We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been to the Excellence Resort in Punta Cana several years in a row. The staff are very friendly and as helpful as you could ask for. The beauty of the Dominican is personified at the Excellence. We love every trip we have taken and plan to return for many years to come.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,813
    2,820
    973
    418
    286
See reviews for
801
9,191
109
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the 5th all inclusive resort that my husband and I have stayed at and by far the best. The facilities, staff, and beauty of the resort were top notch. Excellence is much better than other all inclusives as you are able to eat at the a la carte restaurants every night with no reservation and no limit. You are able to get breakfast and lunch at the a la cartes as well. This makes the food at this all inclusive much better than at others. The staff is truly unbelievable--they do not miss a beat and go out of their way to make your experience excellent.

Some things you need to know...

1. The Beach/Ocean--the beach is fabulous. Beautiful water and beautiful sand. The water is rough, it was red flags during our entire stay. If you are looking for calm waters for ocean swimming this is not the resort for you. We just wanted a beautiful beach and water so it was perfect for us.

2. Location--the resort is an hour drive from the airport. There is no shopping or entertainment close by. The resort has all of this so you never need to leave the resort. Excursion options are plentiful.

3. Food--the food in the buffet is not very good. We ended up eating breakfast, lunch and dinner at the a la carte restaurants and found the food to be fabulous. Our favorites for dinnner were "The Grill"' and the French restaurant. There is an open air grill on the beach that has daily lunch specials--always good!

4. Beds--The only reason I did not give the resort a "5" rating is because of the bed. Our bed was rock hard. I could not sleep and was literally in pain (back, hips, neck) by the second day. I asked for some extra sheets and slept on the couch for the rest of our trip. If you are a very sound sleeper or like a very firm bed you will probably be ok. I have very young kids and was really looking forward to good nights sleep. Unfortunately, I did not get it.

5. Gym and Jogging Track--Excellent gym facilities and a gravel jogging track through a botanical garden. I loved using the track during our stay. Very nice touch!

6. Spa--beautiful spa and the staff here is excellent. The service prices are pretty expensive but they run daily specials. Watch for the specials and book then.

7. The Crowd--this resort seemed to be an older crowd. My husband and I are in our mid-30s and were some of the youngest people there. Most couples were over 50. If you're looking for a party atmosphere this is not your resort. We were interested in relaxation so found it perfect!

I would love to go back again, but would need to know that the beds are improved. Please, Excellence improve the comfort of your beds, then this would be the PERFECT package!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyC_IA633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Great Things: We stayed in a junior swim up suite in Excellence Club. It was worth it because I could always just pop back into my room to use the bathroom and we had chairs outside on our patio right in front of the pool. It was quiet and relaxing. The omelette station was the best! Homemade salsa was awesome. We at at every restaurant and surprisingly Spice was our favorite. Los Olas for lunch (it is the beach side grill). The burgers are really good. We were never without a drink... We would tip a $20 at the pool and had amazing service all that day! I only used the 24 room service once, except I always asked them to bring bottled water daily. The NOT so Good: DO NOT USE TAP WATER TO BRUSH YOUR TEETH! I did and caught a brief but horrible overnight stomach bug :( which later turned into a UTI.) Use bottle water for teeth brushing! Do not bother making conversation as most of the employees speak very little English. The shower water felt gross and smelled like reclaimed water (sprinkler/golf course water), so you never felt clean and my hair felt gross. Overall it was a good trip. Do not order the turkey panini off the room service menu....tasted strange. The bed was VERY hard. It is merely impossible to not have a few hiccups when traveling abroad.

Room Tip: Junior Swim Up - Excellence Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurabeth32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great resort where service is their number one priority. You need about 10 days to settle in and find the right food and drinks for your taste. The beach is first class and the pools are very nice. The nightly shows are also good and give you something to do. Highly recommend this resort!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldino v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We came to Excellence in late August/early September, during the off-peak season, and it was quiet and relaxing. The resort was less than half-full, and we truly felt like the we had the place to ourselves.

After the drive from the airport (about an hour), we were warmly welcomed with champagne as we headed to check in. Check in was a breeze, and the open air lobby area is gorgeous. The rooms were nice; quite large, with an unobstructed view of the ocean and beach from the balcony. After one day there, we realized that the balcony doors must be closed all the way in order for the air conditioner to start in the room. Interesting feature. Housekeeping could not have been more lovely--non-intrusive but helpful when you needed them. I requested more coffee and received it immediately. When we did not want to be disturbed, we were given our space.

The grounds were very nice, and the pool area is large. Due to the lack of crowds, we had the pool practically to ourselves, as well as the lounge chairs. The beach was great too; there was an ample amount of space and lounge chairs, and was somwhat private. The surf was rough when we visited, so we mainly swam in the pools.

There are vendors on the premises that visit. They are somewhat agressive with their selling tactics, but friendly enough. At first glance appear to be resort empolyees.

All of the restaurants were great. We particularly loved the Lobster House, and ended up there two nights in a row. There were plently of choices. The breakfast buffett was wonderful! So many juices (watermelon juice, yum!).

We lost money in the casino (of course), but liked the fact that they had one. It is small, and very 1970s-gaudy, or, if you prefer, retro-not-so-chic. It was cool in a kitschy kind of way. I think the slot machines still spt out quarters.

They offered a lot of activities like Pilates, Yoga, and Spanish lessons) plus some fun night activities like karaoke, and a Michael Jackson impersonator who was actually quite good. They love MJ in the DR. We were also free to just relax in peace if we wanted. My husband did take an ATV tour on the beach that he said was interesting.

It is a far drive from the airport. But we had a fabulous time there.

Room Tip: Close the Balcony and romm doors all the way, otherwise the AC will not turn on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaBurladdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Feb 3 - Feb 8th My wife and I just recently returned from our trip here. It was so relaxing. The staff was nice, polite, friendly, and went out of their way to make us happy. There were staff cleaning and doing upkeep all the time. This resort was consistently working at maintaining a perfect atmosphere. We never wanted for food or drink. I am perplexed by the reviews that knock the food here. There were some that weren't to my taste, but the quality was always top notch. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I vacationed here with my sister and her husband from Jan 31 to Feb 9.

I loved the beach here and thought one of the best things about it was the fact that there were no other resorts around. If you're concerned about the rough surf, you can find a spot without breakers to bob around on the right facing the ocean just a few yards away from the resort boundary - and within sight of the place we sat all week. If you walk a few minutes more there's an even bigger area that's calm. We brought our mask and snorkels, but there's not much to see here. Be careful of the coral! There were people riding the waves with boogie boards everyday and it was fun to watch them. My husband and brother-in-law both used them one day but weren't able to catch the waves most of the time.

We took advantage of the 30 min horse back ride on the beach that is provided by the resort. I haven't been on a horse since I was a kid (so 50 years?) but the horses are pretty small and I enjoyed it but wouldn't want to do it for any longer. We contemplated going on a snorkeling excursion, but heard we'd have to travel more than an hour each way so decided against. I recommend walking the grounds, they are beautifully maintained and lovely to see. The flamingoes in the "Ecological Park" were a nice touch I thought.

The food was fine, for the most part. I did think the meal I had at Agave was perhaps cooked at another site and then reheated at the restaurant. The red wine was pretty good and if you don't like what's poured, they'll offer other options. We enjoyed the espresso martinis at the bar in the lobby. I think the quality of drinks was very high and they certainly were plentiful. We were offered the "drink of the day" every morning on the beach around 10:00.

Towards the end of our stay they put out floats in the pool and we had no trouble finding ones to use. I enjoyed my time in the pool, but the only day I burned was the day I lounged on the pool float. Coincidence?

We stayed in Room 6107, that's in the arm of building 6 that faces a pond. It had a view of the mountains (as well as a work building that wasn't quite as beautiful) and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony before getting ready for dinner. It was quiet and peaceful. The other 2 arms seemed to be a bit noiser - one faces the elevator and the other is along the staff access route (lots of carts rumbling along there). Bldg 6 is closest to the restaurants, lobby and beach/pool access. A very nice touch was the paper the turn down service left every night detailing what was happening the next day - just like you get on a cruise. It cracked up my husband that they listed sunrise an hour late every day.

One huge thing to note is that if you have a gluten allergy please bring it to the attention of management immediately and ask to speak to the head chef. My sister informed guest services of her condition, was given a card to show to the wait staff at all of the restaurants, but was made sick twice during the stay. Once management was consulted, they made sure all the rest of her meals (once she was well enough to eat that is) were really gluten free. They also bent over backwards to try and make it up to my sister.

I loved our stay here but feel I should mention the property is revealing its age a bit. The day I arrived, I was surprised to see cracks (mended) in the marble steps and in the bathroom as well as other places that either had been or needed to be repaired. After a couple of days I stopped noticing those kinds of things, I think because the beauty of Punta Cana and the excellent service were so impressive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank claytonleague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,290 reviews
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
13.8 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,900 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Savannahville Tours N.V., Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing