garcia! He was part of the entertainment staff day and night. I traveled with about 30+ people, and everyone loved him! I definitely recommend staying here, and I plan to return! There were about 7 or 8 different restaurants to dine from, a large variety of food and beverage, 24-hour room service. The maid service was extremely attentive, and they checked your room often to make sure your fridge was full, towels were stocked, rooms were cleaned and beds were either made or turned down. The maid service did not speak great english, I found, but all the rest of the hotel sectors: guest services, concierge, activities, bars & restaurants did. It was fun to exercise my minimal spanish-speaking skills all week though, and by the end I found myself saying several common phrases -- even when I returned home to the U.S. where my native language is English! The beaches and pools on the resort were kept extremely clean, which is a biggie with me! I was actually amazed at how spotless the pools were, even with a swim-up bar in the pool! I haven't done a ton of traveling, but I've been on a previous carribean vacation to Jamaica, and my trip to Excellence BY FAR beat that trip. 10 thumbs up, and ask for Cesar!!!! He's the best : )

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillenaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

First let me start by saying we did hours and hours of research online to find the perfect destination. After much debate we chose Excellence for many reasons, but mostly for the adults only! We could not have been happier with the whole experience! The resort, grounds, staff, food, beach...everything there was EXCELLENT! The desserts were about the only real thing I could complain about. They were mostly manufactured, I bake therefore am hard to impress with sweets. The food overall was delicious at every meal, including room service. The staff are beautiful happy people despite the fact that they work their tails off to serve you and are there for 12 + hours a day. They were always quick to respond to any request, we had no problems with anything! It was really a perfect trip all the way around!

IF YOU GO!
You need to go on the beach to Nancy's for a massage! I think the couples massage at the resort spa was around 300$ but at Nancy's we had one for 90$ for the two of us and it lasted 70 minutes! It was a very good experience. Nancy also has the best gift shop, her store is located on the beach at the end of the resort. SHe is a sweet woman who will give you better deals than the other guys! Check her out, I promised her I would write her a good review because she was so good to us!

ALSO, if you go to the Dominican Republic, check out http://puntacanamike.webs.com/ this was the best thing we have ever done on vacation! He took us so many places off the beaten path and we got to experience some real Dominican culture, it was amazing. We told him after we paid that his tour was worth 3 times what he charges! It was....no words to describe it, amazing! He is a genuine guy who really loves the Dominican people and way of life!

If we were the type to return to a vacation paradise we could go bake here every single time forever, there are just too many other places we want to see in the world! But yes, If we were rich I would go back here all the time!
OHH the mosquitoes! Take some really powerful OFF with deet, get two bottles if the bugs love you here in the states, I did not quite have enough. The bugs are bad, but the trip is worth it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeleyes1bubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I can rave on and on about the hotel, very nice, just like most other comments. However, I have bed bug bites all over my legs and butt. I'm home now, emailed my sister about my "mosquito bites" and she said they look like bed bug bites. So I googled that to see pictures, and sure enough, I have bed bug bites all over me. They are very itchy, I just hope I don't scar.
Another slight issue: I ate a dessert that had walnuts, which I'm allergic to. The menu did NOT state that walnuts were in the dessert. When I asked for the hotel doctor, I was told that it was $160 for a consultation/services, and that the hotel wouldn't pay for it since it's "my fault" that I chose to eat the dessert (the walnuts were inside the dessert, not evident when it was first served to me). This all occurred during the meal where we paid an extra $300 to have a couples massage on the beach and dinner on the beach, so you would think that they would try and accomodate me somehow. The pharmacy was closed so I couldn't buy Benedryl, and they wouldn't get any for me either.
Other than those two issues, the hotel was great: very nice, we weren't once asked to updgrade, service was perfect (except for the walnut issue), no problems wiht pool chairs or chairs on the beach, the beach is HUGE so lots of room, food was very good for an all inclusive, great disco is you're a young couple and want to go to a bar and drink/dance.
I would still recommend the hotel to a friend because I doubt these problems happen for most people.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I have to say I was fooled into thinking this was a 5 star resort! My husband and I were really looking forward to staying here based on all of the great reviews. In our case I wish I would have listened to the bad ones.

I would not return to this hotel if you paid me. We came home with a ton of bug bites and musty clothes. The food was OK. I would not recommend eating at the open air restaurants as you just get bit by bugs. The building they put us in had a broken elevator that they decided to work on starting at 8am every morning, something they failed to warn us about. It was so loud that we finally switched rooms.

Overall, we have learned that we really enjoy 5 star resorts and this not one of them. But we did meet some great people also there in vacation...We made the best out of things and closed the disco most nights. The spa was nice, but I got a terrible paint job on my toes. The couples massage was worth getting though!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Papo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing