We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Golf carts and fees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cocotal Golf & Country Club

Cocotal Golf & Country Club
Book In Advance
$155*
and up
Cocotal Golf and Country Club in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renowned architect, Jose "Pepe" Gancedo, six-time spanish Champion, designed the course by following the lay of the land, using the natural terrain to provide a route easily remembered long after the player finishes. Our trademark features are strategically-placed trees, bunkers, mounds and gently rolling terrain with well-defined and generous fairways without forgetting an unrelenting wind. The utilization of four sets of tees provides low-handicapped golfers with a course of great challenge, while beginners and intermediate players can continually improve their game in a player-friendly environment.
Boston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Golf carts and fees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The golf carts are old, rundown and need to be replaced. We heard they are over 13 years old. They said you would be paying $40/pp but are now charging $65. For $65 for a golf cart, it shouldn't smoke, have bald tires and stall out. The course itself has not changed much in years, but the communication with the staff could use some work.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    95
    66
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very playable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

No views and not well run but close to Paradicius and very playable.
Kind of like an average public course in the US or Canada.
Got a $35 chit to play at the hotel. When we got there it was $65.
So what are you going to do? We paid and played but reported them to the concierge and lo and behold they credited back the overcharge the next time we played.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank getjdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“rate hike”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband Roy was disappointed that the rate for the golf carts went from $35 to $65, quite a rate hike in one year and a shock to the other couples we invited to accompany us, especially those planning to play golf!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Vickig230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound,Ont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Guys golf trip Jan 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Jan 2013 8 guys went on our golf vacation to Melia Caribe and played 6 rounds of golf at Cocotal. The course was in excellent condition. Greens where fast & true. We had a great time. Mr Samuel Bello director of golf looked after us very well and we would recommend this vacation resort & course to all. The boys that set us up and get us started are excellent. They knew our tee times for each day & our carts & clubs (which we store at the course) were loaded & ready to go. They were great. We tipped them every day and received excellent service. We plan to return. Yes prices have increased but it is still good value compared to other courses in the Dominican...We have played others that cost 195 to 365 us dollars and still enjoy our treatment at Cocotal...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice course, not so nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The three 9 hole courses are well maintained and challenging.
The staff who load and unload clubs were not at all friendly or helpful. my husband wanted to hit some practice balls and was told he had to walk a considerable distance carrying his clubs to get to the range. He could not take the cart there! They need to work on their service!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocotal Golf & Country Club also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Cocotal Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing