We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocotours worth it”
Review of Cocotours

Cocotours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1994 Cocotours has grown to be one of the leading independent destination-management companies of the Dominican Republic. Based in Punta Cana with a permanent counter at Punta Cana airport, and with staff and vehicles around the country, we can quote for transportation and tours as well as hotel reservations.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cocotours worth it”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our pick up was prompt and driver was safe! Not one of those crazy, drive as fast as you can so they can pick up their next people, rides. Very pleasant!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ringohop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    57
    16
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Courteous and Prompt”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I'm very happy with Coco Tours. Used their service twice, both times the drivers were promo and courteous. Will use again in the future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alpha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Got there safe and sound”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We had to get a ride from Punta Cana to Puerto Plata. Long long drive but he got us there. He did not speak any English which left a language barrier and made for a quite ride. He knew how to drive in the cities which was relieving and he could communicate with locals. He did however have a guy on the phone if we needed anything translated which was nice. Overall, worth the long trip and I felt safe driving with this company.

Helpful?
Thank Natasha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They get the job done”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We booked & prepaid a private round-trip shuttle from PUJ to Majestic Elegance. At the airport we found a counter that had the Cocotours logo on it. We showed them our travel voucher and Immediately someone got on their cell phone. They led us to where all the taxi & vans were located and within a few min we were in a minivan headed to the resort. At first we were a little confused because neither the person helping us, nor the van had the Cocotours logo on it (same thing on the return trip), but the driver was courteous and got us to the resort quickly. When he dropped us off the driver said to meet with a Cocotours representative in the lobby the next morning after 10am. The next morning we were in a bit of a hurry and a different tour company representative helped us by calling & arranging our return transportation with Cocotours. {it was funny because this nice guy had DELTA airlines logo on one sleeve, a different logo on his other sleeve, and a third logo on his chest lol}. On the day we left we went to wait in the resort lobby several min before our scheduled pick-up time. We were not watching for van and the driver found us sitting in the lobby (about 10 minutes early). He was very polite and helped us with the luggage and got us to the airport quickly.

We used a different company last year, but I think I will use Cocotours if we go back to the D.R..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fireman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't Recommend”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I booked all of our guests for our wedding in the Dominican (59 people) with CocoTours for transfers to/from the airport. It started out excellent with all of our communications being responded to very quickly by Heather and Johnny picking us up from the airport (he was amazing... VERY friendly, spoke great english, ON TIME). A few snags during the pick-up's, but nothing major and everyone got to the resort just fine. The driver's even stopped to let our guests pick up drinks on the way to the resort.

It was the return trip that was an absolute disaster. They didn't pick up one of our guests at all after confirming her pick up time (she ended up having to get a cab) and were late for every other pick up from the resort by a minimum of 30 minutes (often times more). Now, granted, Steve was very responsive to my emails and concerns and even reimbursed us for the cost of the cab and credited a portion of the cost for 2 of our other guests. But I spent a significant amount of time stressed during our last day on vacation and there were 56 other people they were late to pick up. They were 50 minutes late to pick up some of our guests on the last day and when the driver finally showed up, he had the audacity to smoke 3 cigarettes and refuse to leave until we started taking the bags out of the van to get a cab. I was furious!!! Then by the time the bus arrived to pick up our group (again, at least 40 minutes late), we were in quite a hurry to get to the airport to avoid 4 of our guests missing their flight. Instead of the driver taking the highway to SDQ, he got off in La Romana and went through 2 cities to avoid a $1 toll!!!! I couldn't believe it!!! It added 45 minutes to our trip! If their flights hadn't been delayed by an hour, they would not have made it! Who new you would ever appreciate a flight being delayed!!

Maybe for smaller groups it would be easier to coordinate, but the lack of follow-through and the added stress frankly isn't worth it. I would definitely recommend looking into a different company if you're looking for a company that doesn't forget to pick you up or almost make you miss your flights. Administratively, their company is excellent. Their driver's on the return trip left a lot to be desired of their follow-through and attitudes. All I can say, is if they had better drivers, they would have an excellent company. I sincerely hope you fix that in the future...

If you decide to use them, I would add at least a half hour to an hour to your pick up time. It's better to sit in an airport for an extra hour and make your flight (if they happen to be on time... don't count on it) than miss your flight and pray to be put on the next one...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mopatzde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocotours also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Cocotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing