We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing days in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Have stayed at Sandals and Secrets in Jamaica several times before selecting Excellence for a change in location. This place is great. I have not one negative comment. The staff were fantastic and so friendly. The room was always clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Food in the theme resturants was always very good and many choices to choose from.
Entertainment each night was fun.The grounds and gardens are beautiful and so peaceful as you sit on your balcony.
Can't wait to return next March.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovestogoanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13,667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,704 - 5,710 of 13,667 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

It is very hard to rate the Excellence Punta Cana without comparing it with the Iberostar Grand Bavaro. Both resorts are adults only and both have five star ratings.
The food is a disappointment (no dinner reservations is a plus). The food lacks any flavor and is prepared in non-traditional ways (Pad Thai no sprouts or scallions replaced with mushrooms and green peppers). Italian entrees are extremely breaded. The Lobster House is a joke compared to the Grand. Lobster is only at dinner at the Lobster House; my wife’s Lobster Thermidor mainly mushrooms in a watery sauce. Not having a dinner buffet is a downer as the breakfast and lunch buffets were the best meals of the day. I was not pleased by any of the specialty restaurants.
The service and wait staff are some of the friendliest people to deal with as they were at the Iberostar. Check-in is convoluted at the Excellence Club, instead of getting you to your room they huddle you with others guests waiting for the luggage to be delivered to the club. After a long day of travel all we wanted was our room, after being at the resort for an hour (around 5 pm we finally got our room).
The rooms are dated but perfectly functional and comfortable. The Excellence Club lounge is a joke. They have finger size entries and sandwiches. The only peak that the Club gives that we enjoyed is the hydro massage at the spa, it was a wonderful experience.
The guests play the towel game to the extreme by the pool, people get up in the morning and stake out a bed and two lounge chairs and grab the pool floats. The bed and lounges are sitting there empty most of the day as the towel marking people are on excursions or at the beach. Pool floats are taken from the pool at lunch and hidden from other guests to use. Staff does nothing about it.
The grounds are spotless the ocean is beautiful, but un-swimmable undercurrent and pounding waves. I wish that someone would have told me that it is the Atlantic Ocean and NOT the Caribbean Sea. There is a massive difference when compared Bavaro Beach which is Caribbean water.
The ground maintenance folks are always spraying pesticide around the complex. One day we were in our room when we heard a jet engine they were using a thermal fogger. The whole area from our balcony to the end of the building was quickly covered in a thick dense fog; the odor came into room which we quickly left.
Entertainment was noisy crowded with no acoustics, and filled with smoke.
Unless you are a heavy drinker who likes strong drinks the Excellence does not appeal.
For a true 5 star experience go to the Iberostar Grand Bavaro, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farmerinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Excellence Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the info you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I feel very compelled to write this review because everyone here on Trip Advisor helped me pick this hotel. We stayed from March 23rd- March 28th. This was our first all inclusive Caribbean Vacation. The airport in Punta Cana is very confusing but you will get through it, its worth the frustration to get to the resort. We booked through US airways VIP vacations, The person we had contact with at the Airport booth was very nice. We got our own private VIP van to the resort, just because we got in a little late. Its a 45 min ride to the resort from the Airport. Once we pulled into the gate of the resort it was like you were in a different world. paradise for sure. We were greeted with cool towels and champagne. I had upgraded our package to the excellence package and it was totally worth the extra money. We were brought through the very large very beautiful open air lobby. They led us right to the excellence club where we got our keys and went to our room, no lines no waiting. At this club they have coffee a full bar and little munchies all day, it was great for a lite snack. The room was great, very large, with a fully stocked bar. We stayed in an ocean view suite on the first floor, right on the corner of building 7. This was a great room three steps and you are at the pool and the swim up bar is right there. The only time this was not so great was between the hours of 3:30 to 6pm when everyone has had way to many cocktails and they are having a very good loud time. When we go back I will be asked to be put near building 9 or 10 it is much quieter there. Only negative about the room was the bed. It was very uncomfortable. Hard and not easy to sleep on, this will not stop us from going back, but it is stopping me from giving this place 5 stars.. All of the restaurants are easy to get into for dinner and they had a couple special event nights with buffet food that was very good. Make sure your guy brings long pants for the night time dinners, they have a dress code at all the restaurants. I brought all sun dresses to wear and never felt over or under dressed. The night time shows are kind of like watching a high school performance. I am glad they had something to do at night and the performers were very good dancers, just not good together. The drinks are not strong so you can drink without getting to crazy. The beach is endless and so beautiful. The pool or should I say pools are unbelievable. huge and the water is nice and warm. This resort is so clean, I never saw trash anywhere, they were constantly picking up. The staff is super friendly and most of them speak English. If you are not a fan of smokers this may not be the place for you since they can smoke anywhere they want to in the open areas. I am so glad we picked this place, It was our best vacation ever. I want to thank everyone who uses this site!!! It makes picking a hotel so much easier.

Room Tip: if you want ocean view choose any of the rooms in building 9 - 14 for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tricia6870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just returned from Excellence Punta Cana. We have stayed at Sandals in Jamaica and the Bahamas and Secrets in Jamaica. The Excellence experience was similar as far as the all inclusive goes. However, the beach experience was much better. The beach was beautiful with plenty of chairs and space to spread out. The beach service was great. No solicitation from vendors anywhere near the beach property. I enjoyed the ocean in front of the resort but if you like calmer water you can walk down the beach in either direction and find much calmer water.

I was worried about the food choices after reading other reviews but I was pleased with the food choices and food quality. Room service for breakfast was great. It takes about 20 to 40 minutes but they tell you when you call how long it will take. It was so nice to set on the patio and enjoy a wonderful breakfast.

The staff was very pleasant. Friendly and personable. They invited to join in the fun and games but was not pushy at all. Check in and out was a breeze.

Room was great. No complaints. We had a ground floor unit with a private patio. Very quiet and pleasant. The bed slept good. The decor was nice and well maintained.

The ride to and from the airport took about 35 minutes mostly on a paved road. It was not a bad ride. Air conditioned van straight to and from airport with no stops at other resorts on the way.

This experience was great. I will be back. I liked the overall experience at Excellence much better than Secrets St. James or any of the Sandals we have visited.

Room Tip: Ground floor units have patio and hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mjonesdj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I just recently stayed at Excellence, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. As soon as I stepped off the bus I could not help but realize what a beautiful resort it truely is. The beach was not crowded, and the pool is very nice. The food was great everywhere I ate and everyone we met was genuinly nice. One staff member in particular that I want to mention is "Isael". Isael was very professional and curtious. Even though I am from the next island over (Puerto Rico) he made me feel like I was right at home. I will be going back thanks to him and the great experience I had at this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our second trip to Excellence and it was even better than the first time. We stayed from March 16 to March 22. Gobecon shuttle was efficient and our driver very accommodating to stop at the pharmacy on the way for a forgotten item (pepto bismol, just in case but never needed). From the moment we arrived at Excellence we were treated like family. Super Mike greeted us with champagne and a cool towel. He was very social and entertaining while escorting us and our luggage to their destination. We checked in meeting lovely Emely from public relations and our new friend Reynaldo. Reynaldo found the perfect room for us in building 10 with an amazing pool and ocean view. Each day when we would see Reynaldo around the lobby, he made a point to check and see if everything was ok, or if we needed anything. He takes great pride in making sure you are satisfied with the resort.
Roberto Puello, also from public relations, displayed the same type of genuine concern for our comfort throughout the entire stay. As beautiful as the resort is, I can truly say the experience would not have been as fantastic were it not for the kind Dominican people and their sincere hospitality. We met some of the nicest people in the employees working diligently in different roles (maids, gardeners, bartenders, wait staff, etc.) to make your stay excellent. Rooms are stocked daily with plenty of beer, waters, soda and alcohol of your choice.
The weather was perfect the entire time with high temps in the low to mid 80's. We never saw a drop of rain the entire stay. The pools are beautiful but we preferred to spend our days on the beach. There, we could spend the entire day in the sun without getting too hot due to the wonderful breeze off the ocean. Beach palapas and sun mattresses are plentiful in the Club section. We never had a problem finding an available one. There was also a new large Jacuzzi opened recently that provides a spectacular ocean front view.
The pool bar closest to the beach by the Club section is in a prime location. It’s convenient to both the folks lounging by the pool, the Jacuzzi mentioned above, or the expansive beach. Bartenders Felix, Roberto, Pedro and others are fun to talk to and they crack light-hearted jokes in conversation. Felix chirps like a bird throughout the day as his signature sound and also sings karaoke style to the songs playing through the resort’s speakers. These are really nice people and we enjoyed talking with them when ordering drinks. I encourage you to try the Drinks-of-the-day. They are very good and available both with alcohol or alcohol-free variety. Coco Loco served in coconuts are tasty as well as the drinks served in pineapples.
The food was surprisingly good in every restaurant we dined and much better than we remembered from our last visit to Excellence. This was our main concern since we've travelled to many AI's and food was always hit-or-miss. The grill Las Olas on the beach served burgers, hotdogs, pizza, nachos and typically at least one other "main item" for lunches. It was convenient but more of a fast food style with great atmosphere. Toscana serves daily buffet style breakfast and lunch with an amazing variety of selections. You can have a full meal at Toscana or just pop in for a takeout snack like guacamole and chips and bring them back to the beach or pool. We were impressed with both the quality and quantity of the buffet offerings.
Agave Mexican restaurant offers an open-air seating environment. The flank steak (Arrechero?) was very good, tender and well seasoned. Our waiter, Angel, went above and beyond in serving our meal. When we finished dinner we asked if they served fried ice cream for desert. Angel said Agave didn't, but for us to hold on for a minute. He quickly left to retrieve 2 fried ice cream deserts from the Spice restaurant where it is normally offered.
Angel mentioned he normally waits tables in the Flavor Market and he graciously offered to serve us the next evening there. He arranged to have 4 beers on ice in a wine bucket when we arrived with rose petals strewn across the tablecloth in decorative fashion. The tapas food was very good with a wide range of food selections. You won't leave there hungry.
Barcelona was also very good. The Lobster House was in a great location right off the beach and was more ambience than fine dining. Leonel was also a top-notch waiter at the Lobster House who was very friendly and provided exceptional service.
Chez Isabelle served great Chateaubriand and Spice served the best Pad Thai chicken we've tried.
The shows are entertaining but we felt the star was a saxophone player named Domingo. He played prior to the start of the main show each night in the lobby bar area and shouldn't be missed. He has amazing musical skills and played a wide range of songs from Classic Standards to Earth Wind & Fire. Stop and talk with him between sets. You'd be amazed at how personable he is. He expressed how he receives reward by others enjoying his music. We enjoyed his music thoroughly! You can purchase his music on CD's if you choose for very little cost (we did).
I know I’ve left out someone in this review and for that I apologize. Again it’s the entire staff at Excellence that makes this place really shine and the management should be very appreciative of what they have in their dedicated employees. We plan to stay in contact with Reynaldo & Roberto and look forward to returning again to see our new friends in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank HammerDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Punta Cana.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the amazing staff, the high quality food and drinks encountered at our Restaurants and bars, and lastly but no less important, our Resort facilities. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests but reviews like yours serve us to motivate us even more; we have forwarded your message to all our Department Managers.

We all look forward to welcome you on your 3rd visit, and to provide you with another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Just spent a week at the Excellence through March 25 and would highly recommend it. We stayed in a garden view junior suite room 6207. We had a great view of a mtn. range and pond area from our 3rd fl balcony and close access to the main pool and several great dining choices including the fantastic breakfast buffet. The room was spotless every day and stocked with four different bottles of choice wine/liquor. If you wanted something different you need only to ask. Our only complaint was a hard bed. I spoke to the consierge who arranged a pillow top mattress pad which helped a lot. Staff were seen cleaning sliding glass doors to rooms and mopping each room balcony. VERY clean place!

The beach front was quite secluded from other resorts with about 1/2 mile walk in either direction before reaching the next place. The snorkeling was quite good if one walked down the beach to the right and searched the coral reef areas in about 5-10 feet of water. On either side of the resort along the beach are several small shacks containing locals selling their wares. They may approach and encourage you to come look but not a big deal. It's worth a look as they have some interesting wood carved items, bowls, jewelry, and paintings on canvas, etc and very reasonable if you don't agree to the first price offered to you. ie.... Negotiate!

The staff bent over backwards to make your stay perfect. I left a couple of dollars following each meal, occasionally tipped the cooks and hostesses and they could not have been more appreciative. The next day, they remembered what you ordered and went above and beyond. After tipping one night, we returned the next evening to the best table above the pool decorated with napkins shaped like a heart and filled with rose petals. After dinner, the waiter went to one of the other restaurants that served a desert we asked about and brought it back to us as their location did not serve it.

We took a guided excursion with Xtreme dune buggies which took us a full day around roughly 150 miles of the DR. This was hands down the best way to really get a flavor for the area. One prerequisite-You must be very comfortable with a manual transmission.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robert o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
16.5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
13.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 114 in Punta Cana
4,488 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
16.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $266 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing