We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas dinner at La Palapa”

La Palapa by Eden Roc
Ranked #37 of 312 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Price range: $20 - $120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located at the beautiful Eden Roc Beach Club, La Palapa restaurant opened in 2003, becoming the first restaurant opened at the Cap Cana residential resort. After experiencing an interesting renovation, La Palapa by Eden Roc, began operations in September 2010, under the management of Solaya Hotels & Resorts, a private firm dedicated to developing luxury hotel projects, which operates the Eden Roc Beach Club, a private beach club in Cap Cana. Solaya Hotels & Resorts' premier property is Eden Roc at Cap Cana, the first Relais & Chateaux property in the Dominican Republic.Immediately after its first renovation, the new La Palapa by Eden Roc fascinated visitors with its unique proposal of pastas, fresh sauces, homemade bread, fish and seafood. La Palapa by Eden Roc is ideal for those who enjoy the authentic cuisine, where each dish is perfectly executed incorporating fresh seasonal products, without losing the simplicity, in a casual, elegant and relaxed ambiance. La Palapa by Eden Roc is a place to enjoy the best cuisine and the beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. The access to the restaurant La Palapa by Eden Roc is free to the general public. For weekends and special nights, we recommend booking a table in advance. The use of facilities Eden Roc Beach Club (beach, pool) is reserved for members or visitors who have purchased an access pass.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Christmas dinner at La Palapa”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food was excellent, by far the best we had on the DR. And the setting on the beach was great. Lots of big family groups were eating their Christmas dinner here, and it was a very nice, relaxed environment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithteensNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    38
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Loved our Christmas dinner here, plentiful seafood, strong drinks, desserts just ok. Pricier than expected, but a great meal overall!

Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaro, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice diner”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The food is great , specially the seafood: I recommand the grilled octopus as an appetizer: best octopus I ever had....and the seafood parillada as an entree,an assortment of tasty fish,lobster,octopus ,etc...
The staff is charming and professional .
The best place in Punta Cana so far.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely experience, Not perfect”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The setting is gorgeous. Food very nice and staff very attentive, but slow service. Had to send my dry, dirty, double olive martini back because it was not dirty, no olives and had a ton of ice cubes in it.
We were here in Oct. and it was deserted. We were the only people having dinner in the restaurant. I paid $100 for my dinner alone: Salad, Catch of the day, martini, bottled water and 1/2 dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HHS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, very good food and service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had to stay in Punta Cana for a wedding and needed to flee the mega resort we were at for a real dinner. La Palapa was almost perfect. The pavilion is beautiful and the setting is gorgeous. The food and service was very good and the only issue was that they were out of a few of the bottles of wine I was trying to order. But this is the Caribbean after all. Overall, a very memorable meal in a perfect setting. If you wanted to have a romantic Caribbean dinner in a pavilion overlooking the ocean, this is the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa by Eden Roc also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to La Palapa by Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing