We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
A TripAdvisor Member
Colchester, CT
12
Reviewed February 25, 2004

My wife and I were here from feb 14th - 21st. We had an outstanding time, and will definately return. As other's have said, the ride from the airport is long, and bumpy - 1 hour at least. But that didn't bother us, and it was fun to see the countryside and how the dominican people live. The resort is just breathtakingly beautiful. Huge marbal foyer, all open air. Immaculate grounds with dense plantings and flowering trees. Definately a paradise appearence. Beach is equally beautiful. It is the atlantic so there are waves - 2-5 feet and constant. As I am from the east coast, I found it very safe and enjoyed the surf. The red flags were out all week, but lots of people swam.
Just a few hundred yards to the right, the water gets very calm, perfect for leisure soaking, and even snorkling, We saw many fish, cool coral and sea sponges etc... and even a huge conch. Very warm water, and a nice turquoise blue color. Our room was excellent, building 3 3rd floor. I wrote a letter in spanish a week before our arrival requesting this room type and was accomodated. Ocean view, very quite location, king size bed. Our only room problem was the screen was constantly off track, it was fixed as we requested, but fell off again the next day.
No mold and my wife is very sensitive, marbal floors, plenty to space.
$3 every day kept it very clean. Minibar always re stocked. Would not recommend any buildings by the pool bar, unless you like to party. Food was good. I never ate anything and thought, you must taste this it's perfect, but was happy with all selections. Besides, if you don't like it, send it back and get something else. With all the options available, if you can't be satisfied with the food selection, you have a problem. Drinks were great and tipping is not looked for, but greatly appreciated. We brough 125 ones, and was happy to distribute them. The people are very polite and work very hard to please you. No problems with communication either. Bring cash and shop at the mercados next to the resort. Items are much cheaper than the vendors that set up in the resort a few nights a week. Overall, although not perfect, was worth a five star rating for our experience. Will definately go back. Feel free to contact with questions.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,319)
There are newer reviews for Excellence Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12,509 - 12,515 of 13,319 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2004

I completely agree with the Ottawa review of Feb. 22. We're from Toronto and were there Feb 12-19. We too were in bldg 10, and may have talked while by the pool bar opposite our rooms. Would the Ottawa person e-mail me, and we can confer on more details. Loved the Thursday night dinner on the beach - anyone going down, don't miss it. We only really felt some bugs the day after a rain - they were actually itchier when we got back home. We loved this place; it's top-notch in hospitality and they all really try to make you feel so welcome. Not a lot to do on the island away from the resort, but there's plenty to do on the resort. Internet services are $5.00 US for 20 min. (or free if you have Excellence Club - too costly for us and not worth the extra $100/day). I'm ready to go back!

Thank TOfoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lexington, KY
218
Reviewed February 24, 2004

We honeymooned here in June of 2003, and we are a young couple in our early-mid 20's. I consider myself to be somewhat picky or "high-maintenance" if you will, and I was SO happy with Secrets. WE had a 7night stay and it was the most relaxing vacation ever. Loved the food, the drinks, the pool, teh beach, the beach massages, teh horseback riding, loved it all. Our favorite restaurants were probably the French and the Mexican. The breakfast/lunch buffet was always good with so many choices you shouldn't have to worry that they won't have something you like. You may need to get up early and save floats for the pool or the shaded chairs/beds. They may be taken early especially if the resort is crowded. Teh nightly shows are fun, if you don't expect a Broadway production you will be satisfied. The casino wasn't as big as expected. Free internet was a nice thing, but sometimes you have to wait for use of the computer. Duo massages on the beach is a MUST! The drinks were better from the lobby bars, versus the pool. But still all pretty good! The coco loco, which they serve in teh coconuts, looks tasty but is very strong. But of course, it's all-inclusive so if you don' tlike a drink then get another one! One night we ate something at the texas grill that upset our stomachs but it wasn't a huge deal and we were fine the rest of the time.

The ride to the resort was somewhat long, and I am prone to car-sickness, but I was fine. And if you get a fun driver and passengers the time passes quickly. Dont' be surprised to see herds of animals crossing the roads or other surprising things . Our driver stopped along a couple of road-side stands to allow us to shop for jewelry or get cold beers. At first I was alarmed when he stopped but it was fine.

The rooms were very nice, we had garden view and it was fine with us, we didn't think the ocean view were worth the extra price, even after seeing them, since they are really set off from the ocean anyway. beds are hard, but what do you expect in a foreign country? We took bug spray to use at night, but it didn't seem to be a problem. They spray the beach daily, which is a bit annoying and stinky right aftterwards, but it goes away quickly and helped to prevent bites!

Overall loved it and hope to return one day! We spoke with many couples there who have been to other 5-stars such as sandalls and they said Secrets was just as nice considering the lower cost.

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2004

Loved everything about the resort, except the room!!!! A total screw was made on behalf of the resort as to our room type!!!! Better, management was very snotty about this error and blamed travel agent and told us rooms were overbooked and 50 people had to stay elsewhere, that's the resorts fault, not the travel agents. Our first time to the Dominican Republic, will go again, loved the island, the people, the food, and the resort, except they need more king sized beds in all the rooms, not just a few. We were just there Feb. 15-22,2004. Would recommend the island and stay there again,but maybe at another resort next time.

2  Thank fredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
216
Reviewed February 21, 2004

We stayed at Secrets Excellence from Feb. 14 to 21. The ride from the airport took approx. 1 hour and 10 minutes with a quick stop at another hotel. For most of the ride, the road was ok and there is a stretch for about 10 minutes closer to the hotel which is quite pot-holed but our driver did an excellent job missing them. The resort is very impressive as you drive up the circular drive, past the gardens and flamingos and enter the marble lobby. We checked in around 6:30 p.m and did not have to wait. We were given a glass of champagne while we signed in. The Excellence Club was offered to us but we did not take it and don`t regret it either. Our room was in building 10 on the 3rd floor - beautiful cathedral ceiling and lovely large room with canopy bed and marble bathroom. There was ample space to store our clothing for the week. The room as well as the grounds are immaculate and there are always people cleaning the public areas. Our maid service and bar refill were done every day at more or less the same time. If you leave a note, the barman will fill your fridge with whatever you prefer. We tipped with $1 bills and that was much appreciated by staff who work hard and do not earn large salaries. On our first day there was a brief problem with water pressure but it only lasted about 10 minutes. In terms of weather there was one day of rain until about 2 pm and the staff were quick to set up entertainment in the theatre. The rest of the time the temperature was in the 80ies but I was happy to have brought a wrap for evening because with the breeze and after having been in the sun all day, I felt a little chill. The liquor is all premium quality - Absolut, Chivas, Johnny Walker Black, Grand Marnier, etc. Oscar and Sandra who run the bar outdoors, at the back of the theatre mix some fine drinks. The Spanish Coffee was especially nice after dinner. The restaurants were good - our favorites were the Mediterranean - because we love seafood and they had a limited salad bar and the continental cuisine restaurant near the theatre. Our only comment overall about the food is that they could serve more vegetables and salads and have healthier snacks pool-side rather than, or in addition to, the deep fried onion rings and potato puffs that were available. The breakfast choices were excellent and enough variety for all tastes - my favorites were the fresh fruit - passion fruit, papaya, mango, etc. with yogurt flavours which we do not get here. My husband enjoyed his made to order omelettes with lots of choices of fixings.
Champagne and bloody marys were also available. Lost money in the casino but that is nobody`s fault but my own but enjoyed it anyway!
There were two kinds of shows - some nights it was professional entertainment - the Michael Jackson impersonator was great - and other nights were audience participation events which we enjoyed a little less. We only made it to the disco once - it opened at 11 which was a little late for us although we enjoyed the night we went. The beach is lovely and wide and as we found out by walking to the next resort, not all beaches are as nice as at Secrets. It is true you need to go out by 8 in the morning if you want a place to sit by the pool under a palapa but this was not an issue if you wanted a spot by the beach. But there were lots of lounge chairs for everyone. Security was not an issue - we used our in room safe where you set the combination. We would definitely go back - excellent value for money and as we understand from a driver who did not work at the hotel, the best place to stay in Punta Cana.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2004

Three couples went together to Secrets Excellence. One of the couples (me and my husband ) were there last year and recommended to our friends that they join us this year. We had a wonderful time. We all agreed that absolutely nothing was missing or could have been improved upon. We are all pretty discriminating travellers and if we agreed that this was a terrific vacation, then that's saying a great deal. The food, service, entertainment, rooms, pools,beach, and activities were first rate. My husband and I saw an improvement over last years' operation and management has everytying running smoothly. Equally importantly, the staff don't stop smiling, greeting you, and all seemed very happy that we were there. That's very refreshing! We went horsebackriding, bicycling, and dancing under the stars every night and noone was bothered by bugs or bites. The average age of the vacationers appeared to be mostly under 40, but there were activities for older visitors, too. Everyone felt comfortable.We highly recommend this trip.

1  Thank FriendlyNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Naugatuck, CT
11
Reviewed February 21, 2004

We (a group of 6) went to Secrets the week of Jan. 31 to Feb.7th.- I read the reviews before we went on out trip, so I was prepared. Yes, the trip from the airport to the resort in an hour long and there are many potholes, but once you arrive at the resort you will forget all about your ride. We were greeted at the airport by our travel representitive who stop and got us a drink for the ride from a near by bowling alley.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,312 reviews
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
13.8 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,019 reviews
1.4 mi away
Excellence El Carmen
Excellence El Carmen
#3 of 5 in Uvero Alto
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $281 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing