We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Ranked #55 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 12, 2011

As traveling and staying in various types of resorts and hotels, I would like to give my opinion of our stay with as accurate comparisons as possible.

Quick Review:
Nice time, nice hotel. Nothing fancy, great for families and or couples. night entertainment slightly cheesy, but fun. Daytime entertainment fine. Food- didn't go hungry, but have had better, and worse. You truly can make it what you want. Would I go back? To Punta Cana, Yes, this hotel? I would try another one, just to compare but if were a great deal would stay again.
***note our electrical outlets in our room were American two prong style. If you have a cord with 3 prongs (ground prong) it won't fit. Take a 3-to-2 adapter.***

Detail review:

My wife and I were celebrating our 6yr anniversary and looking to stay in the Dominican Republic for the first time. We were not wanting to 'go all out' for an endless budget vacation, but didn't want to stay in a run down place for dirt cheap. The overall price for this location seemed to fit the bill.

While we have stayed anywhere from a Days Inn to Hilton and Marriott, for a resort I would place this in a category along the line of a Holiday Inn type. Not a high end resort, but not a bottom dollar. Maybe a 3 star type based on cleanliness, amenities, food, and service.

Some reviews are hit or miss. We understand that we are traveling to a somewhat under developed country (compared to the USA) and understand to not expect ALL the luxuries of that of the USA.

Resort Food: We did not go hungry what so ever, and there is something for every type person I think.
It was okay, as with any buffet style food, it is bland with little to no spices or added flavor (like southern cooking lol) so salt and pepper to your taste. I take this as the way to cater to those that might have allergies etc. Be creative and you can make your own type of food (example taking mashed potatoes from one tray and the gravy from the roasted beef tray and had the best mashed potatoes and gray I've had in a long time)

The a-la-cart restaurants, were a nice break up from the buffet. Again food was okay, the japaneese was probably our best pick We were able to go to everyone once and repeat one if desired. We didn't repeat any of them.

We did have the 'romantic dinner on the beach'. Pick the later one (6:30 or 8:30) as the 6:30 one people are still on the beach or in the water. No big deal to us, but thought I'd share the info. Food was good (we had the lobster. Yes it was a whole lobster per person cut in half right down the middle. 4 course meal and took about 4 hours. Wife loved it.)

Wood fired pizza near the pool was awesome, and everyone knew it as it went fast.

Rooms:
For our anniversary, they also at no charge gave us a congratulation cake, bottle of rum, and a fruit tray.
We booked the "privileged" room, which had rooms closer to the beach, but made the walk to the main dining further. We didn't mind as we enjoyed the walk.
We had a problem with the tv in the room and had to report it 3 days in a row before it was fixed. Our tv was a 19" model non flat panel, which didn't matter to us. The mini-bar only had sodas, water, and beer (no liquor, no big deal) and took about a day to cool a newly added beverage, so plan accordingly. We asked for a king size bed when booking, which we did get, but the other 'double' bed was left in the room taking up space, but didn't bother us as we used it for the suit cases. No issues with theft and our maids were friendly. The in room wifi didn't work for 2 days, called the front desk, then finally worked. It never would work on the ipad (unless in the lobby), but the laptop worked fine. We like to travel with the comforts of home, and contact family back home.

**yes there is a slight musky smell as there is in all tropical locations that we have stayed in, we just take a dryer sheet and put in the air vent. That is just our way of dealing with it and not complaining about it.You won't notice the smell anymore. ***

I did scuba diving with the shop at the resort and took my own gear. Nice people, small boat, no ladder to get in or out of. I had no issues but some might. Dive locations lacked what I have experienced before but still better than diving in the cold quarry at home. With my wife being a non-diver, I decided to go the the conveniently close shop as apposed to being away with her alone for a long time.

The beach was beautiful with all the palm trees on the beach and yes there was a lot of seaweed but the beach crew kept it cleaned up many times daily and was not an issue. The water was extremely calm like a bath tub. No waves. Very nice, if looking for waves, it's not here.

While on the dive boat I saw a 'flea market' probably less than 10 min walk on the beach (face the ocean and turn left). We did not go as we went to another one instead before I saw this one. The other 'flea market' less than 5 min walk (facing ocean turn right. walk in front of the 'Catalonia Royal' side of the beach, follow path) Can kinda be over whelming so be prepared to say No thank you. They will tell you they all have the same stuff and they do to a point. But after we politely ignored some of them we found some different things at the other shops. Haggle Haggle Haggle. This flea market and the resort gift shops had most of the trinkets we were looking for cheaper than other places we went to.

The pools were nice and never had an issue finding a chair or beach hut (can't remember name) as we get up early, mostly before the 'rush crowd' showed up.
***warning there are commissioned tour guide salesman roaming the grounds during the day*** sometimes they can be annoying to some people, we made friends with a few even though we didn't buy anything. Be ready to say no thank you if approached and they will leave you alone.
***Go to front lobby and book the safari tour (again haggle the price) it is an all day trip and very worth it. you will not regret it one bit.***

The pool bar staff worked as fast as we've seen from a laid back country. We tip even though not needed, but not every time. Some people would say they took too long, but we were on vacation and time wasn't an issue for us. The best drinks we had were at the bar next to the front desk and theater. Kelvin and Eddie took very good care of us.

All in all it was not the worst place by any means. We had a great time and for the money enjoyed our vacation. If we had paid what we usually pay, we would have expected more, but it was a good value for the money. Short ride from the airport, although not within walking distance to any local shops or restaurants.

Room Tip: Privilege rooms closer to beach but further from main dinning and themed restaurants. Not sure extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Islander_Wanna_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much.

All the comments you have sent us about customer service are more than helpful, and we appreciate the feedback we received from our valuable guests.

First of all, let me offer you a sincere apology for the inconveniences you may have encountered while staying in our Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and help us in the quality processes we have. In our Catalonia Hotels, so that we may prove that 100% Guest’s satisfaction is our main goal.

Receive warm regards from all our staff.


Thank you for choosing us!


Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,871 - 2,877 of 11,078 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Me my husband, my mam, dad, brother and his girlfriend have just returned from the Catalonia bavaro hotel. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, the rooms were ok just basic I wouldn't class them as 5 star!! In the main dinning room there was no air con as the seating area was out side so it was very hot, there were lots of birds around while you were eating and bird poo!! Food was basic nothing special, the pizzas, chicken nd chips were good at the pool bar nd the cocktails are really tasty!! In the main bar you can get smirnoff vodka, baileys, jim beam, disarrano. The beer is a local beer called presidente it was ok!! Take lots of insect repellant as the mosquitos are really bad, the hotel do spray the resort but I think it makes the Mosquitos more aggressive!! There is people on the resort that try and sell you trips, the trips are ok, but you will get hasseled off the locals while you are on your trip as they drop you off at local gift shops, which is annoying!! The entertainment on an evening was good if you could speak Spanish they do not cater for English people which really let the entertainment down. The michael Jackson show was brilliant!! The casino is air conditioned and a nice change to sitting out in the swealtering heat! They have a disco on site that starts when the lobby bar closes and the bar is also part of the all inclusive package! The 4 al a carte restaurants on site are air conditioned and We rated them as follows: 1 Japanese 2 steak 3 Italians and by far the worst is 4 the Mexican! The pool bar serves beer after the disco closes and serves chicken, chips and hotdogs all night!! The hotel was ok but I wouldn't stay there again or recommend it to a friend!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mandy220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations. In addition, we will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future.

Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from our customers.

It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I went to this hotel a couple of months ago and the experience was awful. We booked four rooms for 5 nights and on the first night one of the rooms was broken in and a lot of our things were stolen. The worst part was that when we complained they did not make any effort at all to to try and find out who did it or enforce security. Then on the fourth night the same thing happened to the same room when we went out to dinner and more of our things were stolen. Then again the administration did nothing. They did not investigate the issue, add some security, or even change the room for us. You would think that the security of people staying on their hotel would be their priority, but they didn't pay attention to us with this very clear security issue. They just care about getting your money the first day and then don't even pay attention to you. This definitely ruined our vacations. The hotel looks nice, the beach is beautiful, but I will never go to a place where the security is so bad and they don't care. Not worth it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
9  Thank artist16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataloniabav, General Manager at Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us to explain the issues that have occurred in your stay. We regret any inconvenience you have experienced.

Our Customer Satisfaction Team will be reviewing the information you have mentioned in your comment and conducting a full investigation as deemed appropriate to resolve this matter.

Allow us to follow up your case and please contact the Management at: bavaro.adireccion@hoteles-catalonia.es

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

hi just back from catalonia stayed for 2 weeks wouldnt recomend it to anyone only nice thing there was staff in dinning area the food is awfull flys everywhere if your not fussy it will be ok . The reception at catalonia is the most ignarent reception iv ever seen you have to speak to 5 people before they understand youwe are british and the grounds only had 4 british couples the rest was all spanish couples . The night life is done in all languages except english would be good if you could understand it at first we got put in a room that was a sh...hole complained got moved to privalage so if your rooms not upto much complain

Room Tip: dont take anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clipper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Excellent hotel and excellent staff!
A special (very good) reference to the entertainment team, I will definitely recommend this hotel not only for couple but also for families.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoASLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

the staff were more than 5 star they made the holiday, nothing was to much trouble for them. Had a few minor problems which were soon sorted and we were give fruit ,bottles of rum as gifts .

Room Tip: take as many 1 dollar bills US, for tipping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The only reason we had to stay at this place for 12 hours was because our flight was cancelled and they
were one of the hotels accommodating all the passengers left stranded at the airport. Thanks to Canjet.
After staying at Gran Bahia Principe ESMERALDA for 2 weeks we could not believe how disgusting the CATALONIA was. Trust me I've stayed in many resorts from 3 -5+ star and this had to be the dirtiest of all.
From riches to rags.....sorry don't mean to offend anyone but I do not know how they even got 2 stars. Wish they left me at the airport instead.
This place is dirty and disgusting. I was afraid to leave my luggage in the room just incase a roach would find its way in. Rooms are musty and very smelly. Ceiling fan had an inch of dust on it. No Joke. DIRTY! Guests left their leftover food outside their door. By the time the maid picked up, I had banana peels and rice scattered in front of our door.
Awful!!
From the pictures this place looks pretty nice and I always wondered why My hubby (Travel Agency Owner) always told me it was a dump and never recommended this place to anyone.. OMG!! it's not a dump it's the slums.
The food...pathetic with bugs flying around it. The wooden tables smelled disgusting and had light fixtures with tons of dead bugs in it. No A/C..
I know i sound like Miss Prissy but please don't waste your money.
Save your money and go anywhere else...
The G. B.P ESMERALDA is expensive but excellent in all aspects. Classy, clean and top notch.
Good Luck and do not make the pictures fool you.
Travel Agents' Wife.
Sonia

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank COSTA_SS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#43 of 113 in Punta Cana
6,121 reviews
3.9 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 113 in Punta Cana
10,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#63 of 113 in Punta Cana
9,580 reviews
9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 113 in Punta Cana
2,323 reviews
1 mi away
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort

Address: Playas De Bavaro | Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 2062, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $172 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 711
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent hotel resort with exclusive, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guests to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. It is located in Playa Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana), one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic. The complex is situated 20 km from the International Airport of Punta Cana and 47 km from Higuey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Hotel
Catalonia Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Golf & Casino Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Catalonia Bavaro
Catalonia Bavaro Beach Resort
Catalonia Bavaro Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Resort Punta Cana
Catalonia Bavaro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing