We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary we never forget…in bad way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Puerto Rico
1 review
“Anniversary we never forget…in bad way!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is not my first experience at Punta Cana. I travel before to Bavaro Beach, Bahia Principe etc more than five times to different locations and had a great time. Last year we went to the Aqua Hotel in Cancun and it was amazing! No words.

My husband and I travel for the first time to Catalonia Hotel. The Hotel looks very similar to the pictures we saw on the internet. The room was awesome decorated and very romantic for couples. The cleaning was average.
We travel between August and September, 2012. The first restaurants we visited the food was awful very cold I think it was already made. The Dominican service is always excellent, very nice people.

The worst was the mosquitos, we live in the Caribbean and we never had such a bad experience. I had more that 50 bites in each of my feet. The pools looked cleaned but when we got inside they were very dirty. When I got home I had to go to the hospital with a severe ear infection, later also to an INT specialist. This is all true, I love Punta Cana but this last Hotel left me with a very bad flavor.

Best Wishes, Vilma

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VilmariL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comment. We apologize for the inconveniences occurred during your stay.

We will follow up the aspects mentioned, to improve our service and prevent this from happening again.

In the future, we hope you can return and give us the opportunity to pamper you as we know.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,168
    3,331
    1,375
    596
    431
See reviews for
2,887
4,163
153
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is very big, but services are very poor. People who are serve were very unpleasant and rood. In any restaurants Managers don't care and not overlook servant; they try do not serve people. Once my son lost his patience and we have to left lunch because after we asked 5 people to give us some drink they not only ignore us, but make a fun (may be want some tips even before service!). In comparison with an excellent services in other hotels (like Ibero Star in Puerto Plata) administration of this Hotel do not care if people like this hotel and want to return. They just want to give a good vacation price and do not mind what opinion people will have after this terrible vacation. Entertainment was extremely poor also!
What a terrible vacation firs time in DR!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Client:

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent holiday experience at Catalonia Bavaro Resort. We take very serious all your comments and use them to help us improve our services and facilities.

Please accept our sincerest apology, these unforeseen events have no doubt caused you some dissatisfaction and we want you to know that this is certainly not typical of our hotel.

We can only hope that you will return and allow us the opportunity to erase the unpleasant moment and pamper you.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

After we bought our vacation package to Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro resort at itravel2000 website we got a little upset by the weather forecast which predicted rain every day for the first week of September and a hurricane season at its peak. But when we arrived in Punta Cana the weather turned out to be the exact opposite: sun every day, no mosquitos (we have seen only a few ones), fabulous warm sea and sandy beach with palm trees. Punta Cana airport has been our the first pleasant surprise - very modern, spacious, with huge fans on the ceilings, very fast customs procedure and just 20 minutes ride to the resort. The check in was pretty smooth as well. The territory of the resort is huge and very beautiful, there is a sufficient number of restaurants and snack bars with a wide selection of food for all tastes. Lots of fruit and vegetables (pine apples, mangos, water melons, catalupes, papaya etc.). Freshly squeezed juices every morning. We didn't like the taste of some cooked dishes because of the specific spices they use, but there was always an alternative to choose something different. The restaurants and all the territory are very clean, the beach is just fabulous. The only weak point that we found in the resort is that they didn't clean the room every day (you never know when you can expect them to come and bring clean towels). I had to call the reception once, but they immediately solved all the problems.
We liked the room (junior suite) which was quite spaceous and comfortable. There was plenty of bottled water in the room so we were not concerned about drinking water problem.
The resort is very tastefully designed with beautiful ponds, fountains and terraces all around. We have been also impressed with the a la carte restaurants, which turned out to be much better than at other resorts (we went to Japanese and Italian restaurants). Overall impression of the resort is very good.

Room Tip: Our room was #2002 - it has very convenient location close to the sea and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Aries2056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Client:

Thank you for choosing us, we are very pleased to read your comment. We are very satisfied that you had a wonderful time.

We are glad to know that your expectations were exceeded wich is our main goal.
Investigate the problem with the room, as these are cleaned every day.

We look forward to welcome you again!

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was my first time in the Dominican Republic, and after staying at the Catalonia, I can't wait to go back!

My friend and I are both 21, and a bit worried about running around a foreign country by ourselves, but I felt completely safe and comfortable 100% of the time.

From the moment we walked into the amazing lobby to check out, we were always treated so well, and every one that helped us through our stay was absolutely amazing. The employees really try to give you the best experiences!

The food was absolutely delicious! My personal favorite was the Japanese-style restaurant, and the different choices at the buffet were awesome as well.
Not only was the food great, but who can forget the alcohol? The bars set up throughout the entire resort were great, and they definitely were not watered down at all like some people warned me about all-inclusive hotels.

The activities were impressive, with a nightly show, as well as different activities every day like jumbo inflatable water slides in the pool one day, or my favorite - the beach party!

The only downsides to our stay and the reason why I can't give the property a 5 rating is because we definitely came back with a couple of bed bug bites, there was a ton of seaweed on the beach, and always had to call in for towels, or to have someone clean our room - then again, we took these situations lightly, considering that what we paid for the vacation was practically a steal.

Other than that, if you're looking for a cheap, awesome vacation of a lifetime, definitely hit up Catalonia Bavaro!

Shout out to Juana (the casino bartender - where you can get a quick drink without having to push and shove in the lobby bar), Wilquin (the excursions coordinator, who set us up on a great tour, and disco deal), Freddy at the "Pizza Hut", and Claudio at the scuba diving and snorkling desk!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Valued Client:

Please know that we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments as it helps us to know the opinions of our clients.

We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much. We will review your observations to improve our service.

We look forward to welcome you again. Do not hesitate to contact us.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

First time in the RD, the hotel is very nice a good value for money, not very crowdy, food is good and therefore i recommend it.

Good hotel in general.

Although you should check the room first, ensure that water does not fall from the ceiling and ensure room is near the beach, becase if you stay near the lobby you'll have a long walk..

Theres are not so much activities in the beach, you can use the kayak and the katamaran, please ensure that when the boy ask you if you know how to use the katamaran, you say yes, because if you say he'll ask you 35USD for lessons...

Photos very expensive, each printed photo, 20 USD. the don't provide digital

only 1 bar at the beach... drinks very far...

Don't serve food at the beach...

Need to wake at 6 AM to get a Sun hut.... although there are some shades... but huts very limited. And very borred not to get one... pleople usually put the towels at 6AM and go to have breakfast...

You need to fight to get a sun hut...

Room Tip: choose a room near the beach Don't choose the a room in the ground floor.. choose floor 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HugoSilvaLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments.

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may have encountered with your room. At the present, we have along the entire year a preventive maintenance program in order to keep improving our areas of opportunity.

In the future, we hope that you can come back and give us the opportunity to pamper you.

Greetings from Catalonia Bavaro!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were transfered at this hotel instead of Be Live Grand Bavaro, and nothing to say! Staff is fun and Restaurant Mikado is the best one ;) Lookea Team is fun too with Bernadette, Paulo and Melanie, and BIg Kisses to Linda & Karine, they'll recognize themselves

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martin-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much.

All the comments you have sent us about customer service are more than helpful, and we appreciate the feedback we received from our valuable guests.

We look forward to welcome you again!

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are staying at this hotel at this very moment but after only two days full of problems it has become more than clear that this hotel does NOT deserve 5 Stars. This is my eitght time in the dominican republic and I have been in the Carribean many more times, but all the four star hotels I stayed in so far had a better service... and imagine me saying this especially because I had contracted the "priviledge" service of Catalonia hotels which was supposed to give me an even better service in the end. The rooms are basic, installations are nice but NOT amazing, and for example they have only two catamarans to reserve for sailing for all these guests (a third one is down for repairs)... so not at all espectacular, alhough nice.
I do not want to be unfair so I have to exclude from my harsh judgement the kitchen and restaurant staff which are really doing their very best to make this the perfect stay: as I am having problems with food allergies are preparing for me a special meal every time and that works really well, and the waiter an waitresses ae amazing, friendly and mostly attentive...
Summary: I would prepae to go back to 4 Star Iberostar (a few kilometres to the South) before coming back here. It simply gave ma a better overall impression during my last stay there, in Dec. 2011.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Hengst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
9.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
12.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#81 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
5.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Property: Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing