We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AAA travel agent let us down”
Review of Hotel Riu Naiboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Ranked #78 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Allen Park, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AAA travel agent let us down”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Research your hotel. Other hotels had different sit down dinner options, we had one, same food every night, Others also offered swim up bars, nicer pools. This hotel was boring. Did not have use of the other hotels in the chain like we were told. Had to walk up steps or ramp to get drinks during the day. No one walking around the pool to wait on you. Had to go to front desk to get bottled water for our room. Never refilled our supply in our room. Refrigerator did not work, beverages in room were warm. Food was ok, there were many choices. Expected a lot more for an all inclusive. We booked a year in advance and our room overlooked the entrance drive, not a very nice room view. Asked for pool view room and they didn't have any. Been on other trips and I feel we overpaid for this one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    1,022
    681
    346
    342
See reviews for
682
1,244
93
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lucknow, ON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Until this trip, I was a big fan of the Rui chain.... The hotel was clean, but dated.. Which wasn't such a big deal for us... The biggest downfall was being told that we didn't have access to any of the other hotels in the complex, other than to take pictures. We were limited to the 2 bars on site, which had offsetting hours, the one buffet, and an ala cart that we didn't even try.
We had a great time on our last trip at the Rui's in puerto plata... We had access to all bars in the complex, the only restriction was that we had to have dinner at our hotel.... We expected the same type of access in punta cana, but this wasn't the case.

The disco was also a bit of a joke, drinks not included there, and they also were charging a cover charge one night... We ran into a group of college girls one night that were refused entry because they didn't have the cash for the cover charge. The group of 6 of them basically spent all of their money on the trip - that was supposed to be all inclusive... Which wasn't. We talked to the guys working the door, trying to help them get in, but there was no working with them.

Our hotel seemed to have little or no entertainment at night other than bingo... In 5 different languages, all at once.. Very hard to understand... We left during the game as many others did... After seeing bingo 2 nights in a row, we just started going to the neighbouring resort to watch their shows( which were excellent).. But always with the fear that we may be asked to leave and to go back to our resort.

I also had a 2 days of sickness there, I lived on Imodium... Not sure exactly what it was, I ate only at our resort... And normally I'm not a person that must eat carefully... I can normally eat everything without concern.

This hotel was considerably cheaper than the other resorts in the complex, and may be ok if your happy with one bar, and little to no entertainment, and if you don't mind a 5 to 10 minute walk to the beach...

What offended me the most about this trip, is being told that I couldn't access the other resorts in the complex, but that the other resorts could access ours, and all others. And for this reason I won't be returning to any rui property in the future

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank donchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Cana hotels

New Brunswick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The reviews you read, read between the lines. Everyone has there own idea on what's good and what's bad. I enjoyed the stay. Food was fine, service was great and the room was clean. Only had to ask for water 1 day. Pool was clean. Walk to the beach is about 2 mins. Drinks were cold and tried a few. Not many but a few. My only complaint.....they need a different spot for the all night loud partyers. Right below the rooms is no place for them. Batista at the budda bar was great and we spent a lot of time there.
Other then noisy party goers, don't be afraid to go here! Maybe they'll find a better spot for them when you go!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank tree1NewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The resort was nice but with old structures. The beach is the tipical caribean beach with all the resorts on the same place.
The good thing was the service, they where really nice and kind with us, the animation team always had something good organized and funny.
The worst the food from the buffet, but again nice service and food on the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The staff was great and very helpful. The room was clean and we felt safe. The Food and drinks were terrible. If you have any palate for good food and wine go to the hotel next door. We will go back to Riu but stay at one of the other hotels on the property. The beach was amazing. We ending up walking the long way around the resort so we would not have to be bothered by the vendors on the beach walk. Very annoying when you are just trying to get to the beach make you feel like you are at the carnival or fair.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenniferSCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had the misfortune of staying at the Riu Naiboa for 8 days. The hotel itslef is OK and part of a Riu complex. The staff here is very nice also. Thats where the good ends. The property constantly smells rotten. I believe it is from the swampm near by and it did smell of sewage. The buffet restaurnat was one of the worst experience I have ever had. Horrible food, no taste and some times you could not identify it. The buffet reminds me of Vegas Vacation where Cousin Eddie take clark to a buffet off the strip where the food is different colors and mystery food. We wlaked around the other Rius in the compound and quicky ushered out. We had the dreaded "blue wristband" Bottom line Riu hotels are nice but the Riu Naiboa is horrible. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JostVanDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Started off our trip without luggage. Airline staff / sunwing reps proceeded to laugh at us because of our missing luggage. First day only had time to eat and go to bed, after our second day we managed to purchase bathing suits and a wrap well over $100 dollars US. Went to the restaurant to eat and were DENIED food because of our beach wraps, clearly explaining we had nothing else to wear as our other clothing was still missing. Could not have felt more embarrassed because of this. No one cared to understand the fact that we had nothing more than the clothes on our back. This resort management should feel embarrassed of their behaviour and lack of understanding. Will never return and completely understand the poor reviews a previously giving. Riu naiboa you should be embarrassed and as well as your hotel management. Especially Juan & his superior.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dejanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
17.8 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
15.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,840 reviews
38.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#75 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Naiboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Naiboa

Property: Hotel Riu Naiboa
Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#70 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Naiboa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * Separated from the beach by just the Riu Palace Bavaro * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 4-story building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig'ey * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Naiboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Naiboa Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing