We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation and resort......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Totally awesome resort.....my boyfriend and I were there for 7 days last week and only left the resort for one half day excursion (reef explorer) and still wasnt enough time there. THe beach is beautiful, very clean, water was warm (they did put the red flags out) but we went in every day but one- walk to the right just past the point is a bay that's very calm and very warm.... just to the left is the "beach Mall" local souvenier shops to barter with the locals, Nancys shop does couple massages for 100.00 for 70 minutes in an open air thatched hut(way less than the spa) which we planned on doing but we actually got a few little "freebie" massages at the resort -- play the beach games, bingo in the pool etc they give out prizes - the entertainment staff is super friendly, outgoing -- Jonathon and Armando are the best.....the nightly shows are worth going to - Michael Jackson on Sat night and the Circus show (they are brought in from other companies) were super good...the disco is worth going to later at night if you can stay awake after being in the sun all day and eating late dinners....the food was all decent....it's not super spicy but everything had good flavor - the lobster house isnt quite like Maine lobster but you get a lot to eat -- we LOVED not having to make any reservations at any of the restaurants and the longest we had to wait to get into one was 20 minutes one night at the flavor market (small tapas style) -- Spice was good also -- they had an authentic Dominican beach party on Mon nights with a huge outside buffet (definately worth going to) and a pool party buffet one night -- there were so many food options we never got to eat at all the restaurants in a week -- breakfast buffet has made to order omelettes, eggs, fresh fruit, pancakes, mimosas, bloody mary bar etc.

We actually stayed in the garden suite ground floor room and loved the location and we had the same stocked premium alchohol mini bar, jacuzzi tub, hammock, outside patio, free internet as the "club" side had so for us it wasnt worth upgrading and we got the same treatment -- they have a few more huts etc on their side of the beach and a private bar/snack area but we woudnt; have used that anyway.

THe service is amazing everywhere...we tipped a few times for extra service but never felt like it was pressured-- the mini bar guy will give you whatever you want in your room -- we had bailys and coffee on our patio every morning reading the daily "sheet of the day" activity sheet then headed to the beach in the a.m. ; ate mostly at the outside beach restuarant for lunch then picked one of the pools for the afternoon -- dont miss the sports bar , mini golf, darts, pool tables etc and really good after noon ice cream -- jogged through the botanical gardens and the gym is really nice -new equipment

definately a couples place mostly 30-50 year olds-- we met a lot of people -- everyone was very friendly both guests and staff -- cant say enough good things -- i've done a few other all inclusives and this was by far the best service and clean resort :) cant wait to go back

Room Tip: to us the "club" upgrade wouldnt have been worth it-- we stayed in building 2 was easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Traci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,444 - 5,450 of 13,348 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visited EPC for our honeymoon in August. We LOVED it, with it being our first time out of the country and our first trip with just the two of us was perfect, also first AI. The airport was intense, so many people, men grabbing your luggage to help you and finding your transfer was just crazy, was not expecting it at all.
The airport is pretty far from the hotel 45-55 mins, we had a mulit transfer so we stopped at many other hotels before getting there. I got car sick too because the roads are bumpy and the locals love to drive extremely fast and close to each other and flying passed stop signs. But, arriving at the hotel was great, we were welcomed with a cool towel and champagne. Then directed to check in and then guided to our room.
Our room was a garden view on the corner which you could so the ocean slightly, but it was very nice. Our travel agent didn't inform them that it was our honeymoon so when we go to the door and saw we didn't get a banner I was wondering why, but we asked and it was delivered right away! Happy bride!
We did have one issue during our 7 day stay. Since its very humid and hot we had our air conditioning on. One night at like 3/4 a.m. we both woke up to the sound of a waterfall. Confused and probably still drunk for those coco locos we got up and saw water was pouring out of our ceiling! We called the front desk, (not knowing if they'd answer) and they were at our door step within 5 mins. They had to drain the rest of it because something wasn't draining properly and got clogged but they fixed it fast and we got to go back to sleep.
We loved all the restaurants, we tried all of them--having appetizers early then going for dinner at another to experience them. Our favorite was Spice and Chez. We loved all the drinks--so good!
We did go on one excursion--the dune buggies. It was a blast but the tour expected tips on tips on tips. I understand its their job but they got angry at us because we wouldn't purchase something from them or tip more at the end when we tipped them through out. Oh well, good experience.
We were there during a hurricane which hit in Santo Domingo pretty bad and the resort did a great job at preparing for inside activities! The water was amazing though the current was pretty rough, still enjoyed the beach!
Overall this was a great experience for my husband and I, our first AI was excellent and we recommend the resort to everyone we know!
We are heading to EPM in Sept. to see what Mexico has to offer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Overall we had a great time! We thought the resort was beautiful and well maintained. We loved that the beach was secluded and we could walk as far as we wanted. The room was great, and the food was fine. The shows were entertaining and the resort was very relaxing. Our biggest gripes were the service on the beach and by the pool. It was just simply non existent. You would give your order and the waiter would just never come back. Pool service was few and far between. As far as the rest of the employees, I would say 50% were friendly with a smile, the other 50% seemed bothered or were straight faced. Another big problem were the LOUD birds/frogs/bugs (not sure what it was) that croaked and chirped ALL night! It drove us nuts and we got very little sleep. It seemed that only the buildings closest to the pool complained of this, so it wasn't every building, but it still was aggravating! The best part of the resort though was the other vacationers. We made so many friends. It's impossible not to be social. Everyone is on vacation and in a great mood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Punta Cana with all Trip Advisor Readers.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I went to EPC from Feb 28-Mar 7. We have been to several all-inclusives over the years but this was our first experience with the Excellence chain... it will not be our last. The resort was well maintained, the grounds were beautiful and the staff was AMAZING. We upgraded to the Excellence Club and for us it was worth it. We had a garden/mountain view room and the view from our balcony was spectacular.
We ate at almost all of the restaurants throughout the week and we were never disappointed with the food or the service. I have been to AI's and this is NOT typical AI food..there isn't even a buffet option for dinner. I also like that there is a dress code (and that it is actually enforced) for dinner.
Others have commented that the bed was too hard, but for us it was perfect. The window in the shower was also not a problem for us. I can see where it would be an issue if you were there with a friend or relative, but not with a spouse/significant other. After the first day the mini-fridge was always stocked with lots of Coke.
There a shops on the beach, just off the resort property. If you shop here go to Nancy's. Charlie is a very nice guy and not pushy at all. He understands that it makes people uncomfortable so he offers his help and then lets you look. Also, if you have the ability to take a few school supplies (pencils, crayons, etc) you can take them to Charlie and he will deliver them to the local school. The kids there are not allowed to go to school if they don't have school supplies, so any little bit helps them get an education.
Overall, this was a wonderful vacation that exceeded our expectations for an all-inclusive resort. I am already looking forward to our next Excellence experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tknepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The service was great and we made friends throughout the staff. Everyone goes above and beyond to fulfill your requests. Everything was always extremely clean and organized. A great resort for couples. The VIP upgrade was worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SSWillie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

First time writing a review, but the resort was so fantastic I felt compelled to share my experience. Just returned from a week long vacation at Excellence and am looking forward to going back some day! The staff was amazing - friendly, compentent, and accomodating. The beach is beautiful, and we never had an issue finding a cabana or lounge chair. The resort has constant activities and entertainment going on, but it is easy to find quiet spaces to relax and chill out. My boyfriend and I had the Excellence Club, and if one can afford it, I recommend it - you are provided with your own section of the beach, a top-shelf mini bar, and immediate service for anything you need. I have no complaints - it was perfect.

Room Tip: Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite was fantastic - and we weren't honeymooners :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmberHiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This resort is wonderful.....the beach is great (wavy and fun.....sometimes you need to walk to the side to miss the larger waves).....we had amazing walks and lots of fun in the waves....the pool is perfect EXCEPT the access in and out.....ladders only except way down at one end.....the management say this will be fixed and then it will be perfect....there are many tourists who are not able to navigate metal steps and should not have to struggle in and out feeling awkward.....once this is fixed the pool area is a must......the rooms are very nice, not as nice as the Playa Mujeres property but better than most....clean and nice.....balconies are small but nice......the FOOD is the best we have ever had so thanks to the Food and Beverage Manager Victor Sandalinas......there is nothing I would change about this resort once the pool access is fixed....the staff is very attentive and friendly and is a tribute to their leader Oriol Alberch......I found the Concierge staff quite helpful led by Darleny......anything we needed they were there to help......Roberto Puello, the Guest Services Manager was amazing interacting with the guests....as usual, the staff at Excellence responsible for keeping us all busy, were great.....we have nothing but accolades for Charly, Armando and Luz just to mention a few (could be improper spelling)......our rooms were kept clean and neat, the bars were great and the long beach walks were part of a daily routine......the shows were OK......we quite enjoy dancing and wish resorts would lean more toward bands with area's to dance rather than just sitting in chairs watching shows.....after a day in the sun we need to move and can't stay up late enough to go the the "disco"......the sax player was perfect (possibly a bit overdone), the Circus night was amazing, the Romantic dancing only lasted one hour and we were disappointed to have to then move to "watch" a show again....
All in all.....this resort was wonderful.....if you can't find something to do here it is "your" problem....the same with the food and drink.....the best part of this resort is the staff......obviously the general manager, Oriol Alberch, has a great handle on the hotel industry.....I can't list all the names of the great people who looked after us but Johanna (pool concierge) was quite a gal and I have never been to a resort where the bar staff in ALL bars were so attentive and interested
This place is called Excellence for a reason

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnbalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
1.4 mi away
Excellence El Carmen
Excellence El Carmen
#2 of 5 in Uvero Alto
1,772 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $275 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing