We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best anniversary ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
MONTGOMERY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best anniversary ever!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our first trip to the DR and stayed at the Excellence Punt Cana. The food, pool, beach and staff were incredible. We stayed in a junior garden suite and where so happy we did not spring for the upgrades. We hardly spent anytime in the room because the grounds, beach and pool were the place to be. This place has tons of restaurants and options for eating. Our favorite was Chez Isabella and our server for two meals was Yoel Antonio. I had ribeye and my wife had salmon and both were really good. Our lunches were by the beach or at the Grill with burgers, chips, or fish. Breakfast was served in bed with eggs cooked perfect and delivered hot.

At the pool bar, Pedro took great care of us each afternoon with drinks almost waiting for us as we approached. Bring plenty of $1's for tips, although not at all required or expected. The servers work hard and get paid little, so tips are really appreciated and you will notice how quickly your drink orders are taken care of. Especially if you return to the same bars a lot.

Float in the pool or relax by the beach and life is good.

We visited with people that have been to this resort 7 times and they told us the customer service and staff continue to improve each year. The shows in the evening are fun with Circus being top-notch entertainment.

We took the Expedia Blue shuttle to and from the airport and had a perfect experience with them. We even had to be picked up at 3:00am for our flight home. Try not to book the 6:50am flight if you can avoid, but who needs sleep when your on vacation.

We only had 3 days to spend and are already looking to book an extended stay next time.

Room Tip: Garden suites are quiet and the cheapest and we did not feel slighted by not being on the pool or be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DAVID V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,807
    2,818
    973
    418
    284
See reviews for
799
9,184
109
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

After doing a lot of research I booked Excellence because the reviews are so favorable. I booked this as a winter vacation for my partner and myself. We travel a lot and have stayed in many high end hotels and resorts so our expectations are high. Excellence did not disappoint us. It was just that - excellent!

We used Dominican Airport Transfer private coach for our round trip to Excellence. They were on time picking us up at the airport even though our flight was 8 hours late than when I booked. The driver was friendly and the coach was clean. The 35 minute drive to Excellence is mostly over a brand new highway.

Facilities: This is the cleanest and most kept up resort we have ever stayed at. Personnel are always cleaning and maintaining the property and the grounds. The beaches are clean and the pools are immaculate. The restaurants are well decorated, clean and spacious

Room: We booked a suite with a private deck and pool. The room was beautiful Clean, well furnished and spacious. We loved having a private deck. It was nice to relax in the morning or after a day at one of the pools or the beach. The king size bed was very comfortable. Our room was in Building 1 overlooking the Cascade Pool. Very quiet and peaceful

Restaurants: Our 6 day vacation did not allow us to try all of the 9 restaurants but we got to 7 of them. I usually shy away for all inclusive resorts because the food tends to be mediocre. Excellence restaurants are exceptional. The breakfast buffet at Toscana has a lot of variety as does the lunch buffet. The Grill was our favorite The meat was tender and delicious. The Lobster House is a close second. We found the food and service in all of the restaurants to be excellent.

We had room service at 1130pm the night we arrived and for a few lunches. The food is just as good as the restaurants. It is nice to get room services served on plates with silverware and linens.

Pools: There are numerous pools throughout the complex. The pools never seem crowded because there are so many and so big. The swim up bar is fun. All of the pools are 5 feet deep or less. The beach is 15 steps from the buildings. Clean white sand with many lounges available that you don't have to rush early to get one. One day we went to the beach after lunch and had no problem getting a lounge.

All inclusive: Excellence take this to a new level. The fully stocked (and restocked) mini bar in the room, the bottles of liquor delivered to your room or the restaurants, bars and even afternoon ice cream are wonderful.

We loved staying at an adults only resort. It is much more peaceful and relaxing.

The personnel are the friendliest we have ever met. Everyone acknowledges you with a Hola People are very willing to make your stay enjoyable. I read several reviews that said many people do not speak English well and that was a problem. While we did find people with varying levels of speaking English we never felt this was a problem.

The day we departed we had a 530 am pickup for the airport. At 430am a plate of fruit and a basket of sweet rolls were delivered to our room when our luggage was picked up. Even at the end of our stay Excellence made sure our vacation was memorable.

We will definitely be coming back in the future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I got married at Excellence Punta Cana on February 12th, 2014. We had 33 guests at the resort for our wedding, who stayed between the dates of February 8th-15th; however my husband and I stayed until the 18th. Throughout our 10 day vacation, Excellence Punta Cana staff completely outdid themselves. We were exceptionally impressed with the service, staff, food, and general maintenance of the rooms and grounds. We have both travelled quite a bit to all inclusive resorts: Cuba, Mexico, Jamaica, and to other parts of the Dominican Republic, but nothing compared to Excellence.

Upon arrival to the Punta Cana Airport our group was greeted with a friendly host and a large bus that could accommodate all of us; with a sign on the windshield that stated "Ashley and Laura's Wedding Group!" The bus ride was quick - about 40 minutes to Excellence and this included a stop at Breathless, a new resort along the way.

When we arrived at the resort, we were impressed with how quickly staff came to gather our bags - no one had to lift a finger. They tagged everything with the promise that it would be taken directly to our rooms, which it was without problem. We were given a glass of champagne and a cold facecloth as well, which was lovely. Guests staying in the normal section of the resort were ushered to the front desk for check-in, and Excellence Club guests were told we had a separate check-in at a different section of the resort - there were a number of us who had opted for Excellence Club upgrades. Now, here is the ONLY complaint we had about Excellence, which we expressed to the resort upon check-in. It appeared that guests staying in normal suites got checked in very quickly, however those in the Excellence Club were made to wait. Eventually a group of about 10 of us were escorted to the other end of the resort, and checked in as a group, which was a very lengthy process. After our information was taken from the Excellence Club staff, who were lovely, we were taken to the Excellence Club lounge to have a drink, or a snack while we waited for our rooms. At this point, most of us had been travelling for 6 hours plus and all we wanted was to get to our rooms, shower, etc. The wait was a bit excessive, and my husband and I were disappointed that for guests paying so much more, we were made to wait so much longer. Now remember - that was our only complaint! :)

The Service: Amazing! We noticed how happy the staff seemed, and it showed in their work. The housekeeping was prompt and great. Our room was cleaned by the time we returned from breakfast and there were usually swans covered in roses, etc. Bar staff were super fun and we always had a full glass. We always tipped well, but we got the impression the staff would serve quickly regardless of tipping. There are a number of great bars (9 I think) so line-ups were never an issue.

The Room: We upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite, Ocean View. WOW. What a beautiful room. Beautiful view of the pool, overlooking the ocean, a sitting room, a king-sized bed, two washrooms, a walk-in closet, among other amenities. On our wedding night, we came back to rose peddles spread across the floor, and banner on our door saying "Just Married" and a bunch of champagne and chocolate! Simply awesome!

The Entertainment: Each day there are a number of activities you can get involved in, including dance lessons, water aerobics, darts, water balloon tossing, etc. We didn't do too much of this, but its there and it seemed fun. There is always a nightly show, which are mostly good. The Michael Jackson show and the Couples show were the best, but we always enjoyed the shows and went pretty much every night. What I personally enjoyed the most was the live music in the terrace before and after the show. The bands are great, the dancing is fun, and the bar is stocked and ready to serve. We had a ball there each night we went!

The Beach: Great! Huge waves a lot of the time (at least 7 out of 10 days were huge!) We loved it. My husband would go boogie boarding and have so much fun. We really enjoyed the waves, as it was the first time we had been to a resort where there was any wave action. However, if you are a weak swimmer or don't like turbulence you can walk to the left of the resort and there is much calmer water - although this is not technically on the resort so you have to take that into consideration.

The Pool: There are two pools in the resort. There is the main pool, which runs into the pool bar. The pool bar is very fun and they have a large selection of drinks which are different than the other bars. Service is quick and friendly.
If you want a more quiet environment, you want the cascade pool, which is lovely. That's where the swim-up suites are (which many of our guests had, and are awesome!). That's the location where we had our wedding reception, which was so pretty with the moonlight off the water and the lights of the pool -not to mention the private bar and fantastic service!

The Food: Each morning you had three choices: the breakfast buffet, which was amazing, the lobster hut, which we heard was nice, and room service, which we never tried. All I can say is that you can't go wrong with the buffet - it had everything that you could possible want, from an omelette station to bread station, to cheese buffet, to numerous other dishes (yogurt, smoothies, juice bar, etc). For lunch, you have the buffet and "The Grill" which is right by the pool and had great food. You also have "Las Olas" which is a grill right on the beach - we opted for this many times! YUM!
For dinner, you have 9 a la carte restaurants to choose from - we did Spice (our fav!!) 3 times. You can't beat the chicken Pad Thai, Thai Chicken Rice, and the Sweet and Sour Pork. Not to mention the delicious appetizers! It was fantastic, and comparable to Thai at home. We did the Grill, which was good as well, and Toscana, the Italian spot, which was lovely - Small portions, but still good! No complaints about the food at all, because room service is available 24hours and is quick and tasty.

Wedding Coordination: We had Livia Dixon as our wedding coordinator, and she was sweet and lovely. There were absolutely no hic-ups and we could tell that she took our wedding very seriously and wanted us to have a great experience. As soon as we met her we had no concerns. We were so grateful to have her - she was there for our entire wedding and managed the whole thing down to the last detail. We would recommend her to anyone!

Photography: The resort provided us with their own wedding photographer for the ceremony, which is Beach Wedding Studio. Although we were happy with their services, we were very happy that we had hired our own outside company, Photo Souvenir, who actually used to be the photographers for the Excellence Punta Cana Resort. Apparently, Beach Wedding Studios is a new company that is owned by Excellence Resorts, so Photo Souvenirs was no longer needed, which was a new development throughout our wedding planning process. We really can't express how happy we are to have hired Photo Souvenirs. Severine was our photographer, and she was so creative, inspired and innovative with the shots that she took. At the end, it was like she was a guest at our wedding - she met everyone, made herself a part of the group and produced incredible shots of our special day. We had hired her for 5 hours and she actually stayed about 6 1/2 hours at no extra charge. She speaks fluently in English, French and Spanish. The problems with the resort photographers (Beach Wedding Studio) were that they didn't speak much English at all and their prices were slightly more expensive.

We would recommend Excellence Punta Cana to anyone looking for a high-class vacation, and a place to truly relax in luxury. A+

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lamackay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We thank you for having taken time to post a review about your experience at Excellence Punta Cana and for choosing our hotel as your destination wedding. We wish you well in this especial step in your lives.

It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients expectations. We'll extend your compliments to our staff and most particularly to Livia.

At our hotel we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another family vacation or romantic getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile


My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous 3 weeks at Excellence Punta Cana where we celebrated our 35 year wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday, We have been to many hotels all over the world and this is the best we have stayed in, From the moment we arrived until the moment we left all staff were absolutely fantastic some we rember by name are Pauline and Roberto at front desk, Dario at beach, Robert and Wimen at beach bar, Armando,Jhonathon,Dyinera,Leiby all from entertainment team, Jose Antonio,Victor,Christian, lederkiss,Santa, Luiz from restuarants, The food in all restaurants is amazing and plentiful and anyone who thinks differently must have a serious problem with there appetite, All drinks are excellent which also includes international brands, The beach,pools and grounds are also amazing, We stayed in top floor 9208 which was spotlessly clean and had a beautiful garden view.
Many thanks to all the Excellence staff for making our holiday so wonderful, See you all again in 2015.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

...as I read over many of the other reviews, I must add that the gardens and grounds of Excellence are just fantastic. What a beautiful place to explore. Birds, exotic plants, water features and design come together to create an eden to enjoy. Compliments to the grounds crew for the pride and joy that you apparently take in your labor.....and that goes for the entire staff at the resort. I read many reviews before arriving at
Excellence and I have to call "BS" on the negative post. Take your sunscreen though....its unaffordable at the local shop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We loved just about everything about this resort! We booked through a travel agent, and this is where he frequents when in the DR. So, we knew we were in for a treat. The hotel is about an hour away from the airport, and our transfer company was VIP. They put us in an air conditioned min-bus/van, and we were very comfortable for the ride. Our guide made it very exciting and interesting. We actually even stopped at a "gas station" to pick up a beer on the way to the hotel. We passed many hotels, and actually dropped off another couple at a popular hotel that had a lot of spring breakers, and were glad we were staying far away from the major towns and "partying". We were looking for an adult experience, and that is exactly what we got!

When we arrived, we were greeted with champagne and wet towels. It was wonderful and very refreshing. We were escorted through the huge open-air lobby and we headed to the check in desk. Each couple was greeted separately and everything was exactly as we had requested. We had four couples on the trip, and had all requested rooms close to one another, and that is exactly what we got. After this, we went to the bar to get the trip started! They offered us "mamajuana" which is the native drink, and so we all had to have our initiation. *Advice* Take it easy your first day! You want to ENJOY your trip. We did not take it easy our first day, and we were all hating the fact we didn't by about 8:30 that night. This is a very ROMANTIC resort, and you definitely don't want to waste the beauty and splendor by being hungover each day.

The second day we headed out to the beach, and it was beautiful! The water is not crystal blue here. You will be on the Atlantic side of the island. However, you are not on a crowded American beach. The sand is white, and there is a private cove to the left of the resort. We spent most of our time by the pool, because that is where the bar is, and we enjoyed meeting new people by the pool. Also, every hour there are activities if you want to join in that fun as well!

The food is not five star, but it is not bad either! Every night before dinner, we ordered champagne to our room, and we would have "happy hour" with our other friends while we got ready. There is a mini bar in your room that they keep stocked, should it run low. You can make drinks if you'd like, but we didn't spend too much time in our room. There is an Italian restaurant, a French restaurant, Japanese/Asian, The Lobster House, which is seafood, and traditional fare, and a few others. Remember, this is adults only, so no children running around and crying at dinner or the pool. So, for us, that was a wonderful bonus!

If you decide to do any excursions, it is worth it! We did a catamaran tour, and we got to experience the Caribbean Sea by snorkeling, sailing, and we also got to play water basketball. The VIP company also set this up for us from the hotel lobby.

Last, but not least, the service here is incredible. They are there to serve you and make you happy. Every person there is smiling, happy, and willing to do whatever you need. One morning, I needed to make an emergency call home, and I couldn't get the phone from the room to work properly. So, I frantically went down to the lobby and Roberto allowed me to call. He said it didn't matter how long it took, I could use the phone. The fact that they never charged me for the call, and allowed me to call from their personal line was very appreciated. In fact, Roberto continued to check on us throughout the week to make sure everything was ok.

Should you book here, it is worth it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would definitely go back if given the opportunity. We met a lot of interesting and fun couples and groups, and very much enjoyed the beauty of "adults only".

*Tips:
-The maids love Jolly Ranchers, candy, or any other little tips.
-We began tipping the service members at the beginning of the trip, and didn't tip as much toward the end of the trip, and couldn't tell a huge difference. However, just remember, they live on their tips and that is why they are so happy to serve you.
-Take it easy on your first day with the alcohol. Pace yourself. All-inclusive means free alcohol, but you want to remember your trip.
-Go on an excursion.
-If they have dinner on the beach one night, GO! This was amazing.
-Go to the Circus show, it was a lot of fun.
-Check out the spa if you have some extra cash, it was glorious!
-Request, request, request. They can only say "no" if you ask.
-Excellence club upgrade is offered to you. I never saw many perks of this, but if that's for you, go for it. Honestly, I do not think it's worth the money.

Room Tip: Buildings 11-12 are far enough away from the pool that it isn't very loud and crowded. Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our first time staying at an all inclusive resort. We were meeting 2 other couples we hadn't seen in 1 1/2 years, so it was a reunion of best friends. The whole experience was wonderful! Receiving Champagne as we arrived set the tone for the week - a staff who was always there to help in any way. We were truly pampered. Our room was luxurious with a private patio & the swim up pool just outside our room. The large selection of restaurants (8) was great. We did not need reservations & we were seated promptly every time any time of day. The choices of menu items were vast and the food was excellent! Whether we were by the pool, in the pool, on the beach, in the lobby, etc., staff members offered drinks, pizza, etc. Exercise is important, so I loved taking the Zumba & Aqua Zumba classes everyday. Heather Stewart was the guest instructor and she was great! - very friendly & a lot of fun! The beach was wide & long. We loved the evening entertainment. It was a dream vacation for us!

Room Tip: Our room was by the swim up bar. It closed at 6pm, so no evening noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
13.8 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#24 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,737 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing