We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #59 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed march 24-31. I was really worried after we had already booked and read some the of reviews, I think if you don`t love this resort and have a good time you probably have expectations that are way too high and a $1000 trip isn't going to cover your expectations. Right away we met a few people that we hung out with most of the trip and it was a amazing time.

Grounds- Are beautiful. Gorgeous scenery and I give it a 5 star.

Staff- Was excellent. No complaints, all very friendly and do their best to keep you happy. Watch our for the vendors that try to sell you jewelry worth $5 and try to charge you $250! They give you a free gift and then try to force you to buy their stuff, and get very offensive when you say no after they give you a ridiculous price....they tell you the jewelry is real and is it NOT.

Food- I loved the buffett by the lobby, they make the food fresh infront of you with your choice of what goes in it. Fav was the pasta.
The buffett by the pool is not so great.
Al el carts- Japanese is by far the best, we went twice. go at 6:30 or you will wait 2 hours.

Rooms- yes a little out dated. We gave our maid a tip everyday and our room was kept clean and stocked daily. They only provide you with 2 beers a day, but if you call they give you more.
The only complaint I have, if you don't upgrade to privilege, you don`t get a alarm clock. We didn't bring any electronics so we always had to call to get the time. I didn't know that knowing the time was a privileged thing. We asked for one and they said no. Showers are tiny, I weigh 110 and every time I turned my butt turned off the water. Not sure how larger people shower..
And as far as pillows, I didn't bother to bring my own even after reading the reviews, they were fine to me, but I usually had quite a few drinks into me by bed time.

Entertainment- Was great, Defiantly go to the beach party Tuesday night, I think that was our funnest night.

Excursions- We did 3. The night club Imagine. It was good, we were a little skeptical of going. It is suppose to be all people form resorts but obviously some locals go to and one tried to follow me into the bathroom. Sketchy. Was still pretty cool though if you like to party. We did the Caribbean festival and it was so much fun! Swam with sharks and stingrays, and drank on a pirate boat , also with a bit of snorkeling.
We also did the doom buggies- This was fun but bring your own bandana if you do this. They charge you $5 and don't tell you that you need one!
I also suggest bringing some things from the dollar store for the kids. You go through the village on this excursion and the kids wait for you to give them high five, they live in tiny huts and don`t have much. We brought some games and candy.
Beach was gorgeous, pool was gorgeous.
Bars- If you like to drink late the snack bar always has beer available. everyone went there that was still up at 5, 6 in the morning. Always pizza and fries available too. The lobby bar was probably the best! The lobby got very busy every night around 9, it was always a good time with entertainment right out side and in the lobby.
Bring your own cooler cup for day time drinking, less refills and keeps your drink colder.
Over all I loved this resort and was one of the best weeks of my life, would defiantly recommend for anyone. If you are looking to relax, or looking to party or just have fun with your family, this resort has everything.


Oh and also, as far as some people saying about the bugs, I didn't have a single bug in my room or anyone that we had met and were hanging out with. And if I did see a bug I would defiantly not blame the resort. That kind of stuff happens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEGS Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,062
    3,283
    1,348
    592
    490
See reviews for
2,846
4,107
149
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great pool staff at the pool, beach, buffet and bars/ good entertainers. Had a great rapport with "Arrow" and all the others.Steakhouse and Japanese were fantastic, at the buffet eat the stuff that the chefs are cooking on the spot, it was great.
Beach was so-so but was O.K. and the boys at the beach bar always had cold beer for you. I'll go back but will stay at Royal Catalonia side next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I will try to keep this review as short as possible; however, I must tell you all how AMAZING and SPECTACULAR this resort is. Aside from the weather being perfect everyday and only 1mm of rain during my vacation there, the hospitality was wonderful, the service was prompt and accurate and I enjoyed every moment there! The beach is beautiful, waters are crystal clear and the staff are constantly grooming and keeping up with all maintenance (beach seaweed if washed on shore, gardening, fixing cracks in concrete sidewalks). The food was great - I am very fussy and enjoyed everything. My only suggestion would be to have different variety each day - instead of the same thing each breakfast, lunch and buffet dinner). The only complaints i have is that there were two sitings of cockroaches in my bathroom and the beds/pillows were not overly comfortable (I did not spend too much time in the room though - but for sleeping it was not overly comfy) besides that no complaints at all!! I enjoyed my trip and would go back tomorrow :) The two people I went along with say the exact same!

Room Tip: Our location was in villa 21 and we were just steps away from the pool which had swim-up bar, buffet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The rooms were clean and taken care of. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The place is rather large and you do have alot of walking to do but the grouds are beautiful and the beach even better. We never had problems finding chairs at the beach or by the pool. They always had fresh towels for you to get. Plenty of things going on but they don't give you a schedule so you have no idea what is going on and where. You kind of just come across things and then miss others because you didnt know about it. The entertainment staff was good but not great. There were not many people that spoke english but we did okay with only knowing a few words in spanish. It would have been nice to be able to ask more questions with someone who could understand you.

The staff was friendly though and for the most part helpful. We never had problems getting drinks at any of the bars. We took two excursions and had no issues. The food is average and about the same as any other place. There was always something to eat and the snack bar has super good burgers and chicken daily. They also have a 24 hour soda, water and beer fountain and I was very happy that they had Pepsi instead of coke for once. There is always ice in the machine there also.

I would visit again but we would prefer a place a little smaller and with more things to do at night. It would be nice if they gave out a better schedule to you when checking in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I would like to say that this has been our second time at this resort. After five years I have found the resort to still be at its best. The staff is friendly and helpful. I want to especially make comments on the animators who always try to make you move and enjoy your day. Miguel and "Big Mama" are great employees and alot of fun. We were upgraded to a priviledge room which was realy nice and our maid Emilia did everything to make our stay comfortable. After a full day we would get a ride back to our room (building 19) by Oscar. He was very pleasant. The beach was always cleaned in the morning and being away from all the other resorts make you feel safe as most people on the beach are from the Catalonia resort.

Jose the Manager of the buffet restaurant is the nicest person we have met. We had him as a waiter 5 years ago and to be remembered after that length of time made us feel special.

We were at the Managers reception but were not recognize as being returning guest. I hope you will update your computer. Our room was 1927 check in on March 24, 2013.

Karina the Hostess at the Italian restaurant always greeting you with a smile.

I would recommend this resort to anyone. I plan on returning to this resort and also try the Catalonia resorts in Riviera Maya. Hopefully we will be treated as nice in Mexico as we were in Punta Cana.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was quite excited to be coming to the Catalonia, there were 8 of us 4 sisters & 4 friends. Arrived late March 31. Grounds were 5 star, staff were 5 star, beach was 5 star...........The place is so big, hard to find a chair at the beach or pool. People were stacked towel to towel! Beach is beautiful and very scenic. The pool could have been cleaned more often. it was kinda scuzzy, the buildup of scum upon entry causing it to be very slippery and dangerous. Any other resort we have been too we have always seen someone with a push broom cleaning the scum from the pool. Didn't see anyone ever cleaning this one. And the place was so big I think it could use another pool closer to the lobby. The ponds and lagoons were nice but another pool would have been nicer. Speaking of the ponds and lagoons, they need to be lit up at night and the walkways should not be the same color of the water, very dangerous !.

And a couple of more bathrooms down by the beach would be a good idea as well.

Our room had a king size bed which was not comfy at all, find your spot and don't move, the pillows were a complete joke!! However the beds in our sisters room were nice pillow tops and very comfy, same pillows though. Room needs updated, tiles regrouted. Balcony was nice and used often.

Food, blah! A la cartes, blah!

Prefer a smaller resort and prefer Jamaica. This was our 3 rd time to DR and will be my last.
I'll pay the extra next year and go to Jamaica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loopy0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The last week of March we spent a vacation in Catalonia resort. In the first day of our accommodation we were given a room situated at the very far end of the beach and closest to evening entertainment Theatre. I barely slept that night because of the excessive noise. As a result, the next morning my husband and I decided to upgrade our room to the privilege room, although an extra $250 dollars weren’t a part of our budget. Taking into the consideration the fact that the entire area of the hotel is compact and there are a limited number of quiet rooms with a nice view located close to the beach. Our second frustration was a morning restaurant located at the beach. Best of the few tables had pleasant outlook on the beach area, while the rest were simply in the middle of the room. Occasionally, these few became the most demanded spots to be occupied at first. As we noticed, some good tables joint together remain empty even when the place was pretty crowded. Upon our inquiry about the reservation of the morning breakfast table, a supervisor uneasy separated jointed tables with a great lack of motivation. After that incident, every time we entered the place, he escaped instantly with a profound anger on his face. We enjoyed the quality of food while trying to not concentrate on these minor distortions. Here, I would like to mention that this is our second trip to Punta Cana and as we previously had a great experience with Melia Tropical Hotel, our opinion about Catalonia was build on the comparison of both. If Catalonia hotel was living its own life and tourists either had enough flexibility to accept it or not, the personnel of Melia were more disciplined. This is primarily reflected on our third unfortunate experience with a Mexican restaurant. We waited 10 minutes for the waitress to take our order, before deciding to leave without a meal. As we stood up showing our intention, the waitress instantly took the order and for the rest of the evening we were served in a professional manner. Lastly, and most importantly, I want to point out the fact, that privileged area of the beach is small enough to accommodate only its members, but in reality many couples preoccupied the designated for members area without a permission. This resulted in a lack of sheltered spots with a close access to water, and conflicts between the members. In several instances we were forced to wake up around 6 am just to reserve a spot with our personal belongings, only to find out that our things have been thrown out by other privileged tourists. In conclusion, my husband arrived home very ill and had to spend four consecutive days in bed with severe symptoms. In my opinion Catalonia Bavaro Resort does not deserve a four and a half star hotel rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaterinaK221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
9.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
12.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#44 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
5.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Property: Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing