We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15,097)
Filter reviews
15,097 results
Traveler rating
10,124
3,119
1,076
455
323
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10,124
3,119
1,076
455
323
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster house cascade pool the grill chez isabelle our honeymoon martini bar flavor market las olas swim up bar horseback riding sax player french restaurant bug spray red flag greeted with champagne garden view other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 15,097 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2018

Been to other resorts, including Excellence. This had some great features. The beach and pool setup was great. It was one of the widest beach areas I've ever seen in a resort and pool(s) were nice and not freezing like you'd get elsewhere. Never felt overly crowed (due to setup and organization). Grounds, buildings were great and kept very nice, rooms very nice and serviced greatly by staff. The shows were pretty typical, but done well. I'm not sure if getting the club upgrade was really worth it. The toiletries and booze in the room were nice, but really didn't use. The club beach area wasn't really that different that the regular and really was more crowded than the general area. The private restaurant was nice to have, but was really the same food you could get elsewhere and you still had to wait like other places. The coffee shop, sports bar and shops are a nice feature you can't always find anywhere else, so definitely a plus. Suggested areas to improve - restaurants ! Now, while you could order whatever you wanted and as much as you liked, that wasn't necessarily a plus. There were some good things on each menu, but there were a lot of misses. Everything from the Seafood restaurant, to the French to the Hibachi. Not a food snob by any means, just lacking compared to other Excellence's and other resorts we've been to before. If you were to improve the quality of the food, it would help this location greatly. And finally the liquor at the bar. Little disappointed with the level of the liquor. They do well during the day with the beach drinks (blended), but the top shelf stuff was hit/miss. Even when they had the good stuff, it remarkably ran out almost every time I asked for something. Tequilla, Rum (other than local stuff), Gin etc. If it was once or twice, I'd be somewhat ok, but it happened all week. Almost seemed like they had one half bottle on the property to say they had it and then when it was gone, it was gone. While that may seem trivial, its one of the reasons we go to places like the Excellence so we can get that.
The people were all very friendly and provided great service. Just work on the food and the drink inventory and you have a 5star place.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MnFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence G, General Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to share this review with other travelers.

We are very pleased to know that our colleagues and amenities were able to make your stay a relaxing and memorable experience due to the excellent service provided. We will ensure that your amiable comments reach the eyes and ears of all our staff at our Resort.

We can assure you that every constructive criticism you have shared with us has been taken very seriously by our team in order to keep standards, expected by our guests on the highest level, ensuring your satisfaction. Moreover, your feedback will be addressed and corrective measures will be taken in order to improve on the areas we are lacking in.

We are sorry to hear from you that we did not meet your expectations in the food and beverage area. Excellence Group is recognized for achieving superior quality in appearance and maintenance of our properties and facilities, just as many other attributes that enable us to provide the supreme Luxury all-inclusive experience.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2018

Everything was great, we enjoyed the beaches and pools, a bar in sight everywhere you went which was amazing! Seriously, a little respect, a smile on your face and some reward for the efforts of their work we had the best and most friendly service everywhere we went! We loved a Dominican night that they had so great to see some authenticity while at a resort. The shows and activities were so fun we loved getting involved. Some of the people that we loved the most were Junior and Felix with the activities they were so nice and made everything sound so fun! Our concierge were all so helpful especially Yassiel. The best restaurant was the french inspired Chez Isabelle Joel Villanueva was the best waiter, we made an appointment for this to be a romantic dinner and he was so thoughtful towards us and it was the perfect night out!

Room tip: We sprung for the Excellence Club level and let me tell you it is way worth it! We enjoyed our view of the ocean.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adventurous_marcoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence G, General Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your honeymoon destination and for taking the time to share this review with other travelers.

It is an honor to hear from you that we were able to blow you away due to the services that made your stay more comfortable with. It is lovely to read how memorable was your getaway due to the entertainment staff was really engaging with plenty of activities for everyone's taste.

Excellence Group is recognized for achieving superior quality in appearance and maintenance of our properties and facilities, just as many other attributes that enable us to provide the supreme Luxury all-inclusive experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and have another opportunity to pamper you with our attentive service creating another unforgettable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018

Me and my wife stayed at Excellence Punta Cana in November for 6 days and loved it. the resort is very clean and is well kept. The resort is about a 45 minute ride from PUJ Airport. From other reviews it appears they did some remodeling over the last few years and they have done a great job. There are a good variety of restaurants on the resort to choose, along with a few spots on the beach for a quick lunch. The food is not the best I i have had compared to other resorts but is still good. The beach is very rough if you're looking to go and spend your time in the water, however if you're looking to sit and relax by the beach there are a lot of chairs and tiki umbrellas on the beach to lay under and relax. The staff is always looking to assist you and is there for all your needs, they wont let your drink be empty for long! Excellence has nightly shows that were fun to watch and relax in their large sitting area after supper and a long day in the sun. I would highly recommend this resort if your are looking for a place in Punta Cana!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence G, General Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Dear Brandon,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor readers.

We are very delighted to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and we highly appreciate you enjoyed some improvements we have recently done. Besides, it is a pleasure to know how memorable was your getaway at Excellence Punta Cana due to our immaculate grounds, the good quality of the food and drinks menu and the wide assortment encountered at all restaurant to choose from.

Excellence Group is recognized for achieving superior quality in appearance and maintenance of our properties and facilities, just as many other attributes that enable us to provide the supreme Luxury all-inclusive experience.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

My week spent at Excellence Punta Cana was incredible! You're never more than a few steps from a view of the ocean. The resort was at full capacity, but never felt crowded; we never struggled to find a spot on the beach or had to wait to be seated at meals.

From the moment we arrived the staff was welcoming, kind, and dedicated to helping each guest have the best vacation. Thanks to Edwin, Carlos, Jason, and Francel for making the trip so memorable! I will definitely be looking back to Excellence for my next vacation.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Katiewilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018

This is a five star review, so let me endorse this as a wonderful get away before anything else. My only quibbles are the overly-busy restaurants and the middling food. Other than that -- paradise.

The beach is secluded and quiet, with easy access to the bar and servers. Drinks are what you make them -- want something specific? Order specifically. Want something overly sweet off the menu? Order it by name and brace for a hangover.

Pool is lovely and clean, gym is well-appointed, ping pong tables are top notch. For the cognac fan, Courvoisier VSOP is part of the all inclusive deal and i had more than one fine dram of it.

We had the cheapest possible room, and it was lovely with a big bath tub and balcony. We've stayed at Excellence El Carmen before which was awesome, and this is at least its equal.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamSmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence G, General Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2018

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your vacation destination and for taking the time to share this review with other travelers.

We are pleased to hear from you that your suite and facilities were stunning and our attentive staff members pampered all the time making you got everything you wanted. As a luxurious all-inclusive resort, we take care of every single detail in order to provide an unforgettable guest experience and exceed its expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back and have another opportunity to pamper you with our service creating another experience to remember. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews