We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is an all inclusive adults only resort that was wonderful. My favorite part were the beds with big pillows directly on the beach. The excellence club is worth the extra money. The exclusive section on the beach is fabulous with outstanding service...Antonio, you rock! They serve you drinks all day without fail as well as food from time to time - they give you towels, suntan lotion, wet clothes, games, books, anything you desire. And the Excellence club lounge has food that you can't find anywhere else - higher end of cuisine. We love ocean waves so having the larger waves was awesome as most of the other resorts there are no waves and the water is calmer. Definitely, a great pick!

Room Tip: Definitely a room in the Excellence Club! The additional service can't be beat.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,319)
There are newer reviews for Excellence Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,952 - 6,958 of 13,319 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

The purpose of our trip was to relax and unwind and that is exactly what we were able to do with the help of the staff at Excellence. We had a great room on the top floor with a private pool outside on a deck overlooking the ocean. Totally worth the upgrade! Even though we were not on our honeymoon, we did stay in a honeymoon suite and the room was really large with a beautiful tub and view. The transportation from the airport to Excellence was easy to navigate with VIP and we were greeted after about an hour ride with smiles and convenience. We checked in and were able to leave our things and scope out the resort and grab some lunch. While laying by the pool we never had to get up for a drink because the service was incredible. Try a Coco Loco, delicious!! They also walked around with personal pizza's around lunch time in case you didn't want to go to the cafe to eat. I loved The Excellence Times which is a newsletter that is left on your bed each night. It gives you the next day's activities and specials as well as restaurant and bar information. We were able to sit together and decide what we wanted to do the next day. by Being in the Excellence Club (another upgrade) we had access to a private beach but the entire beach was fantastic and really well groomed. The ocean was clean and the temperature was perfect (1st week of December) We also had an in suite bath made for us. A spa concierge came to the room and prepped our bathtub with oils, candles and rose petals. It was very romantic and is worth the $35! My only issue was that the elevator was broken our entire time there and the stairway is not covered so when it rained the steps were very slippery and I fell a few times. The food was ok, I would give it a 3 out of 5. Our favorite restaurants were Oregano & The Grill for dinner. We would totally reccomend Excellence to others traveling to the Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at Excellence for our honeymoon and had a blast. We are easy going people and know that no matter where you stay or how much you pay not everything is perfect. Also sometimes you just have to let the small things go. All in all this is a wonderful resort with a wonderful staff. Everyone was so nice and always willing to help or get you anything you need.

Room:
We stayed in the Excellence Club Ocean View suite. It was a wonderful room with a great view. We were on the second floor so it wasn't a clear ocean view but you could see it. The little window thing in the shower did not bother us. Our room was always cleaned and done well. We left a tip every day for the housekeeper (they work hard and deserve a little extra). We loved our room, the mini bar was always stocked. Bed is firm however no too bad, if you are a super plush bed person than you may not care for the bed.

Rood Service:
The late night room service is lacking in good options and usually took a long time to get the food. If you make the 11 pm cut off you get a lot more options and is much better.

Restaurants:
The food 9 times out of 10 was good. The dinner restaurants were great, our favorite was Spice, Oregano and The Grill. Oregano is open until 2 am so we went here for our late night snack as it is better and quicker than the room service. The morning breakfast buffet was always stocked with many food items, if you don't like one thing there are plenty more to pick from. We found it hard to get coffee in the morning buffet but if you can flag someone down than they tend to keep your cup full.

Beach:
The beach on the whole property is awesome!! The beach beds in the Excellence club were awesome. We are more of beach people than pool people so we went down every morning and made sure to reserve one of the large beach beds. They were simply amazing!! The only thing that we didn't like is you are really supposed to wonder too far down the beach as it can be unsafe and we like to go on long walks. Not a deal breaker though, we just turned around and walked the other way. The shops on either side of the beach are neat and you can get some good souvenirs from them. The beach had lots of shade for people like me who am fair skinned and need shade.

Pool:
We didn't spend much time here but the few times we did we enjoyed it. The pool was always clean. Along with the beach the pool has lots of available shade for people who like it.

Bars:
The lobby bar was a good fun place to hang out. Most nights they had some live music going on before and after the nightly show. The Disco was pretty fun especially if you like to dance. They drinks are good and they were strong.

Tours:
We did the dune buggy tour through Prieto Tours and had an amazing time. I would recommend this to people looking for some good fun (caution: you will get very muddy). Also be careful who you book this through we saw some different buggy tours where you had to drive on the same road as the cars and they are crazy drivers. We also did a Catamaran tour through Prieto with snorkeling, power snorkeling and snuba. This was also so so so much fun!

Things to keep in mind:
The hotel is a little over an hour away from the airport and the roads are rough so if you get motion sickness you might want a Dramamine. I would say the Excellence club is worth the extra money. You get a speedy check in and a lounge with food and a private bar. Upgraded mini bar in your room and a private beach area.

Also this is not a new hotel so there are going to be some things you will notice "need work". These things don't bother us so we didn't even think twice about them.

We had an amazing time and could not have asked for a better honeymoon!! Please send me an email if you have questions.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Excellence club and ask for a room on the second or third floor if you like a good vi...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shellyskygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our first all-inclusive trip and we now say there's no other way to go!
We just came back and loved it.

Food - Dinner restaurants were great. Spice was our favorite.. Agave was good. Oregano was awesome. The breakfast buffet at Toscana was delicious! Room service was usually within the half hour and good.

Room - Loved it! The rain shower was awesome, as was the tub. I recommend getting a ground floor room garden view - it's private and has it's own backyard with a hammock to lay in. Always clean.

Beach - The one part we wished was different .. Atlantic color and rough waves.. If you're trying to do some snorkeling in crystal clear water or other water activities, this isn't your place.
The pool and landscape of the resort make up for it though.

Service - Everyone was SO kind. From the moment we stepped on the resort, we felt welcome and that all the staff was friendly. Hector was our favorite bartender outside at the Cafe Kafe!
One night, one of us was sick and had to leave before our dinner was served at the French Restaurant. Without even asking, our meal showed up to our door! They had packaged it up and made sure we received it.

Excursions / Activities - Horseback riding was fun. Just a half hour, enough to make your butt hurt. They walk so slow .. you're pretty much on a pony ride but the scenery is pretty.
The ATV / Dunebuggy Tour - Really nervous as we were the only couple on the tour.. but looking back it was pretty cool. Bought some coffee and chocolate, saw the caves and mountains / river, but when we went through the town little kids were throwing rocks at me.. big rocks. I really didn't like that part too much...

Entertainment - The Perfect Match show is hilarious, definitely go to that. America show is pretty good. The disco was always empty when we went but we started our own party anyhow.

The resort was so well kept - Everywhere you look someone is cleaning something, checking the pH of the pool, etc. Overall, we loved our stay! We would definitely consider returning!
Booked through BookIt.com and was SUCH a great value, so worth the money!

Room Tip: Ground floor Garden views are private and have a backyard with hammock!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoelyB2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a great time at this resort! The staff is very courteous, friendly and helpful. The resort was beautiful and clean, the staff worked around the clock to clean up and prepare for the next day. We dined at all of the restaurants except the Mediterranean and the French ones. Spice, the sushi place, was our favorite, as well as the breakfast buffet in Toscana. We only stayed 4 nights, so we didn't have enough nights to try all of them. The best surprises were the appetizers and individual pizzas delivered as we were sitting by the pool! The best drink we tried was the banana mama! We also loved our waiter in the Italian restaurant, Samuel. He gave us two bags of coffee after we commented on how good it was!

We enjoyed both the beach and the pool. Our room overlooked the pool bar, so that was definitely convenient. The entertainment staff did a great job of providing opportunities, even in the rain. The shows in the evening were also fun and well done-Circus one was the best.

The water was a little rough (red flags), but we were still able to swim in the clear water. The gym was well maintained with a significant amount of equipment, but the outdoor jogging track was very short.

The resort was not crowded and there were plenty of places to sit on the beach, at the pool, in the entertainment area and at the restaurants. We never had to wait to be seated at any of the restaurants. The weather was nice-but remember some insect repellent. If the wind isn't blowing, you may get a few bites!

Room Tip: We liked our Jr. Swim up suite in building 6! We were in 6004.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jrmayheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I will forewarn you that this will be a lengthy review. I feel I need put to rest some bad reviews this place has received in the past.

We took a belated Honeymoon to Punta Cana in December 2012. We had researched for months where we wanted to stay and finally decided on The Excellence because of friends and family who had told us about their wonderful experiences with this resort. We booked the trip in April of 2012 so I basically had 7 months to read various TripAdvisor reviews and become nervous. I can honestly say that every single negative review that I had read was put out of my head as soon as we arrived.

We booked through CheapCaribbean.com and arranged for the private taxi (Olympus Tours) from the airport to the resort. The drive took maybe 40 minutes and I found it to be a pleasant experience. Our driver told us a lot about the area, the people of the Dominican Republic, the culture, and also explained where our resort was in relationship to all of the others and told us that we had really made a good decision, despite what others felt was a long drive. He also showed us the construction for the highway that is currently being done which will eliminate some of the travel time once completed. However, if you choose to arrange for a taxi in which other people need to be dropped off at their resorts first, be prepared for a longer trip. The price difference between a private and semi-private was $10. Well worth it in my opinion.
When we arrived at the resort, we were greeted with a cold towel and glass of champagne. They knew exactly who we were and acted genuinely pleased that we chose The Excellence for our stay. Upon check-in, the clerk asked what brought us there and we explained that we had been married a couple years before, but were just now taking our Honeymoon. He graciously upgraded us to the Honeymoon package at no extra charge. He did also mention that for an additional charge he could upgrade us to the Excellence Club, but after doing my "homework" for months, we had decided against it. Within moments, a bellhop took us to our room which was in Building 2 . We had a Junior Suite Garden View on the 1st Floor. We were in a quiet section of the resort, yet very close to everything. The patio and gardens outside of our room were beautiful and we also had a hammock. Our room was very clean and spacious. Minibar was stocked full of sodas, water, juice and also top-shelf liquor. Every day our room was cleaned, towels replenished, linens changed, and minibar re-stocked full (sometimes extras left too). We had turn-down service every evening, with a run-down of what was on the activity list for the next day and a weather report. The ocean was very close to our room so if we wanted to go to the beach, it was easy to get to without having to go to the lobby. There was also a smaller pool next to our building, but we always managed to end up in the larger pool with the swim-up bar.

The pools were very clean and the chairs by the pool and the beach (beds as well) were plentiful. We did not have a problem with chairs or beds being "saved" with towels. We pretty much were able to sunbathe where we wanted to when we wanted to, which was nice. I know that at other places the "towel game" is alive and well and something to contend with. Sometimes people did leave their towels and not come back for what seemed like hours, and the pool managers would just come along and remove them so other folks could use them.
The staff at this resort was very polite, courteous, and ready to please. Anytime we were at the beach or pool, we were always quickly greeted by a server who offered us a drink. Walking through the resort, the staff always greeted the guests with smiles, hellos, and inquiries about their stays. The Activities Staff were very fun! Always encouraging guests to get involved. Willy, Kassandra, and Tito were very outgoing and fun.

The bars in the resort were very generous with the liquor. I never received a watered-down drink and often had to ask for them to scale the booze back a bit...this isn't a complaint, but something you should know up front. The bar staff at every bar we frequented were friendly and outgoing as well. My personal favorite was Hector Luis, a VERY VERY well-mannered and fun member of the bar staff. Also must mention Alexandra, and Omar.

The food. Well, this is where I was expecting disappointment, but honestly....if someone had a complaint about the food at this resort, I am baffled and confused as to where The Excellence has shortcomings. The first night we arrived, we didn't really know where to go so we chose The Lobster House. We both had excellent meals there, followed by excellent dinners the remainder of the week at Spice, Agave, The Grill, Toscana. We never made it to dinner at Chez Isabelle or Barcelona. Just not enough time. We opted to have our last dinner at The Lobster House because Morlan had insisted we come back so he could do something special for us. He absolutely gave us a wonderful experience and a meal we will never forget. We also had an opportunity to have breakfast in bed one morning which was very nice. The other days we were there we opted for breakfast at Toscana, which was served buffet-style. If you couldn't find something at this spread that you liked, there is no pleasing you. Fresh fruit abundant, and every breakfast item imaginable. They also had stations where you could have omelets made-to-order....best I have ever had. For lunch options we often would eat at the beach restaurant that served a variety of grilled items, pizza, nachos, and fries....you didn't have to change out of your beach attire to eat there so that was convenient. We did opt for lunch one afternoon at The Grill and that was when we met Morlan. We did eat food from Oregano, but always ordered it "To Go" late at night as we were headed back to our room. Room service was included but we never ordered from it....always too full or too tired :)
The entertainment each evening was very good. They had a nice variety of acts mostly dancing and signing. The Michael Jackson show was very good.

The grounds of the resort were beautiful and kept very clean. There were always workers cleaning and pruning. The beach was groomed every morning by the hotel staff. Though the water was rough (we anticipated this based on the location of the resort), it was fun to play in and still warm. That certainly wouldn't have ruined my vacation. Due to the resort's location, very rarely were folks from other resorts walking on our part of the beach. There were also very few outside vendors. There were a couple that had contracts with the hotel, but once we told them we weren't interested they simply left us alone. We did take the free 1/2 horseback ride and had a great time. We walked both ends of the beach for quite some distance and never came upon another resort. I knew that we were located further away, and we actually liked that aspect of this resort. Several other couples on the flight home had told us that they had stayed at resorts where there were 5 or 6 grouped together and you had to wear wristbands to identify where you were staying. That's great if you like that sort of thing, but for us, we really appreciated the personal touch that this resort had. When the staff know your name and what you like to drink each day, you begin to feel at home. I can't say enough about this place.

It was not a loud and party-time atmosphere..unless you wanted it to be. The bars at the resort staggered their closing times so that it kept people who were out late in the same general area. Smart thinking.

Most of the people staying at this resort were there as couples, though there were several large groups that were their for weddings. The Disco was a fun place to hang out late at night, with a very gracious DJ who would play anything you asked for.

We did not opt for an off-resort excursion, but we will for sure, the next time we are there. We did hire the photographer to do some beach photos at a very reasonable fee. Arturo is the BEST!

Wi-Fi worked great in Building 2!

If you're still with me, you may have gathered that we really enjoyed our stay at The Excellence. We will definitely be going back. I might opt for the pool view (ground floor only) in building 2 if when we go back, but if not available...I would not hesitate to ask for the same room.

Room Tip: Garden View Junior Suite Building 2 (Ground Floor)!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank gmthompson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The resort was beautiful and so large it isn't even necessary to leave the resort. We stayed there 5 days and I feel like I didn't even see the whole thing. Our rooms were really nice and the cleaning crew was awesome. The only problem we had was if you walk down the beach a little past the resort, there are a few little shops and a few weren't bad but in one of them the guys were very very pushy. I reccomend going to the ones that say "Kohls" and "Home Depot" but avoid the one on the very end. The food was okay. The day we got there I was a little concerned because our lunch, dinner, and next morning's breakfast weren't the best. However, the more places we tried, the better the food tasted. We loved the SPICE restaurant. Our waiter was awesome, we followed him to where he was working the next day. His name was Franklin and he made our whole experience. He would bring us stuff out to try without us having to even make a decison. Moya, down at the sports bar was the BEST bartender, he did such a great job. If you are hanging out by the pool, I'm sure she will be around but Altogracia continuously brought us drinks. Lastly, if you're hanging out by the pool, "Super" Willy is so fun. He will get you to play games, dance, etc. If you couldn't tell, the people were truly what made our experience. Everyone is so friendly and nice! This resort is awesome. We had an amazing time! Lots of people on here are complaining about little things just to find something to complain about.

Room Tip: We got rooms on a top floor only because lots of people were complaining about a musky smell on the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly N Jamesa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,311 reviews
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
13.8 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#27 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,009 reviews
1.4 mi away
Excellence El Carmen
Excellence El Carmen
#3 of 5 in Uvero Alto
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $280 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing