We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not return”
Review of Hotel Riu Naiboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Ranked #78 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“would not return”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

stayed there in dec 2013 for 1 week all inclusive. room robbed twice during stay..left door locked returned with room cleaned and door locked and stuff missing. advised mgmt both times to no avail or even a call back. they dont believe me...i said if you open my door you are responsible. very unfriendly place..asked to rent car from riu rep and instead offered drugs, hookers or a friends car...no body could speak any english..for a resort that is unreal...i would never return to this hotel chain...may never go back to punta cana ....next time ill go where there is police to call

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    1,010
    676
    343
    341
See reviews for
665
1,232
93
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

IF you want the perfect bronze tan on a beautiful beach is is for you. The weather was perfect nice breezes not humid. Food was great especially sea food.
The disco was not included in the all-inclusive so could get expensive. There werent many Canadians. Staff although friendly very limited in their English vocabulary.
This is a quiet resort for tanning and reading a book. They have bingo best left for the golden crowd not for hipsters.

Room Tip: We were never in our room didn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

On the good side, the beach is great and the common facilities are quite good.
On the other side, The restaurant is smoky and greasy. All the food is cut and prepared with out any sense of style. It seams and it is for masses of people...
The cleaning of the room is quite poor and you must call them to do it right.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked our vacation thru Expedia travel from 22nd - 28th Dec. 2013 and more or less had what we paid for. The fare in the buffet was good, though some people thought it monotonous.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were kept clean and tidy. The level of noise, however, was too high at night. The bar and entertainment area should have been located further away. The elevators also clanged shut with a loud bang at night waking most sleeping guests.
We were pleasantly surprised to learn that religious services were conducted at the Riu Resort, Palace Punta Cana nearby, so we didn't have to travel to the towns for services. The attendance on Christmas Eve, however, was poor as there was no information printed anywhere to advertise the fact that services were provided. Ordinary staff at the resort were unaware that there was a room downstairs at the Palace where religious services took place on holidays of obligation and other feast days. I strongly believe notices should be put up to that effect.
Expedia's Blue Travel Partner service let us down on two counts. Their representative who was supposed to meet guests in the lobby on the day after arrival did not turn up and we wasted two and a half hours waiting for him. Then Blue refused to send a vehicle to take us back to the airport on departure day although we had paid for a round trip and we had to hire a taxi at the last minute to catch our flight.

Room Tip: Try and be as far away as possible from noisy elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I returned last night from a six-night stay at the Riu Naiboa. I was skeptical after reading reviews but after our visit can't say enough good things about our stay. We loved that you could serve yourself beverages (including beer and wine) at the main buffet, and being able to seat yourself was a huge plus and time saver. Also, we loved that the staff was so happy, often singing and smiling as they worked--you don't see that too often! I feel Apple Vacations or Riu (whichever writes the description on Apple's site) may want to reconsider recommending the resort for budget minded travelers as this may frighten some people away. Our only concerns were that the bottled water in the room was not regularly replenished and the room was small; other than that, we had such a wonderful week! We would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is 4 star hotel and its quality is fairly praced for this.
Yes, regular keys with massive keychain look archaic and inconvenient for 21-st century. But they are reliable and do not give problems that we had with magnetic tape cards in other hotels.

What we like:
- food was very good. Great fruits. Especially white fish, it was delicious.
- staff is friendly and spoke many languages: English, French, German, Russian.
- Beach is beautiful.
- Small riffs nearby have underwater life to see: fish, coralls...
- Bar on the beach has food and beverages of good quality, so you can be on beach all day long.
- Rooms were clean. Matraces were not orthopedic, a little bit too bouncy, but very good. May be matraces depend on room, our room was 132.
- Rooms have balconies, that is convenient for smokers.
- There are alcohol dispensers with 3 kind of liquor and small fridge with water, pepsi and beer.
- Air conditioning and fan did the job. But it was not too hot outside - +25C.
- nothing was stolen from room. Our door nobody tried to hack. That happened every time in Mexico.
- Animators vere very active and friendly
- lots of watersports things for kids and adults: inflatable toys, kayaks, catamarans, even windsurfing (that was not in very good shape though)
- lots of souvenir shops and boutiques nearby and local souvenir market in 2 km.
- nightlife is there: disco club, casino... we did not go though.

What we dislike:
- No palm-leafs umbrellas on the beach. People is trying to occupy all places with natural shadow, but there are not many of them.
- There are no wall clocks in lobbies and bars, except the bar on the beach.
- Most of windsurfing boards were broken.
- No fins for rent. I took my mask and snorkel, hoping to rent fins. No.
- Watersport stuff (Scuba Cariba company) is a little bit resistive to give out windsurfing equipment, saying that there is not enough wind, like 3-5 knots. It is really not enough, especially with 5m sails they only have, but I like to do LW fristile, so should they care? First couple of times I had to convince them to give me the stuff.
- When there started a good wind, 10 knots and more, they rised red flag on the beach and did not give out any watersport equipment. I understand it may be risky for inexperienced catamaran users. But for windsurfing it was perfect conditions, and no risk for kayaking. They sais they have to follow policies of some "Marina" service. I do not know, they risk nothing because all watersport equipment users sign all kinds of waivers and obligations to pay if they broke equipment, or can buy insurance for the such. But any way, "Marina" dictates to rise red flag, and Scuba Cariba stuff is enjoing of doing nothing on the beach.
- Night hours bar is in the hotel, that is inconvenient for people who want to sleep, and for people who wants to loudly celebrate all night long, both. It would be better to make it distantiated, for example in the beach bar.

- Sunwing air company was painfully slow when we departured. They showed they are incapable to fastly manage flight registrations. For example, they quickly registered Montreal flight passangers. And 2 registers were doing nothing, while more than 200 people were staing in line to two Toronto registers. After some time, and an alternative, they offred us to go to "Exclusive VIP" register for $40US. Thank you! After multiple complaints Montreal registers started to serve Toronto passengers too.

Anyway we had very good time in the resort.

Room Tip: In roons rooms above nigh bar may be some noise from European people who fight jet lag with alcohol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

There are 5 RIU Hotels in this subdivision. The RIU Naiboa is not on the beach but a 10-minute walk along a small street with no traffic and plenty of vendors. The beach is nice but rough water with plenty of seaweed. There is a small restaurant on the beach exclusively for guest of the Naiboa. Rooms are extremely small, outdated with no ambiance at all. Nice pool but annoyingly loud music all day and even more annoying entertainers. Buffet is mediocre, basically the same every single day. Front desk staff is arrogant and not willing to assist. Around hotel there is really nothing to do, all hotels, no culture or restaurants. This hotel, although posted in the lobby, has no environmental or sustainability certifications. Energy waste at its best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank sjopjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Cana hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
17.8 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
956 reviews
15.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,790 reviews
38.1 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#81 of 112 in Punta Cana
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Naiboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Naiboa

Property: Hotel Riu Naiboa
Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#70 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Naiboa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * Separated from the beach by just the Riu Palace Bavaro * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 4-story building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig'ey * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Naiboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Naiboa Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing