We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unimpressed”
Review of Hotel Riu Naiboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Ranked #78 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unimpressed”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we have been back home 3 weeks and even now ive got to say not impressed at all ,which is a shame as it took so long to get there(England), the hotel was lovely to look at and the pool but the food so much of the same thing by the end of 2 weeks me and my husband were sick of the same food over and over again,and i really never saw a theme night on the food it all looked the same .the thomson rep (juilain)spoke the worst english, which was really frustrateing trying to book trips out, which we found on one trip he had totelly sold us some thing differant to what we wanted ( the aquamarine walk) yes we did do the walk which lasted about half an hour the rest of the day was being moved from boat to boat to catamaran with a lot of drinking going on which i really dont mind but from 7.30 in the morning it was to much it was more of a party boat not an adventure as we were told and sold,the room was clean but to give this hotel a 4 star no way more of nearly a 3,would i send my family and freinds there its a no, the location is not great, it was a walk to the beach and some days it was to hot to bother, you do all so feel slightly traped as you cant really leave the riu complex on the evening, we asked the staff were there was to go and thay all said no where ,im sorry if it sounds like im bashing this hotel but honestly im not ,just telling the truth,

Room Tip: ask for one faceing the pool, if you get the front of the hotel you get the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    1,000
    659
    335
    334
See reviews for
644
1,213
88
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Have just returned from a 1week stay at the Naiboa and found it to be a rather Jekyl and Hyde kind of place. Not many Brits there when we were, mostly Germans,Dutch and Spanish.
The general hygiene was good.
The food on the whole was disappointing, just stacked high with no real flare or taste.
The staff, with the exception of the entertainment staff,we're sullen and unhelpful......the entertainment staff were absolutely fantastic.
The pool and the grounds were superb and only a few moments walk to a well run hotel guests only beach.
The rooms are simple but comfortable.
On the whole I would only recommend the Naiboa if you can get a good price......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel personnel is very friendly, the quality of the food is good, but they should offer more variety, no direct access to the beach but it is just a 5 minute walk, the room was clean but in the bathroom they should have put more attention to details when installing the tiles. The drinks in the bar were excellent and good service, excellent pool. On the way to the beach there are some stores where you can buy some souvenirs. There is a restaurant and bar on the beach where you can get something while you are on the beach. At night they have lights and a security guard at the beach so it is safe to have night walks on the beach. The shows they offer give you good entertainment too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IAJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous, just like the entire resort. Despite the fact that the surroundings are rather wild, there is constant entertainment available. Additionally, it is possible to spend each evening in a different hotel (there are bingo games, concerts, discos, etc.).
I went to a number of hotels and this one seemed the best – the pool was large, clean, there were many beach chairs available and there weren’t as many guests as in other neighbouring hotels.
The food was excellent, with lots of vegetable dishes and fresh fruit.
The beach seemed heavenly, like something you see in catalogue photos.
I wouldn’t mind going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is located in a pretty garden near a very nice beach. The building itself is asking for a serious refurbishment. There are many walls with peeling paint and it makes it look slightly dingy.
The restaurant menu is fine, but gets monotonous after a while. There is some entertainment provided by the hotel but it’s nothing out of the ordinary.
I did see rats in the mini club as well as on the beach at certain times (before dawn and after dusk).
I stayed only a few days there but I heard other guests complaining about unchanged bedding as well as towels.
It is an ok place, but there are probably better choices available in this price range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have visited this hotel several times and they have changed a lot of things at the hotel. Some are good and some not that much... I really liked the change in the restaurants and bars but I definitively miss the possibility of visiting the other riu hotels in the complex.
My concern was about the beach and a place to have a snack or something over there, but the problem has been solved with a snack bar right close to the beach access. It is true that you have to walk a little bit to go to the beach (no more than 300m) but it would be the same in a huge hotel where your room is far away from the sea, so no big deal.
The swimming pool is the best of a lot of pools in hotels. Some people would lime to have a bar inside of it but for me it is better not to have it since people is not always clean and nice and those pools end up with lots of glasses, drunk people and more "liquids" , which is disgusting.
Staff has been great like always: The director, always concerned about our stay and comfortness, bartenders willing to help (Torito, Maria, Silvestre, Yocander, Juan,...), nice people at the reception helping when something goes wrong (actually not too many things to complain about but still helpful) (good job, Bautista, Rafael, Pascual, Deyanira,...), swimming pool staff (Jose, Pablo, Rafael)... All!!!

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel, dont expect luxury, you get what you pay for, and it is a good value for your money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Willafog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Small hotel, located fare from the beach. One big building. Food was very good and entertainment. Beach are good, but fare- like 10 min walk. Also you need to reserve your place in the beach earlier or no shade!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
17.8 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
15.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
38.1 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#52 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
52.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Naiboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Naiboa

Property: Hotel Riu Naiboa
Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Naiboa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * Separated from the beach by just the Riu Palace Bavaro * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 4-story building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig'ey * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Naiboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Naiboa Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing