We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Else but Excellente”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Overall the Hotel was excellent. The staff is incredible and will do anything it takes to make sure you have a great stay. As with the other reviews the drive to the resort is about 1hr, and it can be an adventure. Once you are at the hotel you never have to leave unless you are feeling adventurous. If you need help with any off resort activities there are several people at the hotel who can help you plan on doing anything you want to do, just expect to encounter a drive of 45 minutes minimum to any type of off resort activity. I highly recommend the diving excursions to anyone who is into diving. If you are curious about diving or interested in getting certified they have everything at the resort to help you and Franklin is an excellent instructor.
Here is a brief overview of what I feel are the Pro's and Con's of the resort:
Pro's:
-Staff
-Room
-Food
-Drinks

Con's:
-Location and drive (It is very nice being excluded from everything but sometimes I spent 8 hours of my trip packed in a van)
-Mosquito's were a problem the last night we were there. The resort did however provide bug spray if you did not bring your own.

I would not only recommend this hotel to anyone considering going to Punta Cana. When I go back to Punta Cana this is the only place I would consider staying.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nenom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,939 - 8,945 of 13,675 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was our 2nd time and it was fantastic! Everything from the food to the activities was top notch. Can't wait till we can get back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsealfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We were staying in this amazing hotel on april 21-28. Me and my wife had a wonderful time, the restaurants are fanstatic, the service was top-notch, the animation team is great, the staff is so friendly, i don´t remember all the names but carlos from the excellence club he really took care of us, he´s the best. Yerlin our mini bar guy was very nice as well and Antonio at the private beach area for the excellence club.

im plannig already to go back next november with some friends, i totally recommend this hotel. you won´t regret it!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leminoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

It was our first visit, we enjoyed every second of it. The staff was great, the food was awesome and the service was top of the line. Me and my husband would recommend this resort. We cannot wait to go back.
Mr. & Mrs. Landini

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Landi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

What a hotel, from the wonderful pool to the endless beach and the fantastic staff, it has everything you need to have a great holiday. I cant wait to go again.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the Excellence Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BIGWORLD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I stayed at this resort last summer, arriving after a long drive from Santo Domingo. We pulled up to the hotel and were directed by security to go around the back, we both speak spanish so were confused as to why they told us to park in the back. After realizing the mistake we pulled back around to the front and were escorted to the check in desk, and greeted with a nice drink. Check in was quick enough, and our room was ready so we went to check out the room and change for the beach and lunch. After arriving in our room we were impressed with the furnishings and style, but., it was on the first floor and their seemed to be some kind of ant in the bathroom. Were from florida so it didn't creep us out, just really annoying. So we decided to ignore it for now and get some towels and head over to the beach. After finding the place near the beach to get the big towels, they were all out. So I went to the front desk, and asked someone there to get us a couple of towels. They had me waiting for almost 20min!! During that time, I noticed a display with pictures of the hotels management on it. And what would you guess, the hotels GM picture was of a man that was walking through the lobby at that point. I stopped him, and explained our situation ants, security, towels, etc. He was very kind and listened to everything I had to say. He then went to the Front desk to alert them to our situation. After that he left us with his card, and an agent came to us and asked us what room we were in, so they could relocate our luggage to a club suite. We were then taken from the lobby to the club lounge and explained that they felt horrible for the events and wanted to upgrade us for our stay.
The lounge was very nice, and I don't understand how some of these reviews can be so harsh. Maybe they just don't know how to be polite, and have unreasonable expectations but whatever. The club had decent food and snacks served most of the day, with computer access, TV, and full bar that was serve yourself. Our new suite also had a small bar that was very well stocked. Just what I needed.
The rest of our stay was superb and had it not been for the actions of the GM and voicing my complaints(in english) politely to the management I would have thought it was just ok. But because of the staff, I thought it was Excellent

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a club suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marketmiami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

In December 2010, we were back the third time to the Excellence Resort. We absolutely love this resort and find it difficult to consider others in the area. It is located a fair distance from the airport, but it is so secluded on the beach with no other hotels right next door. Just a very very peaceful and relaxing week.
We really have never had a complaint in our three trips there. The staff are always friendly and eager to help. Find the hotel rooms clean. Love the layout of the resort with the different pool options. And the beach is absolutely fantastic! Every morning we are up to see the sunrise just around the corner from the hotel and it really is spectacular. The resort itself is slightly aged, but I understand that they will be doing upgrades. We have found the food consistent in the past three years and really appreciate the no reservations needed. I believe in all three of our trips, we may have waited 10 minutes total for a table.

Hard to mention all of the staff that have been so wonderful the past few years, but some are:
Jose, who makes an incredible coco loco and very fun to hang with at the bar.
Victor was bartending at the swim up pool bar and he made us some of his own drinks that were all amazing - really really great recipes!
Carlos also is so friendly and eager to help with anything that you need.
For the past two years, we have been welcomed by Nicholas at the front desk and it is always a pleasure. Very professional and friendly.
Edwin and Pauline at the front desk are also always wonderful to work with, in the past two years they both have helped my husband plan our anniversary dinner.
A gentleman that works on the beach in the early morning hours, Garamond (sp?) is always helpful with towels and placing them on beach chairs.
Can never forget Domingo and his sax! really enjoy listening to him play in the evening. Very gifted musician!
We will be sure to be back in the fall of 2011 for our fourth trip!
Looking forward to seeing everyone again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachLover0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
16.5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
13.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 114 in Punta Cana
4,496 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
16.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $265 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing