We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, and Poolside”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balicana

Balicana
Ranked #17 of 286 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Balicana is located in the middle of green gardens, where you can enjoy the typical flavors of Asian cuisine, prepared at home using fresh ingredients, in an intimate place where joy of food is priority.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, and Poolside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I went to this restaurant on a package deal with a local spa. I received a massage and lunch for $70. The food was REALLY good, and I was skeptical because it was Thai, and hello, i'm in the DR! But for lunch they had an option where you could choose your base (rice, fried rice, noodles), your meat (chicken, beef, possibly something else, dont' remember), and a series of veggies to make a stir fry or fried rice dish. I ended up with something close to pad si eiw, and they kicked it up a notch with some extra spice. The deal also included fresh squeezed juice, which just sealed the deal.

It was a very quiet, beautiful location. To be able to eat delicious food poolside was awesome. Definitely recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank XelP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    138
    40
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My fav. Restaurant in Punta Cana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I've been to Balicana at least 10 times. The food (Asian inspired) is awesome and well priced! We always get the fried veggies and spring rolls for an appetizer. My favorite main dish is the sweet and spicy chicken (they do it with pork as well). My husband swears by the Pad Thai chicken. We had 2 appetizers, 2 meals, 1 soft drink and 2 well drinks for $50. They are located behind Stanze Mare condos/NOW Larimar hotel (near) and you can get to the through beach access or by road. We always stay at the Playa Turquesa condos and it is an easy 10-15 min walk by road. Don't get stuck in the all inclusives with blah food choices...get out, walk with a group....it's safe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank januarytnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Should never have waited so long to try, now can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

For years I have been hearing about Balicana, I have vacation property here and my friends could not believe I had not tried it out, considering it is a short distance from my condo. Four of us went out, we had six spring roll appetizers, we each had a cocktail, bottled water and then the main courses for 2800 pesos. The service was excellent and the food superb. My friends eat there often and the husband is picky and enjoys eating there. They have never had a bad meal there. My husband had the fried rice/meat dish, which he liked, but when he tried my curry pineapple chicken, he wanted to switch. The menu has the little pepper symbols on it, so one knows how hot their dish will be. The chicken was one pepper and prepared perfectly. The portions are big, but so tasty, could not help but finishing it all. One could probably order appetizers and share a meal and still come home satisfied. I will definitely be going back there again. Great value and price. Surprising to find properly prepared Asian food in the Dominican Republic.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustAboutRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very yummy Asian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I checked out this place and we were presently surprised! There is no signage, so we had to ask the guard where the restaurant was. There was an abundance of parking and the ambience next to the pool is great! The drinks were great, food was delicious, and service was awesome! It is a great restaurant to get away from the typical resort-style (high prices, bad food) restaurants that plague Punta Cana. The food and drinks are all very reasonable! We will definitely be back on our next trip to Punta Cana.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Atmosphere, Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My new wife and I shared an intimate, quite dinner at this secluded restaurant. Very reasonably priced. It is not a place that is packed out and the atmosphere here was romantic and perfect for our dinner. The wait staff was attentive but not intrusive. They serve cuisine from Asia and Thia and have other meals as well. A must visit in the Dominican Republic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MWeiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balicana also viewed

Bavaro, Punta Cana
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Balicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing