We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not excellent, but good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I'll make it quick & simple.
Food- terrible, spice was the best restaurant
Room- average, beds are like concrete
Beach-clean, water is very rough
Pools-clean, plenty of lounge chairs
Bars-great, all top shelf
Staff-very friendly, accommodating, professional
Guest Service Manager, Roberto Puello- absolutely amazing, the best in the business!!

No See Ums- ruined most of our trip, itching & scratching all of the time. Deep Woods OFF helped a little. They should spray daily for all biting insects. Most of the others resorts we visited did that. You know it's bad when the staff is constantly spraying themselves down with OFF.

Would we visit again- probably not!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gman911MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,287 - 5,293 of 13,386 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

My fiancé and I recently stayed at this resort in Punta Cana. It was an awful experience, to say the least. I would estimate that a mere 5% of their staff made any effort at all to make our vacation enjoyable. Many of them were rude and disregarding toward us.

I was truly appalled when we were humiliated and turned away at the Excellence Club section of the beach. My fiancé and I waited 20 minutes at a desk while your staff fumbled around with telephones only to insist that we were not in the Excellence Club and essentially, called us liars. We were told to walk back up to the Excellence Club and straighten out the issue before we could enjoy the Excellence Club beach. In other words, WE had to fix the error that your staff made. Needless to say, after being humiliated in front of other guests, we were not enticed to bother with the Excellence Club beach after we straightened out the error made by your resort. I understand that mistakes are sometimes made, but we should have been waiting on lounge chairs under a palm tree while your employees brought us champagne and corrected their own error. Everything was clearly not "taken care of" as their resort advertises on your website.

Aside from being treated like peasants, we were often served the wrong meal, we were told that they were out of many menu items that we attempted to order, or we ordered meals that never arrived at our dinner table at all. The meals we did consume were barely enjoyable due to the overwhelming taste of salt and and our food was rarely served hot. We put up with the wretched service, and even tipped considerably because the restaurant servers seemed to be the only employees that shared a smile here and there.

After spending the greater part of our 5 day vacation tirelessly trying to justify spending the thousands of dollars that we did for our "romantic getaway," we were disappointed yet again. On our last night at the Excellence, we were looking forward to seeing the Circus show and having some lobster with friends. We sat down for dinner at 8:30pm at The Lobster House and after waiting an hour and a half were served inedible "lobster." By 10:30pm we had missed the show and my starving fiancée's entree still hadn't been served. We then decided to put The Lobster House behind us and attempted to get a quick bite at The Flavor Market.

At the Flavor Market, the hostess was very reluctant to give us a table for four at 10:30pm even though the restaurant is listed to be open until 11pm. We didn't pay all of this money to beg for a seat in a restaurant. As she contemplated seating us, she noticed that one of our dinner companions was wearing shorts and immediately refused us service. We politely asked for an exception and explained our previous dining experience but we were denied anyway. When we asked to speak to a manager, we were introduced to Levys, your very unprofessional night manager whom treated us as if we were hooligans. He was unwilling to compromise and only offered to take us back to The Lobster House where we clearly did not want to go. When we asked to speak with HIS manager, he accused us of threatening him. He then accused us of being "violent." When I asked why he thought we were "violent," he angrily barked that it was because we had attitudes. Eventually, after speaking to David, another manager, we were offered food from the Flavor Market but had to eat it in the lobby. At that point, we just accepted... and tipped generously as usual.

I have stayed at their resort in Cancun and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I referred to it as "the best week of my life." I often promote their resort to friends and family and tell them how they will be treated like royalty and how there isn't a care in the world. I tell them they won't find anything to complain about, but if they do, it will be taken care of instantaneously. That is clearly not the experience we had at the Excellence Resort in Punta Cana and we will not be returning

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOliver44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Excellence Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the info you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana was top top notch. Service and food "excellent". The hotel greets you with a warm welcome and a glass of chanpagne. Very classy. They have nightly shows to keep you entertained. The hotel goes above and beyond because I think they make up for the fact that the beach is windy and rough and there is no snorkeling. That was my only disappointment. Not being able to go to the beach and snorkel every day !!!.

Nancy
VA Beach VA

Room Tip: Ask for first floor. They had a better choice of lounge settings. Instead of table & chairs on b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had stayed previously at Excellence Riviera Maya so expectations had been set by this other member of the group. Unfortunately Punta Cana did not match that experience but for the most part we were satisfied and enjoyed our 10 day stay. We'd probably go back as the value is exceptional and as a consequence you can make allowances for its imperfections.

The good: the rooms, the grounds, the beach and the pools. The Martini bar never disappointed and breakfast and lunch buffets were excellente! Robert, Ramon, Ledquest and Sandy were great staff with smiles and great dispositions. Barcelona, the French and Mexican Restaurants, and Spice were consistently OK with the service in Barcelona being exceptional.

The bad: hard beds, inconsistent room service/beverage restock, concierge with heads buried in computers all the time, policies not allowing chairs/umbrellas to be reserved never being enforced, smoking allowed in the pool itself and the non-functioning ice machines everywhere

Other: we live in a state that takes recycling seriously. The hotel appeared to do the same but it did not matter how many times we hung up our towels to reuse as they request, they were always replaced. We were also extremely conscious of the number of plastic water bottles we consumed and yet there was no obvious way to recycle. Disappointing to see a chain like this not doing more.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have hammocks and more patio space compared to 2nd and 3rd floor rooms that have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Excellence resort (my boyfriend and two of our friends) and had an amazing time! The lobster house and Spice were by far the best restaurants. The breakfast buffet was also amazing! Ask for Adam at any of the restaurants. If you have the opportunity, see the Michael Jackson show. Amazing! Also, be sure to bring dollars to tip. There is never not something to do. If you are a drinker, bring along a 52 ounce bubba keg to keep your drinks cool. Be careful of the men on the beach trying to sell illegal substance though! They won;t come up to you but if you approach a beach shop, they will offer. Also, the beds in the rooms are a little on the hard side but the pillow service is amazing. The customer service is great! The only down side is that the pools close at 6pm and the bars do not open until 10am. But hey, that's what the in room bar is for, right?! I would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: suites on the first floor have a hammock outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Been to all three of them now, and are booked to return to EPM in Nov. My big issue with EPC, was the staff was not engaged with the customers. We asked for certain things and were told no by one person, and then ten minutes later another staff perosn was able to meet our requests. The food at Punta Cana was average at best, and it was extremely hot in Nov, with very little to no AC. The beach at EPC was so rough we were never cleared to go in for 10 days. In fact a women broke her leg in the rough surf. Just be careful.
On the other hand at EPM or ERC, they asked us all day long what we wanted regardless of time or location to the task. The staffs in Mexico really connected to us and the people traveling with us.
We have stayed in both Excellent club and Non, very little difference for your money,at least in Mexico, the treated you the same. In EPC, they wanted your room number at times , and i could only take it as they gave special treatment to the EC members. That should not be the case when you are out to dinner.
All three are great , but for my money i will stay in Mexico with the other 2 and the secrets maroma, and secret Capri.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raygun62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. All our Excellence Resorts are designed with a different personality, but always with the same high standards. We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food, service and facilities.

will forward your comments and suggestions to the above mentioned departments as your feedback is very important to us since it helps us improve on a daily basis.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My name is Guillermo Rivera and with my guest Mr. Bernardo Valdivia we had the immense pleasure of staying at Excellence Punta Cana from Apr 26, 2014 thru May 5, 2014. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with such warmth, professionalism and courtesy; that unknowned to us, it was everywhere we went around your spectacular property. "Excellent!" became a word/response of our own to the staff after just a a couple of days. From the immaculate rooms and grounds, 9 restaurants to choose from, and personalized attention it made our 1st stay in D.R. an experience that will last us a lifetime. Special mention to Concierges Mindy, Cintia Chalas, our housekeeper Maira Gomez (camarilla block 9), Hostess Yarissa Garcia de los Santos, Entertainment Coordinators: Kassandra Reyes, Jhonatan Montero, Annie Rodriguez, Bussers Delvinson Francisco Mendoza and our great waiter Raymond, Dining room Supervisor, Santa.. Although EVERYONE treated us as special guests these individuals definitely went out of their way to engage us and make sure ALL our needs were met.They truly epitomize what we believe Excellence Punta Cana strives for. If you are looking for a smaller resort with special personalized attention, apart from and not in other property of any MEGA Resorts, then Excellence Punta Cana (adults only!) is for you. From the bottom of our hearts..."MUCHAS GRACIAS!!!" and we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed at a Garden View Room on the 9th Block Bldg, 2nd floor, very quiet....Next time I would pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gjrri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
1.4 mi away
Excellence El Carmen
Excellence El Carmen
#3 of 5 in Uvero Alto
1,666 reviews
16.5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $274 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Savannahville Tours N.V., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing