We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic water and sands”
Review of Macao Beach

Macao Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Macao Buggy Adventure from Punta Cana
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Macao Beach Surf Lessons
More Info
$93.75*
and up
Buggy Tour to Rancho Macao
Ranked #5 of 91 things to do in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic water and sands”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fantastic water and sands. We enjoyed our swimming there.
Be aware of what you pay for your parasols and meal. Ask for the price before you order anything down there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nielsensfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,958
    1,569
    610
    129
    63
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best beach by far, like being on a movie set”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was the highlight of our trip, we were staying in the Fishing Lodge in Punta Cana and drove here with our rental car, the drive was easy and fast (40 min tops, (all highway, very little traffic), We got here early and were met by a man on a motor bike who led us to his restaurant near the end of the beach called 3Hermanos (see review). The beach itself is clean and quite large, it's far less traveled by tourists and you get an mix of locals and travellers, other than the occasional bus tour stopping by for a quick 10 min dunk in the water, you really don't feel like a tourist among the throngs. The water is crystal clear and their are some good waved which is nice for those who like to play in the water. this is a fishing village and as such you can see the fisherman coming and going throughout the day and the locals coming to buy direct from the fisherman. I think this is a must see but a glad that it has retained it's less traveled path, so welcome to fellow travelers, but let's hope the masses don't venture too much.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank valeriemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So natural”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I love it, it's the real beach, free of hotel and plastic chairs! So beautiful, we were swimming few days there, surf school is also at the beach, lobster restaurant, guy with a donkey and coconuts (he even gave us a free mango :))

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MisSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“party time”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This beach is were the locals hang. The grills are out and the music is pumping. You are able to walk out quite a distance and the water still hasn't reached your waist. The water was calmer at Macao than our beach in Bavaro. This would be a great Sunday hangout spot for the young or young at heart.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Macao Beach”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Loved the beach, did not like the locals wanting to sell things and trying to get you to tip for pictures, etc.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emack213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macao Beach also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Macao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing