We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday girls trip- amazing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #58 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday girls trip- amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I went with one other girl friend of mine for our birthdays last year. We had an amazing time! I like how the drive from airport to resort was not far at all. The only thing I would say is that I love tanning at the beach and enjoy the beautiful clear water; but they don't have enough space and sun on the beach. There are a lot of palm trees which block the sun; and they don't have a lot of chairs and room for everyone to enjoy. Besides that; they have great entertainment every night and the buffet food wasn't bad. We tried most of the restaurants there. The Japanese restaurant which was delicious; a chef cooks in front of you. I had a really good steak at one of the restaurants for my birthday and they made sure I had a birthday cake! We also got upgraded when we arrived so we were in one of the privileges room where there's wifi. Overall it was a great relaxing trip and we definitely didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Reen_11:

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your birthday!! We love to be part of special occasions like this!

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our Japanese Restaurant (Their fried rice is to die for), our entertainment and the variety of our restaurants. I hope you and your friend enjoyed that birthday cake!!

We are working to provide our guest more beach chair in order everyone find a nice spot to enjoy our beautiful beach.

Once again thank you!! We hope to welcome back you and your friend to Catalonia Bávaro really soon.

Best Regards!!

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,999
    3,235
    1,321
    584
    490
See reviews for
2,801
4,044
146
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We arrived on April 1st after having a 4 hour flight delay. Upon arrival, we were taken to our rooms, and given ZERO nformation about the resort. We do all inclusives every year, so we are very familiar with how service SHOULD be. After checking into our room, we decided to tour the grounds; pretty good atmosphere and moderately well maintained. Most staff are friendly but the language barrier is a bit tough. So far, the food has been good, no complaints there.
After returning to our room to unpack, shower, etc that's when it went from OK to BAD. The room is severly lacking maintenance. The shower floor is separating from the walls and moves under your feet. There is lime scale and corrosion ALL over the shower head, bath tub faucet and spouts. The shower is so small I can barely fit in it (im 5'11 and 190 lb male). The shower curtain is two feet short and the bathroom floor gets soaked because of it.
We went down the first night at 10pm to explain how unhappy we were at the customer service desk. She told us we would have a note the next morning witn some options. Well now it's two days later, and still nothing. Last night our key was lost for the safety deposit box, so we went to customer service again, right around 945 pm. The woman said no problem someone will be there shortly and to go wait at the room. At midnight I couldnt wait any longer and went to sleep. This morning we go back to the same woman at the service desk, and she tells me I didn't fill out an inventory form. I then informed her that she did not give that to me the night before. She just kept saying "well you need to fill this out". She then said go wait in your room and someone will be there in 15 mimutes. Fifteen minutes was acutally almost an hour. Then I was told I have to pay $50 for the new lock, WHAT A JOKE!!!! I wish we could leave now, but we're here until Tuesday. At least we have the beach.

Room Tip: Best way to get a good room would be to go to a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danyon411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I was checking all hotels at punta Cana this was last minute choice this hotel is about 20 minutes from airport .... Surroundings are amazing beautiful .... Everybody there take really care of you (thanks Heidy Collado ,Maria at Gran Caribe always smiling and making jokes with my daughter ).... Food at Mikado , Toscana , Rodeo really good and desserts SUPERB !!! .... And do not put too much attention in all reviews that said is a lot of walking involved here .... hello !!!you are on vacation enjoy the view ....

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Ana J:

Is always our pleasure to help our guest to have the most wonderful experience the can have. For me and for the rest of the staff, was a big pleasure to accommodate you during your time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next stay. I will be thrilled to help you once again!

Thank you for your review. I hope to welcome you back really soon!!

Greetings from Punta Cana!

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were there with my girlfriend in march for 9 days. We had great time and did not want to go back home.

We reserved a regular room(junior suite) however when we reached there we upgraded to Honeymoon Privilege suite ( we were not in honeymoon) because it was included some of the thing we wanted to do anyway; dinner on the beach,couple massage, room close to beach.. It was a very good decision as addition to the all the perks, there was a separate part for privilege which allow us find seats easier during holiday. Also the tapas dinner that was only for privilege, was really good. Plus our building was the first one from the beach which was awesome.

I was reading the comments before the trip and there was some complaints but after the trip i can easily say this place is awesome. We fall in love with the beach and the ocean. All areas in the resort kept very well, lots of tropical flowers, plants and animals around. You can have your breakfast with flamingos in the main buffet.

Food was great too. Main buffet was huge, everybody can find lots of things to eat. Fruits are amazing during all breakfast lunch and dinner. There is second buffet restaurant near by the pool for breakfast and lunch but we preferred to walk to the main buffet as it is surrounded by a pool which hosts flamingos and some other birds as well as fishes. Privilege has a private area in both buffets which was very good. We went to italian, mexican and japanese a la cartes and they were average.Show was good at japanese. Lobster dinner on the beach was unique experience which i recommend everyone.

Bars and drinks were better than i expected. we brought our own large cups and got all drinks into those. we tipped everyone and received very good service all the time. after the second day we never went to the bar to get drinks as waiters around the pool and beach remembered us (because we tip) and brought us drinks in our cups. Lobby bar has better quality of drinks. There is another bar for privilege in between pool and main buffet( night time)

we didnt care much about the room. it was close to the beach and that s what we needed. housekeeping gave us 2-3 bottles of water everyday which was enough as there was water in every bar and restaurant.

staff was mostly great and friendly. Our favorites were; Yordanis and Francesca serving by the pool and beach. Elvis serving in Italian restaurant and main buffet. Francis lobby bar(great margarita), sandy pure bar and spaghetti from animation team. %80 of staff speaks english.

favorite show: circus

tip: there is a corral reef in front of royal catalonia which is a adult only version of the same resort.

overall, it was great vacation. i can not think of anything that we didnt like. this place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: upgrade to privilege to be close to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jleonct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Jleonct:

Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. Is great that the first thing I read was that you did not want to go back home.

We are happy that you enjoyed the resort's facilities and were able to also enjoy an upgrade to our honeymoon Privileged Suite and all the extra perks that this includes. I'm excited to note that you truly liked your lobster dinner on the beach.

Thank you for mentioning some of our great staff like Francis, Sandy, Francesca, Yordanis and Spaguetti. They will be thrilled to know you mentioned them on Trip Advisor.

Once again thank you for recommending us, We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards.

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

All good. Accommodations were very nice and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful - we had a problem with the hair dryer in our room and it was fixed within minutes. Food was excellent - lots of selection and the restaurants we tried were very good. Especially liked the Italian Restaurant. The nightly shows were very entertaining most especially the Michael Jackson tribute. Overall a wonderful vacation - some little blips but nothing worth complaining about. Buy your bottle to bring home from the Mini Mart at the Resort - it is about a third of the cost of the Duty Free Shop at the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMK259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you posting your lovely comments about Catalonia Bávaro on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate all your kind comments regarding the service, facilities and our gastronomic offer at the property. Also thank you for recommending our shopping area!

We look forward to seeing you again when you return for your next stay.

Sincerely,

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The resort offered the best of everything.The service,food,rooms,beach and golf was exceptional.We had a chance to play both golf courses the 9 and 18 hole course.The two courses were very nice and you don't have to be a pro to enjoy them.If we visit next year we hope to experience the Privilege Jacuzzi Suite .

Room Tip: I feel that you can't go wrong with any of the rooms that are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Charlie C:

Thank you so much for your review!

It was a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your time with us and had the chance to appreciate our golf courses. You will love the Privileged suites with the private pool!

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Catalonia Bávaro in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Heidy L. Collado
Management Assistant
CATALONIA BÁVARO Beach, Golf & Casino Resort *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

After reading some reviews we weren't sure on this resort but don't believe everything you read, this resort was fantastic. I was there with a group of friends and we had a great time. First food was fantastic - buffets so many choices of different foods (churros to die for), we made it to 3 of the a la cartes and there was no wait time and food was excellent. 24 hour grill was always tastey. Rooms were clean, spacious, well maintained (shower was a tad small but was usable).Beach was nice, but we enjoyed the pool much more. Staff was friendly, helpful and enjoyable to be around. Nightly shows were fun, icebreakers are always a good time, favorite show was Michael Jackson and Sat Nite Fever. The entertainment staff was awesome, they were great to try to involve everyone in the games and dance lessons. The people who make our trip enjoyable Fernando, Ezequiel, Ana, Leonel, Big Mama and Spagetti a big thanks, you definately make us want to return to this resort.

Room Tip: we stayed in villa 21 on third floor, close to pool, beach and 24 hour grill
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Kelley G:

Thank you for such a great review regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Bávaro.

I'm excited to read that you enjoyed our food (I know churros are the best, I always recommend them), the theme restaurants and our spacious pool. Thank you for your comments about our great staff, especially part of our Animation team: Fernando, Ezequiel, Ana, Leonel, Big Mama and Spagetti. I'm really happy to know they made your trip more enjoyable.

I definitely hope to see you soon in Catalonia Bávaro!

Kind Regards,

Heidy L. Collado
Asistente Dirección & Comité Ejecutivo / Management Assistant & Executive Committee
HOTEL CATALONIA BAVARO BEACH, GOLF & CASINO RESORT*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
12.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
9.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
5.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
36.3 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Property: Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing