We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Riu Naiboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Ranked #78 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Booked here for our honeymoon was a little bit disappointed when I saw the other hotels in the resort!
But made the best of what we booked the weather was fantastic can't fault that hot and brill. Pool is lovely cool and was clean. Was nice to be at the beech was a 5 min walk just under and was lovely! Only draw back is there is no shade if you feel the sun is too much for you like the other beeches you seen had some form of sun hut!!
The food was nice variety every evening no complaints two restraints to eat in other than the buffet the Italian and steak house. The steak house is at the bamboo hotel that is approx a 15 to 30 min walk depending on how fast you walk! It's a bit of a trek but worth going to at least once! To go book for there book at breakfast 7am that day two sittings 7pm or 9pm
The Italian is in the naiboa same book at breakfast and it's a 7pm or 9pm meal only thing is you can book to eat here only twice in one week!!
Worth going the restaurants once as the food is the same not much choice so going more than once is a bit boring!!
Drinks are good huge variety and will make anything you ask for.
The rooms were semi clean!
Clean towels every day that is good can't think that our sheets were changed tho in the 14 days we were there tho!!
Air con was not the best so be pre paired to melt when it's really warm!!
Mini bar in room watch they say it's all inclusive but is only filled up every two days and if you run out of water you have to go to reception and that was a bit of a hassle for me one night!!! Entertainment staff lovely but far too repetitive with things todo only so much darts bowls or aerobics you can deal with in two weeks!!
Evening shows were good passed the time!
Thursday street party night is worth going to good dancing lively atmosphere!
Little stalls come around the pool area one or twice a week good if you want to buy little gifts but barter with them for a cheaper deal!!!
I would mor certainly go back to Punta Cana just not to the Rui Naiboa!!!!
Make your own decisions nice place just not what I would if expected for the money :)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 3,249 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Have just returned from a fortnights holiday at the Riu Naiboa.had a fantastic time .Hotel has been refurbished to a high standard .Cannot find fault with anything ,entertainment team very friendly and make sure you have a good time.Food very good with a different selection every night.Bar staff great .did not have to wait long to be served,regardless if you tip or not.Have read recent reviews about this hotel ,most from Americans ,don't be put off you'll have a great holiday

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Melvyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is neat and has good facilities but it is quite small compared to other hotels around. Good food but the buffet becomes repetitive after a couple meals, it is a standard all inclusive but it might be worth paying a bit more and staying in one of the other Riu hotels next to it

The shows however are absolutely great, specially the Carnaval they do in the street!!

Room Tip: Make sure the sensor they have in the window to stop the AC when you open it is working otherwise yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RodrigoCalcagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you're expecting first class top notch everything because this is a hotel under the Riu chain - DONT!
The hotel was nice, food was nice although slightly repetitive, as with any all inclusive buffet. Everything is simple and standard - but clean and nice. Lovely location and setting, staff are very friendly and helpful and couldnt do enough for us.
It is not the nicest Riu i have stayed in - but for the price - it was about right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hi There

Stayed at the Naiboa from May 10-17 2014. If your looking for good bang for your buck this is the place for you.

This is the oldest thus bottom end of the Riu complex of punta cana but the beach makes up for all its shortcomings which to be honest really did not effect our stay.

Im not a complainer...its actually annoys me when travellers come on here and trash resorts when they have full access to this site and the web to well investigate their choice...investigate before you book...simple.

The Naiboa was everything we knew we were getting into with some pleasant surprises.

The food is great as are the bars and a la cartes. Their are very few a la cartes...its not the type of resort you go to for amazing dining experiences...that would be the DOUBLE THE PRICE Riu's surrounding the Naiboa.

The staff and service are great and service is with a smile. The grounds are beautiful and well taken care of.

As advertised this is a 24 hr resort...snacks are hard to come by after midnight though but no biggie for me.

Rooms are very clean...comfortable ...great air and mini bars are restocked everyday as advertised.

Beach....well....its punta cana....WOW...GORGEOUS...TROPICAL....beach is a 5 minute walk down i think its called Carribean street..we actually liked the walk as carribean street is lined with very nice shops....LEAVE YOUR CREDIT CARD IN YOUR SAFE....LOL.

Never ever had a problem getting chairs at the pool or beach. The beach has an awesome bar/snack bar right on the beach....we love it...close...clean...great food and drinks...Do yourself a favor and bring a BUBBA as the drinks are typical all inclusive thus served in very small plastic cups.

We went on one excursion called the booze cruise on board the BEBE catamaran. Best 4 hours of our trip....what a blast...snorkeling....flowing drinks ...snacks...then onto the natural pool....beautiful...away from all the resorts....just beautiful...the staff are an absolute hoot and music flows freely....its like your on a whole other vacation. Make sure you do the BEBE booze cruise ..by far the best from what we heard.

So its like this folks...The Riu Naiboa is the cheaper option of the Rius for a reason...Smaller....not 5 star elegance but everything you need for a great vacation. They are constantly upgrading...they are constantly trying to better themselves....so just leave the north american arrogance and silver spoon at home and BE THERE...enjoy the tropics and roll with the punches....i could spend hours complaining about this and that but i had the tools available to research this resort and knew exactly what this Riu was offering me.If your a complainer and uptight...go to the highter end DOUBLE THE PRICE resorts and dont forget to pack your white gloves...seriously people....relax...decompress and enjoy this Great all inclusive very value packed resort.

Enjoy punta cana

YOUR FRIENDLY CANADIAN

Room Tip: Get an upper room facing the pool. Not noisey at all..beatuiful view and Sundowns. Huge balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank andrep p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

me and my friend traveled april 8th to april 15th, we had a great time at naiboa. When we first arrived at 11am the front desk was super friendly and extremely helpful. They had informed us the check in was at 3 or 4 pm, so they took our luggage and kept it in a room behind them. The man that greeted us spoke french which was great since we are from quebec.

The pool is on the smaller side but the hotel was not overbooked so there was plenty of room for everybody and we did not have much trouble finding chairs around the pool area which is such a great bonus in my book. Their is an artificial beach close to the pool with lots of chairs and trees its super relaxing.
The beach is beautiful, very clean and more than enough room for everybody also. Plenty of shade and sun spots on the beach, it is about 5 minutes of walk from the hotel (not that far at all) you have to pass through the village but theres not much soliciting in the village so no worries for that.
The room we had was very cozy we had three bottles rum, vodka and i think whiskey in our cabinet. (fyi there is no baths only showers) in our room anyway.
The food was so good, a lot of variety and the staff made it great. We had been served for every meal and everyday, our waiter Torito made it great for us too even made a special table for us with flowers he was a great waiter made our experience even better.
There was only one a la carte restaurant but again it was great superbe service again.
The only thing that i would say was unpleasant was the soliciters who would come and place their tables on the paths that all the tourists have to pass by and they stop everybody that pass. We were guilt tripped because we didnt want to buy over priced jewlery that we could get on dollar store for way cheaper basicaly. After being guilt tripped we left somewhere and when we came back to go to our rooms, we passed where the soliciters tables werent placed because we obviously didnt want to be hassled again but one of them came running towards us trying to sell stuff. On the positive side they were at the hotel once the whole week.
In all a great stay, beautiful grounds and beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Nice hotel, not new, rooms even luxury ones aren't bespoke, service is very "light" too. Visitors are only couples and families, mainly French people, Canadian, locals and Russians. Swiming pool With bar is not so clean too I saw more than I expected inside)) BUT food, drinks and sand is the best I ever saw, includind luxury Baly hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#74 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,900 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#70 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Naiboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Naiboa

Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $131 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Naiboa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * Separated from the beach by just the Riu Palace Bavaro * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 4-story building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig'ey * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Naiboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Naiboa Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing