We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Send me here again”
Review of Bavaro Beach

Bavaro Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,749.99*
and up
Private Punta Cana Booze Cruise
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Punta Cana Discovery Package: Dune Buggy Adventure and Catamaran Cruise
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Catamaran and Snorkel Tour of Punta Cana
Ranked #1 of 91 things to do in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Send me here again”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a no nonsense beach... Sand, sea with palm trees, it had it all. Joking aside this really is a wonderful sandy beach, plenty of room to sit and you can go for a very long walk if thats how you gat an all over tan. People watching is such a laugh and I'm sure I would be just as funny if someone was spying on me. Magic !!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,488
    3,564
    989
    243
    153
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice but watch the undertow.”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro which is on a better part of the beach than the more expensive Iberostar Grand Bavaro which is right next to a shanty town of vendor stalls.
Beach was crowded but it is a wide beach, easy to walk.
Be careful of the undertow when it is a rough sea. Steep slope in parts and rocky bottom in many places.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank clike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very pleasant and peaceful atmosphere! First time staying at an adult only hotel. I appreciated the respect the adults showed to the staff and one another. Very conservative, very private, very respectful!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loooooong Beach! Filled with tourists!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Which is exactly what I was looking for, since I love to walk. You'll get to walk, if you're into the same thing, but be ready to jump over bodies. The sand is lovely, the water is lovely! People watching is priceless! I went by myself, did not want to be sucked into one of the all-inclusives, so I did my own thing, and I had a great time. There are a few public entrances to the beach, all of the locals that I have encountered have been great and extremely helpful. If you want some action, bars, food, etc., you'd need to either drive or get a taxi or a motoconcho to take you somewhere. Fun place!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vana31198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was lots of fun”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went snorkeling on the Bavaro reef. It was lots of fun and we saw quite a few fish. It was only $40.00/person for 2 hours but next time I think ill spring for the catalina island all day snorkel that was $99.00/person.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adfairchild84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavaro Beach also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Bavaro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing