We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alright”
Review of Balicana

Balicana
Ranked #19 of 311 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Balicana is located in the middle of green gardens, where you can enjoy the typical flavors of Asian cuisine, prepared at home using fresh ingredients, in an intimate place where joy of food is priority.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“alright”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good food, internet is strong there. but the prices are a little high for my liking. atmosphere is nice though, next to a pool and a random Chinese statue

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Swordarmforhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    141
    41
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, nice atmosphere, good food and prices.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Make sure you try the pasion fruit mojito. Not impressed by the satay. The asian style sauces make a great variation on the local fiish (grouper). If you have kids be aware that service may be slow, depending on how busy they are. Otherwise the laid back atmosphere is great for a plentiful dinner and excellent drinks. Very reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaro, Dominican Republic
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice service and good food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went to balicana few times and I have to say it was always nice. The location beside the pool is very nice, the service is very good, the quality of the food is excellent. The owner is always there making sure all is ok .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, NC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

First things first- The Food: Ate there last night as our first meal on vacation. Had the combination Pad Thai which includes chicken & shrimp. It was awesome. Also had the seafood combination tempura. The veggies that are included are red bell peppers, onions & broccoli. There was supposedly shrimp & fish but we only got fish. Still amazing. The Presidente beer is a must. Also, they have great fresh juices. My wife had the Mango. Super fresh.

The Service: Service was really good, not great. Our server was very polite & attentive when he came to our table, but that wasn't as often as it would have been in a restaurant in the States. So, sometimes you just have to find them and let them know you need something. We travel a ton so this is not even a bother for us. When you're in another country, you expect things to be different.

Finally, the ambiance wasn't the best in the world, but wasn't the worst either . If you look up, it's clear skies & palm trees...not too shabby:) But the pool was caution taped off & the caution tape was tied to one of our chairs at our table. We have a 19 month old son & it made it interesting trying to keep him from the apparent construction site. My guess is that this is temporary & if we weren't parents of a little kid we wouldn't even have noticed.

Our overall experience was great & we will try to go back again before we leave Punta Cana.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jillianrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, La Altagracia, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It's so good it deserves a second review!!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Well, like most places I go to around my hometown of Bavaro/Punta Cana I have to say that this one is my 1st option. The food is A-MA-ZING! I always go for dinner,I like to be served by Giovanni, he is the BEST! he takes his time to explain the menu and to give you options on ingredients or maybe tell you a joke and make you laugh. The restaurant itself is decorated just as you would expect from a thai restaurant in the caribbean, beautiful, the tables around the pool are candlelit, they have a lounge area with sofas ad then they have the regular tables. If you are a big party i recommend you make a reservation ahead!

What to eat? Everything! I start off with a Balicana Sampler, there they have panko veggies, satay chicken, shrimp and egg rolls served with 3 types of salsa. Then, i order the Sweet and Sour pork or the Beef Oyster (with noodles!)

They have their signature Margaritas de Chinola (Passion fruit margaritas), try them!

All in all, they are the best in what they do, if i could give them 10 stars i would!

**UPDATE from my last review** they do take credit cards!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balicana also viewed

Bavaro, Punta Cana
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Balicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing