We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value! Great Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #55 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a last minute trip to this resort in Punta Cana. Package deal thru delta vacations. Transfer from A/P to hotel was 20minutes. Customs charges $10 before stamping your passport. Hotel/resort spread over a large piece of property. They accomodated our request to stay as close to the beach as possible. There are many activities everyone can partake in ranging from water sports to learning merengue on the beach to an iguana enclosure. Food was average but plentiful. There was no air conditioning in common areas of the resort except for the specialty restaurants and the "privileged" office. Air conditioning in room could have been stronger. Good variety on the nightly entertainment. Beach was awesome! We couldnt understand why people would hang out only by the pool. Dinner on the beach, which was an extra, was worth it. Hard to get into the japanese hibachi restaurant, you had to be there at the right time to get seated otherwise you would have to wait to the next seating which was never disclosed by the hostess due to her not knowing accurately when it would be. the mexican place was good. steakhouse and italian were ok. Overall Great resort, good value, staff was very good, facilites were well maintained. Very relaxed and chilled vacation. A tip to the staff goes a long way.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, ask for a room closest to the water but it will be a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grkjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for extending us your kind compliments about our property. It is a pleasure to know all your expectations were exceeded. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.

We truely hope you can visit us soon,

It will be our pleasure to service you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,282 - 2,288 of 10,953 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I can not comment on other people's experiences with the food and employees, but my girlfriend and I stayed from August 20- 24 and absolutely fell in love with this resort. The resort itself is absolutely beautiful and vast with tropical foliage, beautiful birds, fish ponds, an iguana cage, and a beach with scenery that belongs on a post card or computer screen saver. Honestly, you would have to be somewhat fastidious to find anything wrong with the way the resort was presented. I will say that they need to update the pics for the resort because my girl and I said they don’t do enough justice for how pretty it is. They have many activities to do on the grounds like archery, dartboards, kayaking, snorkeling, banana boats, scuba diving, MAMA JUANA. If you just want to relax you can find a quiet umbrella to sit under or a hammock to lay in. If you feel bothered by people offering excursions just be polite yet firm and they will leave you alone. For me it was not bad interacting with the excursion agents as they could offer advice and suggestions, and many were friendly.

The staff, from the front desk to the maids were warm and courteous, and would try to accommodate our requests in a timely manner. Everyone from the groundskeepers to the restaurant employees would always greet with a smile, and a friendly Hola! A special “shout out” to Freddie Manager at Gran Caribe. Unlike the last review, we did not get any illness from the food or water. There is bottled water, soda, and alcohol included throughout the room and resort. The food is delicious with Japanese, Mexican, American Steakhouse( really good), and Italian cuisines. We didn’t even get to go the other restaurants, and that should say something about the variety of selections you have.

The excursions offered at the resort, (Shout out” Victor) were awesome. We went on a 3 -in- 1 excursion which was totally worth the money: Snuba( scuba-like), Power Boat Driving, and Snorkeling. Incredible. Also went on a buggie excursion to Hoyo Azul. Incredible. Look it up pictures, are in the review. Sorry for the review being long but you will definitely enjoy this place. I love mama juana, Catalonia Bavaro, and Punta Cana.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jetsetterforever2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest:

On behalf of the Catalonia Bávaro Resort Staff, we want to thank you for your kind remarks about our property and staff.

It is with great pleasure and honor that we service each of our guests to make their experience out of the ordinary. It is because of you, our valued guests, that we are driven to work with enthusiasm and warmth.

We certainly will be ready to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is good but after 4 days staying out of 7 I got Diarrhea..I think its the water or food...make sure you have medication for it...also the 4 hrs park excursion is ok..just plan to stay there untill 5:30pm when the bus pick you up...it leave the hotelat 12noon...The shows there is ok..I did not like on Friday evening when the venders outside the buffet restaurant trys to sell me something..watch out...also the kid camp close at 5pm and no camp for a teens so prepare to have your teen with you when you want to be with your husband or wife... on the beach everyone wants to sell you an excurson..not good if you dont want to be bothered..trying to get something repaired in the rooms is like pulling tooth so be persistant..If you dont like second hand SMOKING dont come here...people smoke everywhere...when I say everywhere I mean everywhere...the balcony,the lounge area,the bar,the beach,the pool,the stage area..The only place that is SMOKE FREE is the Restaurant and you room...my family is from New York and we hate second hand smoking...we was in the lounge area and had to hide the ash tray to get some relief from the smoking L.O.L. If you want to shop..take a taxi to the local market and you will get better prices...not at the hotel or where the free bus takes you to their people to rip you off..I WONT COME BACK TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at this resort in April for 7 days and had a blast! Honestly, I didn't have high expectations for this resort based on the pictures on their website, however, I believe we received a newly renovated room, which was very spacious, and the resort itself was absolutely beautiful (You really should update the pictures on the website because the resort was beautiful and you're probably losing out on business). The food was very good, there were so many different places to eat! Out of the à la carte, my favourites were the Japanese and Italian! Unfortunately, the Steakhouse was a disappointment for everyone in my party. The staff were very friendly, especially the bartenders! It is a quiet resort with a large pool and a beautiful beach and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetotravel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Bávaro Resort.

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our services and facilities, and I know my team will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.
It is an honor for us to be part of specials occasions, we are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Food was ok the check in takes forever the room is nice but they dont come to clean up until 5pm and each time we called for room service it took an hour or not at all but the view of the beach and pool is amazing

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgardocki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us online about your stay here at Catalonia Bavaro Resort.

I appreciate your feedback, and hope you give us the chance to make it right, we are glad that you enjoy the beach and the pool,

Finally, I would like to ask you to give us other opportunity to improve your experience, to us; it will be an honor host you in the future and exceed your expectations.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Let me break it down to you:
-FOOD: the BEST food you'll ever eat in your life. Whether it's the buffet, the Japanese, the Italian, the steak house or the Mexican, they are all equally delicious with amazing staff and props for the theme. The snack bar was soooo good with a great variety for a snack bar.
-BEACH: First was not that amazing but later on it was CRYSTAL blue you can see some little fish swimming on the shore with you.
-SWIMMING AREA: Huge swimming pool with very nice décor (fountain, jacuzzi, palm trees on islands). Enough seats for everyone.
-ROOM: Not the best :/ Well actually it's very modern and spacious but we had some maintenance problems where our ceiling was leaking some water and that would wet the whole room and create this humidity bad smell. The maintenance people came many times but they know nothing and actually made it worse. Also, they don't wash the sheets all the time, maybe once or twice by week for environmental reasons. However you can specify to them that you want it changed everyday.
-SERVICE: The servers are very busy because the hotel is huge and packed. However, they would bend backwards for you only if they can, they are very nice!
-ANIMATION: The whole staff was so much fun and they would do anything just so that you would never get bored. There was yoga on the beach, aerobics in the sea and in the pool, archery, volleyball, water polo, bachata and salsa dancing lessons, and many more! The nightly shows were PROFESSIONAL! You get everything -comedy, dancing, sketches, crowd engagement, singing- :D
EXTRA: We had great wifi connection in the room without even paying for privilege or anything.

Room Tip: -Do not pay extra for the privileged as there was practically no difference. -Pick rooms in buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hellovaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience at Catalonia Bávaro Resort.

It is always a pleasure to read about the wonderful time you, our valued guest, had during your stay. Our staff is thrilled to know that you enjoyed everything , the views, the pool, the beach and their great service. It warms our hearts, to learn that we helped create the vacation you were dreaming of.

We will be glad to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I just returned from a week stay (August 7th through August 14th) at the Catalonia Punta Cana Bavaro Beach. This was my first time to the Dominican Republic, and based on my experience at the Catalonia, I will be back! The hotel grounds were beautiful and the beach was beyond words. The ground crew does an excellent job making sure everything is well kept. The staff is very friendly, always greeting guests with a smile and a “Buen Día.”
As for the food, I don’t know what to say about the negative comments posted here. The main buffet had a variety of food --- pasta, pizza, rice, beans, fresh grilled fish, vegetables, fruits, and plenty of desserts to keep anyone happy. The buffet by the beach was great for lunch as was the snack bar (really good pizza).
Aside from the beach, I would have to say the best thing about this hotel is the animation team. They did a fantastic job keeping guests entertained all day from aerobics and archery on the beach to the show at night. “Chocolate” and “Spaghetti” were great, always smiling and joking around. The resort also had great music playing all day and night! I wish they had a CD of all the music they play.
My only complaint, and it’s not even really a complaint, would be the housekeeping. Our room was cleaned every day, but there were parts that could have used a bit more attention, mainly the bathroom. Other than that, forget the negative reviews and stay at the Hotel Catalonia Bavaro Beach.

Muchísimas gracias a todos en el Hotel Catalonia, son muy amables. Me lo pasé muy bien y no puedo esperar a volver.

De Colorado, Danielle

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanieC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, Director General at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would first of all like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us and the rest of the T.A reviewers such an enthusiastic review!

We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom i`m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.

It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful experience in our Hotel, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities, our culinary experience and the service provided for all our staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
6,020 reviews
3.9 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino
9.8 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,458 reviews
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $176 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing