We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just returned from hiosting a destination wedding here - the resort easily lived up to it's name - Excellence. Staff were very accomodating. Rooms were great. Liked the breakfast buffet & numerous a la carte restaurants. Wedding planner did a superb job. Photographer was fantastic - made sure the photos created lasting memories & captured the memories.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,602 - 6,608 of 13,404 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel and I have never felt so welcome, after a long flight and a 45 minute coach journey to get to the hotel, I was greeted with a cold towel and a cocktail. They took my bags to my room while it took a maximum of 5 minutes to check in. When I got to the room it was perfect. Really clean and spacious, the restaurant was very 'airy' open plan and clean the hotel staff were always happy to help. The spa staff were great and relaxing people to be around. 24 hour room service. Me and a friend ordered 2 hickey burgers with chips and 1 of each desert off the menu. These were brought up without hesitation within 10-15 minutes. The pools are always clean and the white sandy beach is perfect. There is loads to do at this hotel including the spa, the sports area, and night club. Would deffintly recommend this place. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marischa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I am writting this review especially for Europeans who want to travel to Excellence Punta Cana! Do not hesidate at all is an excellent place! The hotel is almost perfect, the staff is very fiendly and inspite all the reviews about bad food that i had read the food was good! Especially the bufet, and the breakfast was the best breakfast i have seen in a hotel! Fresh juices, local tropical fruits!!! It was our honeymoon and it was like a dream that came true!!!! Absolutely amazing place! The sea was a bit rough but we went on January so it depends on the season i suppose!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinaCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is the best resort by far! They will do anything to make you happy. Let's start with the restaurants; NO RESERVATIONS NEEDED, this is great..you show up and you eat! Mexican was by far the best and followed by the Asian! Italian was also good. The rooms are very nice, cathedral ceilings, jacuzzi in the room and free 26oz bottle of rum, vodka...ect...They will even replace it if you drink it all! The pools are always clean and the water was never cold. You get 30 mins a day free of horse back riding, which is very fun!! If you like to work out...well the gym is amazing so you can do just that! There is also 2 perrots that are there for you to view and even pick-up if you dare!!! The red one was our favorite!!!Also there was a great waitress at the Mexican her name is Dolores and she was the best I have ever met!!! Hope this review helps you all!!

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Love t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived to a crowded airport but since we had paid online for tourist tax were taken straight to front of queue. The 50 minute private transfer with VIP travelwas uneventful. We were welcomed with champaigne and offered an upgrade to club room. We asked to be shown around and decided to upgrade.The pre dinner drink in the evening was very civilsed.
We stayed in block 10 with a garden view which was just what we wanted, quiet with good view.
We would not have liked rooms facing ocean too noisey.
The staff were outstanding and very attentive and did not expect tips but were grateful if we did.
I note some peoples comments on food which I supose down to expectations. I enjoy fine dining and go to many michelin star restaurants but for the price paid for this holiday could not expect that quality of food.
However we did enjoy the food very much. Our favourites were spice and the french and Italian restaurants.
The free horse riding was an enjoyable hour.
We went on no other trips, but did walk along the beach and discovered beaches that had safe swimming. On other reviews people had commented on floats in the pool which we discovered they were wanted for floating drinks trays. The swim up bar was very lively but other areas were thankfully less so.
The resort is a long way from any life but if you dont want to go on trips or shop I would recomend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscarben250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Excellence Punta Cana in July 2010 for our honeymoon. It was our first time visiting the Dominican Republic and I am looking forward to returning some day. We booked the hotel sight unseen (other than the internet photos) and were very pleased with the accommodations and amenties. Never having stayed at an all-inclusive resort, we were sceptical about what would be available to us as far as dining and were very pleased with the variety and quality of cuisine. We met and befriended some of the locals on staff which made our stay that much more memorable. Our room was very comfortable and I highly recommend taking advantage of room service for breakfast on your private balcony. The entire staff, from the concierge to housekeeping were courteous, friendly and always ready to please. The beach was beautiful and the views breathtaking. Don't miss the 'Dominican Night' show ... fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrslawrence2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Excellence 04/12-04/18 for our annual anniversary trip. The resort itself is cozy, intimate and perfect for a relaxing couples getaway. This is our second trip to Punta Cana (first at Paradisus Punta Cana) but first stay at Excellence. We were intially attracted to the adults only ambiance of the resort.

While it is a long drive from the airport (one hour) it was worth it. They are in the process of building a new highway to make travel to and from the airport easier. It is very close to the mountains and from the front gate of the resort, you can see the outlines of the mountains.

The service is impeccable. Everyone is so nice and accomodating. The staff made the effort to learn your name. There is a very good variety of food, several restaurants to pick from and all were good. The entertainment staff was top notch and kept everyone entertained throughout our stay. It never felt over crowded or rushed while we were there.

We had a swim up suite which was very nice, but we spent most of our time on the beach and at the main pool as there was always a palapa or beach bed available.

We throughly enjoyed Dominican night on the beach with the food, music and dancers.

The staff cleaned the room twice a day (turn down service at night) and when ever you called the front desk, your needs were handled immediately. I received several mosquito bites while we were there and staff provided me with a home remedy to stop the nagging itching. I was amazed to learn that white rum rubbed on a mosquito bite will stop the itching immediately.

All in all, we are definately going back to Excellence and may even consider one of the sister resorts in another location. Will definately tell others about this resort as a wonderful, low-key relaxing location for a trip.

Room Tip: If possible, oceanview is a good room to have. The ocean is beautiful and to wake up to that view e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robinson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Excellence El Carmen
Excellence El Carmen
#3 of 5 in Uvero Alto
1,682 reviews
17.6 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $273 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing