We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Extended Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Extended Weekend!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went to The Excellence Punta Cana for an extended weekend and greatly enjoyed our stay. First off, the resort was beautiful and it was clear that the employees took the time to care for the property.

When we arrived, we were greeted with Champaign and a warm welcome. Our room was clean and had a hammock on the back porch. Our room was cleaned very efficiently everyday. We stayed on the first floor of the 6000 building and my biggest complaint here was that our room was noisy because everyone had to walk past it to get to their rooms.

Everyday we got to the pool or beach around 9:00am. One thing that I loved about the resort was the fact that there were chairs available by the pool or beach at any time. The staff tried to remove any towels that were just laid on chairs. This is the first resort I have stayed at where I didn’t feel the need to get up at 6:00am to reserve seats.

There were plenty of bars to choose from and usually we were quickly helped. Drinks were generally very good and the bartenders certainly didn’t skimp on the alcohol. Tipping a few extra bucks didn’t hurt if you wanted to be helped quicker. My biggest complaint had to be the inconsistency in the drinks from bartender to bartender. I would order a really awesome margarita and then go back and the next one I order was undrinkable. Again, this is my only real complaint about the drinks and it was something that is pretty minor.

We enjoyed our dinner experiences at Toscana and Spice the best. We also ate at Oregano and the pizza was okay, though it tasted like frozen pizza. Overall, the food was not gourmet, but it was enjoyable.

The entertainment staff was friendly and fun, but not pushy like I have seen at some resorts. The nightly shows are what you expect, a little cheesy but entertaining to watch.

We would definitely come back to the Excellence Punta Cana for another vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main building if you don't want to deal with noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,621
    2,773
    954
    413
    282
See reviews for
777
8,987
106
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The resort is wonderful and the service is great, but the food is mediocre at best. If you're looking for an all-inclusive, and are interested in venturing to the Dominican Republic, then I definitely recommend Excellence. It's a laid back adults-only resort with premium stocked bars, friendly staff, fun activities and a gorgeous beach. Just don't expect to be blown away by the culinary efforts.

Definitely try the "coco-loco" drinks. You won't be disappointed (and might find yourself ordering them on a daily basis!).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us.

We are disappointed to read that we fell short on your culinary expectations. We take great pride in providing the freshest of ingredients and creating both simple and also creative dining experiences.
We also would like to remind all of our guests that if you want to eat something that is not in our restaurants, please let us know, and our Chef will be more than happy to prepare a special meal for you, if the ingredients are available.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Paid $50/night for an upgrade from jr to suite.. Great ocean view from our second floor balcony.

Every night we were left with creative folds of towels.

Food wise- I had better all inclusive food at cancun's le blanc.

Some stains not cleaned on the jet tub

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honeymoonersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Excellence from May 2nd through May 8th. The resort was beautiful - inside and out. Everything was very clean, including the rooms which were cleaned twice a day. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The drinks were excellent and the food was pretty good. There were a couple of restaurants that we wouldn't eat at again, but there were several that we ate at multiple times. We loved the breakfast at Toscana, dinners at the Grill and Agave, and lunch at the beach restaurant. You also can't go wrong with room service food. The shows at the theater were better than I expected for the most part. The only thing we got annoyed with was the resort's dress code. There is a strict dress code for almost every single restaurant which required my husband to wear long pants, a dress shirt and dress shoes. I wish we would have been able to wear shorts, at least at the open-air restaurants that are not air-conditioned. Overall, we were very impressed with everything the Excellence had to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just returned from a week of pure pleaure at the Excellence. Our suite was beautiful with a fantastic view. We speak no Spanish but the staff managed to handle our every request in a matter of minutes. They were all so friendly and helpful it was a pleasure to interact with any one of them. The resort itself was spotless with every aminity you could possibly ask for. While it was huge, every area was arranged for comfort. Every night there was entertainment that was of Los Vegas quality. We look forward to the opportunity of returning soon.
David and Becky Salem, Va

Room Tip: Junior suites with an ocean view are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank becky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Wow what can I say. We have just returned from our 9th visit to excellence p.c and we had a super super time. Big thanks to Roberto and Emily at public relations - they are the best, Thomas and Ramon who looked after us so well at the restaurants, Antonio Raphael and Innes on the Excellence club beach who are just amazing and not forgetting the best waiter on the resort Alexander in the Flavour Market. The food was great - ignore the negative reviews god knows what people want and the whole experience was as good as you can get for the money paid. This is a fabulous resort that looks after its guests so well. We will be back without a doubt for yet another visit.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallettsville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Excellence for 5 days. I would say overall it was a nice trip, but not the best I've ever had. The resort is beautiful no doubt, but that's about it. The food is like any typical resort food, nothing special. We were really disappointed in the drinks though. My husband & I could not find one drink on their menu that we liked. Luckily the bartenders will make whatever you tell them to. My husband ended up drinking Coors Light most of the time. What I disliked most though was how far away the resort is from everything. Anything you want to do is at least a 45 minute shuttle ride away. Excellence is on the very end of the line so it's always to last resort to be dropped off on a group shuttle. At the time I did not think about this but, the Excellence is on the Atlantic Ocean side of the island so the water is really rough. Any excursions you want to do you have to take that hour or so ride to the Caribbean side of the island. It then takes even longer to get back because the bus/van stops at all the other resorts to drop off people first. What I liked most I'd say is the nightly entertainment. They did put on a good show each night. We went of 2 excursions, the Reef Explorer & deep sea fishing. Both of which were just "OK". Now all in all I don't want to bad mouth the resort because we did have a nice relaxing time, but it definitely didn't quite live up to our expectations. IF we (but I doubt we ever will) visit the DR again we would definitely pick a resort on the Caribbean side, perhaps the Bavaro Beach area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior Swim-Up Suite, I don't think it was worth the extra money though. It did s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us.

Allow us to apologize for not being able to meet your expectations in the area of food and beverage. As a luxurious all inclusive resort we personalize not only our service but our cuisine as well, in an effort to suite different tastes and preferences of all our guests. Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
3,875 reviews
17.2 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
13.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing