We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #55 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

By far the worst hotel I have ever been to. The food was horrible. The service wasn't any better!! Do not be robbed by going to this completely terrible hell hole!!!! When I complained I was ignored and played with. I travel often and was shocked at how bad this place was

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank norman s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Norman s:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience online. I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidents that you experienced during your stay with us. We genuinely apologize for falling short of your expectations.

We hope that you can give us the opportunity to have your trust in us back.

Warm Regards,

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,496
    3,492
    1,443
    589
    449
See reviews for
3,147
4,348
165
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HUNTINGDON VALLEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I'm on my trip now and I could not say I would ever come back. I came here about 6 years ago to the same exact resort and it was beautiful. Well, looks like nothing has changed... You might think wait that's not bad then. No. It hasn't changed, absolutely nothing. Same beach chairs, rooms, silverware, beds etc. it's like they don't understand that things don't look nice forever. Room was crap, we had a view of a building , maid didn't come for three days I had to rob one of the stupid carts they have full of drinks... Which the workers enjoy behind the steakhouse during the day instead of working and providing to us (yeah caughtcha). Had to beg for new towels almost every day. Came with my friend and we both got sick after eating stale food. The beach eroded so there's rocks everywhere. Plus as a biologist and future vet it was sad to see where they placed the resort, it's nice having corals to snorkel by. Main reason why I chose here actually, but the constant flow of human feet and motors smacking them back and forth has killed 99.9% of the corals. You might find a brain coral about half a mile out where the waves crash and some tangs that live in caves there but no beauty left in the waters as the color disappeared due to human presence and disruption. So yeah good one catalonia speedboats on coral reefs . Anyway... The beach chairs have sunk so far down my back ached laying on them. Oh and let's not talk about how rude their staff is now; don't know Spanish? Don't bother coming. You aren't priority to them. Buffets were very bland with the same food every single time. Even I (college student) couldn't eat the same every day haha. Thankfully I'm with my best friend or else I'd be miserable. The nightlife is nonexistent, they had karaoke night at the main theatre... Really though? Listening to terrible singing in a variety of languages isn't entertainment, oh and they had "technical difficulties" and shutdown. Well maybe you shouldn't use youtube as your source for karaoke. But no worries they sent us to the "disco" where the workers were dancing in the center and everyone just stared and eventually would begin to leave. Okay let's go to the casino then. They give you a $5 voucher which isn't real, you have to match it with your own money to use it. Whatever, no biggie I pulled out $40. Sat at the blackjack table alone. Not only did I watch this dealer not pay me out but he had the audacity to tell me that us "Americans" don't know how to play. You count to 21 you shmuck!!! Not 20. Thankfully I got up as soon as I saw he doesn't know crap. Requested a manager to get my money back and then they went off in Spanish. Hey buddies I took it for four years I understand you all. I told them to stop talking about us before it gets personal. I can be rude too but I was there to enjoy myself not be scammed as well as under serviced and mocked. It's just things that baffled me, if this is a resort and is supposed to be of luxury I didn't feel it. I saw it, grass was nice the landscape and location was beautiful but eye candy is only fun for so long. This place is garbage. Go to Iberostar, Bahia, or RIU resorts save yourself the disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PATRICK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My mom and I decided to do a small vacation together and we found a great deal with this resort through Southwest Vacations. For $25 more we paid for the upgrade which we did not know meant we would be part of the Privileged group (which I highly recommend you do). Here’s our opinion about our stay…

Room:

-We had booked a two queen bedroom suite but they put us in a king bed suite instead. We asked to be moved to a 2 queen suite and our room was actually a two twin bed suite. The beds weren’t terrible but we could tell that they didn’t change out the sheets during our stay. The pillows were a little worn in – they give you three and the foam pillow had been used so much that you could feel the bits of foam were breaking apart from the pillow. The other two were too stuffed for my sleeping preference so though it was a little lumpy I made due with the foam pillow just fine.

-Yes, the showers are very small and it is very hard to shower in them without practically drowning yourself from the water spray or flooding the floor to the bathroom. I brought my own shampoo and conditioner with me and discovered part way through that as long as you put the bottles on the bottom of the shower curtain, you could keep the water from going all over the floor. My mom stopped using the hotel conditioner because it seemed to be rather watered down and used her own. The bathtub was really nice though we didn’t use it. Though I will say that it we were never really fully stocked on towels…my mom would grab some from the maid’s bag when we would head up to our room after they cleaned if we needed some. And wash cloths were rare. Had one of the first day and didn’t have one again until the last.

-The room itself is very basic but suited our needs just fine. My mom and I took turns on who got to lay on the hammock during the evenings and when our men back home it was nice to lay on the hammock and talk.

-They did restock our fridge with the water, sodas, and beer when we drank one but since my mom and I were going through bottled water like crazy all we had to do was ask the maid to bring us a thing of waters and she would same day.

-The A/C did work but it couldn’t keep up with the heat and humidity so even though it felt great to walk into the room within a few minutes you were back to being hot and sweaty again. Having the fan on helped but we were still constantly warm which did keep us from getting the best sleep at night.

-There was free wifi across the whole property though it seemed to work the best in our room which was great since that meant it was easier to FaceTime with my dad and boyfriend when we wanted to talk for a minute. It was also pretty strong at the beach as well.

Beach:

-Since we were Privileged we had our own section of the beach roped off and I have to say that it was rather nice. We did go to the “non-privileged” section once and we felt that the Privileged side was cleaner as there seemed to be less cigarette butts in the sand by the chairs. I will say that if you want a good spot on the beach, someone in your group should wake up early (around 6-6:30) and place a blue towel on the chairs you want to use. You don’t have to stay where your towels are, everyone seemed to respect that if there was a towel on a chair it was going to be used so you can grab breakfast before you head down to the beach and take your time.

-I liked that they had people go around and collect drink glasses pretty much as soon as you were finished with them. You could have multiple drinks in the day and not have all the empty glasses sitting around you and we enjoyed that.

-If you want alcohol in your drinks, you will have to ask for it to be put in. We discovered that after I had three Pina Coladas on an empty stomach and I wasn’t feeling a thing. It was very obvious once they did put alcohol in it though.

-My mom and I could not find any bathrooms by the beach or pool area so if we had to go we would take turns and walk back to the room to use the bathroom there.

Food and Bars:

-The buffet wasn’t terrible but by the end of our stay it got to the point where my mom and I could only eat soup, bread, or the pasta without getting sick. The food has a lot of salt in it which isn’t to my mom and I’s taste but it is manageable. I will say that at one point every time my mom and I ate salad and chicken we ended up getting rather ill. For breakfast I found it harder to eat as I’m not an omelet person and tend to not eat cereal so I settled for fruit and toast a lot in the morning. I will say that the only thing that was really disappointing was the fruit. There were days you could tell that the pineapple and mangos still rather green when they cut and served it while the bananas were overripe.

-We could never get into the Japanese restaurant. Because the staff spoke little English we never did figure out why we couldn’t get a table and we tried at different times multiple nights in row.

-My mom and I really enjoyed the Italian restaurant. The house wine did have a slight vinegar taste but it wasn’t too much to ruin it for us. The wait staff was friendly and the service was excellent. The food itself was also pretty good and they had a pretty good selection of food available.

-The Steakhouse wasn’t as good as the Italian. I was disappointed when I ordered the grilled chicken that was seasoned with rosemary and thyme to find that it was nothing more than a whole chicken that had been deep fried, cut in half, then served to me. Though we had decided to not have chicken from the buffet I was really hoping the steakhouse would be better and it was worse. I don’t think the chicken was cooked all the way through as that night I became rather ill to where my mom had to buy me some medication – which also meant I didn’t enjoy the plane flights home.

-The Snack Bar by the pool was rather convenient. Keeping in mind that they only had pizza, burgers, and hot dogs it wasn’t bad. We stopped there a couple of times when we didn’t feel like going to the buffet. I will say though that you do have to look at any of the bread rolls that you take from the area. Birds would come up to the basket and start picking at them and the staff didn’t swat them away. The only rolls that did not have birds pecking on them were the ones under the cloth that was covering them. Personally, my mom and I just ate the pizza which was pretty good (and it was not a heated up frozen pizza which was rather pleasant surprise).

-The bars were nice but the service was terrible. We never did figure out which was the bar for those who were Privileged but at the two in the lobby area it took forever for us to get a drink. Because our stay was during World Cup, we wanted to have a drink or two before the game started and went down to the bar by the area where we could watch the game and it took 45 minutes before someone finally came over and took our order. The second time we went down my mom just went directly up to the bar and ordered our drinks – which once again if you want alcohol in them you had to ask for it.

-The bar in the room where we watched the World Cup games was decently stocked but it we only ordered beer from it (same with everyone else).

Service:

-Probably due to my age (I’m in my mid-twenties) I don’t print out my travel information when I travel. There’s no need to when it’s all outlined for you in one single email with flight, hotel, and shuttle info. When we went to the front desk, the guy was rather rude to my mother and I especially when he asked for my travel itinerary and I told him it was on my phone and even handed it to him so that he could look at it. When he was done looking at my phone he dropped it onto the counter and with a rather nasty attitude told my mom and I that we weren’t supposed to check in at the general front desk. After a minute we finally had to ask where we were supposed to go and all we got was “Privileged”. We just went to the bell boys and explained what was going on and they took us over to the area where we were supposed to check in no problem. I didn’t mind that we had to go to another area to check in but my problem was the attitude of the man behind the desk. I thought it was a fluke as the people at the Privileged check out were pleasant to talk to and helpful throughout our stay.

-The maid service wasn’t too bad. We figured out that they worked from the top floor down and did take a lunch at noon so being on the top floor our room was usually clean no later than noon. As stated earlier, we asked her every other day to bring us some extra waters and she always would. If she didn’t have them by the time she cleaned our room she would leave them by the door and we usually had them no later than 2. Towel restocking wasn’t the greatest but she did get up all the sand we brought in with us from the beach daily.

-In general there were few people that spoke English so it was hard at times to talk to anyone who worked there. I was worried the one time we ordered room service for lunch as the lady asked my mom is she spoke Spanish and when she replied no the lady on the phone still took the order and I had asked to have the whole wheat bread to be used on the sandwich that I ordered. It turned out fine but there was just that moment that you worried. Google translate became our best friend.

-Other than the guy at the front desk everyone was friendly that worked there though service in general was rather slow. By using a blow dryer and having the tv on at the same time we blew a circuit in the room and it took the guy 45 minutes to come out which is rather uncomfortable during the middle of the day with no A/C but he fixed it quickly and left. The only thing I didn’t care for was how many of the male staffed approached me and asked if I was single. There was even one time I went to grab my mom and I beers from the bar during a World Cup game that the bartender’s conversation was literally “Wow. Beautiful. You from America? You married?” The first two days it I felt rather flattered to have a number of guys make it a point to tell me I was beautiful. By day 6 (our last day) I was rather annoyed with it. Maybe it was because I came with my mom and wasn’t with a guy or have a kid but being asked multiple times a day by multiple people it became rather annoying when you could tell that they were looking for a potential hook up. It never made me feel like I wasn’t safe (they always keep their distance and as soon as I mentioned that I have a boyfriend they would stop talking right away or they would be just friendly towards me) but it was just a little irritating to be approached so much.

All in all, it wasn’t a bad trip and the resort was nice. When I go back to the Dominican Republic next, if they have the better deal I wouldn’t mind staying there again but I would like to try and find somewhere else to stay just to experience something new.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YazzyElazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear YazzyElazzy:

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to know that overall you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us.

We were very sorry to read that you found some elements of your experience disappointing and we would like to apologize for that. We adhere to the highest standards recognized and supervised by Safety and Hygiene Consultants, like the globally recognized, Crystal; which constantly audit us. As a result, we are extremely careful regarding the foods that we use, therefore, we really sorry to hear that you got sick during your stay.

Finally, I would like to ask you to give us other opportunity to improve your experience, it will be an honor host you in the future and exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 days here. I speak fluent spanish, but every time I tried to address an issue, I found out later on after tipping that those gentlemen were selling a stay at another resort!!! We normally cruise, and my family and I are very laid back. The food was so bad that when we came back we found we had lost weight. The drinks? We are not big drinkers, the drinks were full on corn syrup. I resorted to the beer, which was just ok. There's a big selection of restaurants but if the food is terrible. Who cares? I would rather go on a cruise, get catered to and PAY for a real cocktail. For the price, this was very disappointing. We won't be returning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Joan181:

Gracias por tan buen comentario acerca de su reciente estancia en Catalonia Bávaro. De parte de nuestro director y de todo el personal del Catalonia, gracias por escogernos para el disfrute de sus vacaciones.

Gracias por la mención de nuestro personal. Rosa, Paulino, las hostess y demás staff; estarán satisfechos de saber que contribuyeron a que sus vacaciones fueran memorables.

Nosotros esperamos tener el honor de recibirle muy pronto!

Saludos cordiales,

Heidy L. Collado
Asistente Dirección & Comité Ejecutivo / Management Assistant & Executive Committee
HOTEL CATALONIA BAVARO BEACH, GOLF & CASINO RESORT*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Before booking our trip, I read a lot of good and bad reviews so I figured I would go on this trip with little expectations. I don't think I am a hard to please person by any means, but I was not impressed with this hotel. We booked a 5 night stay in a privileged room. When we arrived, we waited in line to check in for 20 minutes only to be told we need to check in at the privileged desk which was not located in the lobby. Kind of wish someone would have greeted us when we arrived to tell us that, but no. It was 12:00 when we arrived and thought maybe our room would be ready early since check in is at 3 but no, we waited until 3:00. We had lunch while we waited and sat at the grand caribe buffet. We asked a server for 2 sodas and water and he never came back. Basically no one paid attention to us. It was a terrible first impression. I'll break the rest of the review into categories...

Restaurants
You can only go to each of the 4 specialty restaurants once. They punch a hole in a ticket you carry around with you. We ate dinner around 7:00 every night and had no problem getting seated right away. We had Mexican the first night since I read it was the worst, but I actually liked it. We did Japanese the 2nd night and it was ok. I had the chicken and there were bones/cartilage in it. The Italian restaurant was good. No complaints. Then we did the steak restaurant on the last night. It was good, but they didn't have A1 steak sauce which I thought was weird since I saw it at the snack bar.
We learned that privileged guests had a private dining area in the buffets on the 2nd day and we got much better service there since it was usually less crowded. The food at the buffets was good for breakfast but just ok for lunch. Another perk of being privileged is room service so on the 4th day we started to go back to our room in the afternoon to get out of the sun and order lunch.

Pool and Beach
It is true that you need to wake up early to get a shady lounge chair by the pool or beach. Most are "reserved" (have a towel on them) by 8:30. The pool is warm and clean for the most part. The swim up bar is usually crowded and the drinks weren't very cold. One thing we saw which really grossed me out was a used condom in the middle of the pool where they have trees. The ground around the pool also gets very hot so wear shoes.
The beach is nice. They try to keep it clean, but there is a ton of seaweed. There's also a lot of small fish that come right up to you. We brought our own snorkel masks and saw a good variety. We noticed throughout the week people would swim past the ropes and go to a huge sandbar, so since we didn't do any excursions we decided to go for it on our last day. We brought our own swim shoes from home and headed out. You can walk but it is all mushy sea grass so we swam as much as possible to avoid it. The sand bar was awesome. The water was only ankle deep for the most part but there were like 4 foot pools to swim in that were so clear with nice sand. When we went back we walked like everyone else and my skin got so irritated and stung by the sea grass. I was glad I brought cortisone for mosquito bites because it helped.

Service
The biggest complaint I have is that one night we were trying to sleep, and around 11:30 pm we were woken up by loud hammering. We waited 15 minutes before complaining but it wasn't stopping. So we called the front desk to ask them to stop. The person on the phone was so rude. They basically said we were lying when we told them it's been going on for a while and they would be done in 5 minutes. 5 minutes went by and maintenance tried to be quieter but they were still keeping us up with the hammering. Then we heard someone else complain to the maintenance person and it stopped. I just thought that was ridiculous.

Entertainment
We saw shows on 2 nights. The Michael Jackson show was awesome. The performers did a great job. We also went to the casino and I won $200 on roulette and made the pit boss so mad that it was funny. The staff did a good job trying to keep people entertained with fitness classes and contests.


We had a good time on our trip but we just felt there was some kind of disconnect from what were used to getting in service when you pay for an all inclusive. I guess you get what you pay for since we could have spent a lot more to stay somewhere else.


General tips
1. Bring your own insulated cup. The cups they give you are probably 6-8 oz cups and get warm quickly.
2. The best drinks were from the lobby bar.
3. Do NOT use VIP travel services for your ground transportation. They tell you to meet them at a certain time then don't show up or return calls.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Katelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Katelyn S:

We want to thank you for taking from your valuable time to share your comments on T.A.

Thank you for the comments about our restaurants and the entertainment offer.
Regarding the restaurant, we want to ensure that all our guest have the great opportunity to enjoy all of our restaurants during their stay. Of course if our guests need any help with reservations or tickets for the theme restaurants, they can approach to our Guest Service Department and they will be more than glad to assist them.

Please know we are very sorry in regards of the inconveniences especially with the pool and with the loud hammering. Regarding the pool incident, we will like you to know our security makes rounds daily and nightly to prevent disarray in our property and likewise prevent indecent behavior of some guests. Our Quality department ensures that our pool has the adequate disinfection levels to be suitable for our swimmers.

I appreciate your feedback, and hope you give us the chance to make it right.

Best Regards,

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just spent a fortnight at the catalonia bavaro with my family. Reading reviews, we had a fantastic holiday. The staff was fantastic very friendly and welcoming, by the end of the first week of our holiday the waiters and waitresses remembered what we was drinking.

The food was really nice, if people can't find something to eat they really have a problem because I feel there is something for everyone.

Due to it being 4th July while we were there, there were a lot of Americans the first week, they were every loud on a night going to bed around 5am. but this never stopped us getting a sunbed we were always able to get sunbeds on the beach or the pool. Also never had problems getting towels, chairs, or drinks near the pool or the beach or on a night.

Throughout the day the workers around the pool and beach do not stop working, if you ask the to get you a drink they will. they don't expect a tip but we would tip, we had a waiter around the pool and beech all the 2 weeks that got us drinks he was called yhodanas( think that's how you spell it) he was fab.

The transfer to and from the airport was around 20 mins.

The rooms are a bit outdated but nice nothing to be complaining about. The bath was huge but the shower was a bit small. The air con was the best thing ever haha. There is a free safe service in the wardrobe. The beds were really comfy with extra pillows and blankets if needed in the wardrobe. Bottles of coke. Sprite. Orangeade. Water and cans of beer were stocked up every other day by the housekeepers.

The only restaurants that we didn't try was the Japanese as we don't like fish. We tried the Mexican and the Italian and enjoyed all of our meals but we thought the steakhouse was the better one better service, not complaint about the service in the other ones but the steakhouse we got better service. we enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning, usually toast, bacon and cheeky chocolate donut haha.
- pool a la carte pizza and snacks were great to take up to your room after a day at the pool and the beach to have a little snack before tea time.
- bars by the theatre has great service and always able to get a table. The waitresses/ waiters were always around asking you if you wanted another drink.

Lucky lucky men walked along the water's edge at the beach, but weren't pushy and left us alone easily if you said no. They are not aloud to come off the wet sand if they did they wound be made to leave the beach by the security.

The animation team are fab and there are always activities going on constantly throughout the day. The shows at night are ok but we have been to the dominican before so knew what to expect but for new visitors there are good. They are a little cheesy but good.
The shops in the shopping centre are nice, but you have to charge the costs to your room and pay at check out. Wasn't a big deal for us, but we weren't expecting to do that.

We were impressed with what the hotel did for the World Cup, fantastic.

We would recommend this hotel to other people!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Stephanie C:

Thank you for taking the time to do such a thorough review of Catalonia Bávaro Resort.

I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and was pleased with the service and facilities at the property. We also appreciate your kind comments about our pool, restaurants, the rooms and our fantastic staff.

Thank you for recommending us!! We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Catalonia Bávaro in the near future.

Best Regards!!

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Obviously we cannot expect a 5 star resort quality from this experience, however, there were things that left a gap...

Lobby/Checkin/Scenery - Everything looked really nice and spacious. Had a great open feel to it. Got our wristbands early so we can enjoy the resort while we waited.

Room - A bit dated but again, it was on par to the quality of the resort. Beds were comfy. Room had a soak - in Tub (not a jacuzzi) that we did not use and the shower could be a tad bit bigger.

Wifi Connectivity - It worked everywhere with choppy coverage. In the room it worked in the bedroom but not in the bathroom (Listen to Pandora). Outside had choppy areas as well.

Restaurants/Food/Bar - Buffet style food was ok, The food that was done while we waited was Great. Cook was really friendly and so were the waiters. Bar drinks were really good except at the poolside bar. Those were watered down. They all close at 10pm with the exception of a poolside fast food spot with pizza, hot dogs and nachos and other things. That's open 24/7.

Entertainers - Really funny and engaging. Seemed like they worked 16 hour days back to back. Saw them by the pool at 9am, throughout the day and at the Disco at night. They did poolside activities, games, Zumba, a show at the theater at around 9pm and then Danced with tourists at the Disco.

Pool/Beach - Deepest side was 5 feet 3 inches, with lots of areas with shallow water for kids and the bar. Pool was dirty with bugs the entire stay so they need to do better with cleaning. Beach was nice. Fishes in the water and no waves. After about 20 feet of walking in 3 or 4 foot water, you reach huge patches of Algae and rocks. Water sport that are not motorized are all free.

Overall, we got the 3 star quality we expected.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dioris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Dioris R:

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel, with our future guests.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the service from our staff; however it is disheartening to know that we didn't exceed your expectations.

At Catalonia we have a strong commitment on continuous improvement; therefore your comments are very important to us, in order we can improve our service and be able know better your preferences.

Finally, I would like to ask you to give us other opportunity to improve your experience; it will be an honor to host you in the future.

Kind regards,

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
12.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
9.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,842 reviews
41.0 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#48 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,758 reviews
9.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Property: Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing