We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best (resort) family vacation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best (resort) family vacation ever!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've spent a marvelous time at the Reserve Palma Real. It is a 5* luxurious resort in a private area part of the Paradisus main hotel. 20 min from the airport. We've already been to Punta Cana before in the Bavaro resort which was good, but this one is definitely much much better!

CONTEXT
We went there with 2 kids (1 and 4).
We stayed in the Reserve section of the Paradisius Palma Real.
We had the family Concierge package.
Resort + young family = we were not here for excursions or activities, just relax and spend good time with kids.

FIRST DAY
Upon arrival we received a nice welcome by the Family Concierge manager Marina, which patiently explained everything we needed to know, then told us that we got a free double upgrade to the Master suite with private patio: awesome! We were also given a cell phone in order to contact our family concierge assistant at any time.
Once arrived at our room we received a package with tons of free products (baby lotion, baby cologne, baby massage, anti mosquitoes lotion, soap, shampoo, sunscreen, tooth brush and tooth paste, ...).
Note that with Family Concierge you also get free items for kids: swimsuit, bath robe, slippers, cap, tshirts, painting book and color pencils, toys, ...

FAMILY CONCIERGE
We were hesitant to pay the extra $ for this service while booking the travel. But it was definitely worth it. We never had to worry about booking restaurants, coordinating in-room babysitting, finding a place at the beach or booking activities and spa, changing money, ... our concierge Mayra took care of all this!
We forgot to bring the baby beach toys... she found some for us a few hours later. She also organized some surprises for our kids every day, including a wonderful “Fun in the bath” preparation of the Jacuzzi!
When arriving at the Reserve, you get a cell phone that you can use to contact your assistant anytime. Need a ride back from the beach or a specific item in your room? just call!

ROOM
The Master Suite with private garden is amazing!
Very large room with dining room, bedroom and 2 bathrooms. Those rooms are at the floor level with beautiful patio and private garden, palapas and 2 jacuzzis (one indoor and one outdoor). There are 2 maid service per day so the room is always fresh and clean.
The fridge is stocked with beverages every day, you also get 3 bottles of alcohol (local rum, vodka, and whiskey) and snacks, all free of course.

RESORT
The Reserve is a small sub section of the main hotel, so it is not too big (only 190 rooms) and there are enough lounge chairs for everyone. You will never have to search for an empty chair at the pool!
The property is stunning, beautiful, clean and very well maintained.
We were pleasently surpised that all outdoor furniture are premium quality and in suffisant number compared to the number of rooms, you can find comfy palapas literaly everywhere, no plastic chairs here! I wouldn't be surprise to learn that the ratio is at least 1 palapas per room.
Staff is awesome, extremelly friendly and always smiling, and I mean ALL the staff, maid, waiters, room service, security guards, gardeners, beach boys, ...
WiFi available everywhere.
The YHI Spa is gorgeous but massages are overpriced! There is a gym with modern workout machines.

BEACH
The beautiful well known Bavaro beach... there is a private section of the beach for people at the Reserve. Plenty of space and palapas available for everyone. You need to know that unlike the main hotel, the Reserve is located at a 15 minutes walk from the beach. But shuttles are doing the ride to and from the hotel all the time.

FOOD
Plenty of options for restaurants, and healthy food is easy to find with great selection of vegetables, fresh fish and fruits. With 7 restaurants you can try a different each evening in a week. We really liked the Mizu (Teppanyaki show), Gabi Beach and the Vento. We also had to try the Passion (not free), the 7 stars Michelin signature restaurant, exquisite food and impeccable service. But other restaurants are so awesome that I don't think we would pay 150$ for the Passion again, as you can have very good diners in free restaurants.
The buffet at Gabi Club is spectacular!! Every morning or lunch there was a real pleasure.
Like every resorts bars are everywhere, we loved the fact that unlike in Cuba, here you can get cocktails with real juice.

KID'S CLUB
The Kid's zone is unbelievable!! Open for 1 to 12 years old kids of Paradisus guests, but it is exclusive to the Reserve for babies and kids aged less than 5. We chose this hotel for the kids club, it is a vast area (725m2) with modern equipment, offering activities like.

GOLF
Cocotal golf is a great course just next door to the hotel entrance. It is free for resort guests, but you have to pay 40$ for the cart and an extra 40$ is you need clubs...

CONCLUSION
We spent really delicious vacations at the Reserve.
My GF who is not a typical "resort girl" loved it and told me that we should stay 2 weeks next time... I couldn't agree more.
We particularly loved the fact that the Reserve is a small private section of the main Paradisus hotel, so less people and less noise, no problem to find lounge chairs at pool of beach, an excellent service and great food. The Family Concierge service is a must if you bring kids.

Room Tip: We booked for a standard room, but I think we were lucky to get the Master Suite because I gently as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dudeneverstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for me to hear that you and your best friend had an exceptional stay at our The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, and that you appreciated the friendliness and dedication of some of our staff members. You may rest assured that I took a good note of your observations.

Once more, thank you for extending us your valuable comments and I look forward to welcome you back soon at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real Resort.

Kind regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,824
    992
    270
    94
    78
See reviews for
4,096
1,907
58
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had destination wedding at this property. I can proudly say that we were more than impressed as were all of our guests. We stayed at Reserve side of the property where there are swim up rooms available. The pictures don't do the rooms justice, they were very clean and new. The service was beyond excellent. Some of the food was just ok, I have to say the Japanese steakhouse as Gabi were fantastic. I can't comment too much as I never saw the personally but we did have a family member stay in the Royal Service and thought it was a complete waste of money, their butler showed up at check in only never to be heard from again. Never showed up to the room, and didn't make reservations when requested. Also he said our rooms were much nicer and cleaner. We did leave to change resorts and went to Barcelo,Deluxe after checking in and exploring for about hour we grabbed a few drinks and walked back to the Palma Real. As we stepped back on the property it is almost unexplainable as you feel so much more welcomed. (We canceled the our next week booking at Barcelo and went to Paradisus Punta Cana simply for a change. Don't go there!! See my review for them.) Lets say I wish we just stayed at the Palma Real. Everything was perfect!!

Room Tip: If staying in the reserve go for the swim up room upgrade. Also ignore the timeshare, just tell the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilm2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and other travelers. It is a real pleasure to learn your stay was a unique and unforgettable one.

The Paradise waits for you!

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

So, my wife and I started out at The Reserve after reading reviews, and at the time was rated #2 in Hotels in Punta Cana. Our booking was actually through RCI - which doesn't allow you to select the room type - it unfortunately that was the downfall. The management knew we were RCI members, and could have asked us about rooms, as we were in contact with them 7 months prior to arrival.

We arrived in the lobby of The Reserve and were greeted by the friendly bell staff, asked to pick our names off of a nice list they had in a case (we weren't there - probably because we were RCI) handed ice cold cloths for our faces and brought into the reception area for check-in. That's where the issues started. The person checking us in didn't have the right personality for this job (Orlando) - he didn't really explain anything, we were checked in, given our bracelets and a bell hop brought us to our room. We also noted that our room was changed at some point - the original number had white-out over it.

We arrived in a room that looked nice enough but had a musty odor to it, then we got to the bedroom, 2 double beds - we quickly mentioned that was an issue and the bell hop said he could have someone come up and push them together - not really what we wanted, but agreed to have this done after calling down to reception and Orlando stated there were no king beds available. We checked out the balcony, which was nice - but all we heard were kids (we left ours at home - to be fair, we knew children were allowed, and it seems like the perfect place to take them, it was just too much for the style of vacation we were looking for).

We went back to the lobby and waited for an available customer service representative to explain things to us - restaurants, beach, locations, general info, etc... as we didn't get the information we were looking for the first time. We met the first helpful person here, Gabriel was his name (didn't catch his last name, but we later saw him two nights later working as a host at Vento, he immediately recognized us and came out to greet us and ask how things were going). Gabriel took the time to listen to our questions and concerns, and we inquired about upgrades. He told us about the Royal Service in the main hotel, which was for adults only - immediately interested, we asked about the cost and to see the place.

Gabriel took the time to bring us over to Royal Service, explained where everything was along the way and had us taken care of, he brought us back to our rooms, waited while we repacked our belongings and carried them back down to the lobby for check-out (shortest stay at a resort ever!) Needless to say, we took the upgrade and the rest of the vacation was fantastic! I have also posted a review of that under the Paradisus Palma Real resort page.

If you book this through RCI, just beware and ask questions before you get there - we weren't expecting the lack of service we got because the last place we stayed we actually received a room upgrade at no cost. At this place, we felt like second class citizens.

Room Tip: I think our room was 5201, it had a musty odor to it - we didn't stay so can't say much else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scooter79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real Resort for your family vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience.

Receive my sincerest apologies if we were not able to completely meet your expectations. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence. I assure you, that the managers of the various departments involved have been informed of your particular observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Once more, thank you for extending us your valuable comments and I look forward to welcome you back soon at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real Resort.

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had our first trip to Paradisus Palma Real - The Reserve in August 2012. It was the best vacation we have ever had! From the minute you step into the lobby, this resort is pure luxury. The staff is warm and friendly, the grounds are stunningly beautiful, the beach is a tropical paradise, the food at all of the restaurants is amazing, the rooms are spotless, and I have never been as relaxed on a vacation in my life! We loved Paradisus so much, that we brought more of our family back for Spring Break in March 2013. We were surprised when we arrived and the staff actually remembered us and greeted us as if we were friends. Felipe Pinales, who works in the Gabi Club and Aqua at The Reserve, made our trip extra special. He is so kind and friendly to all of us and especially to our children and his smile is infectous! And a trip to Paradisus would not be complete without a visit to the pool bar at the main hotel to see "Ramon Fuego" (Ramon Bonilla). He is so much fun and makes the time sitting in the pool very entertaining. This is an amazing resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Family,

Thank you for visiting us for the second time and for sharing your beautiful memories with all of us. It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to meet wonderful people like you, who physically stay with us for few days but for a lifetime in our hearts.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you for a third time in your second home. Please let us know when your next booking will be to recognize you as assiduous guest.


Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We returned yesterday from The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real. By a unanimous vote, this was our best spring break trip ever. We have traveled with our 2 children (15 and 11) to Turks and Caicos, St. John, Captiva and the Cayman Islands. We all agreed that The Reserve offers the best mix of everything.

Here is what we loved about this place:
1. The property is stunning and meticulously maintained by its gracious and dedicated staff.
2. The beach is vast (if not quite as extraordinary at Grace Bay in Turks) with comfortable and always available chairs and tiki-shack-like cabanas (no racing out for chairs at 8 a.m. needed).
3. There are three beautiful pools with swim up bars and underwater lounge chairs.
4. There are two very clean and up-to-date gyms and the YHI spa is tranquility defined. (They even offer spinning and yoga!)
5. The food is good and plentiful (it is not Manhattan or San Francisco good, but I am not sure why anyone would expect that at an all-inclusive). The fresh fruit is particularly amazing and available at every meal. Grilled lobster was served a few of the nights we were there and everyone loved it.
6. Our rooms were large, clean and well-appointed (we did upgrade one of our rooms to the swim up pool, which was well worth every penny). There were always plenty of towels too!
7. The staff is LOVELY and goes to great lengths to make guests happy and comfortable.

We really struggled to find something about this place that could be improved upon. Unlike others who posted reviews, we did not get hit up for the fractional ownership tour. The only things we could come up with – and we are nitpicking now – is that the bathrooms could use more light.

A few other comments that may be helpful:
1. You will get hit up by drivers at the airport. To be safe, we booked Carribbean Dream car service, which was recommended on Trip Advisor, in advance of our trip. We paid $70 (cash) for the roundtrip service plus $30 tip. They were on time and professional.
2. Bring a stack of $1 and $5 bills for tips. They are not expected but are clearly appreciated.
3., If you are prone to mosquito bites, bring or plan to buy spray. Bugs weren’t too bad, but we did get bitten.

In short, we LOVED the Reserve and cannot wait to get back there!

Room Tip: Spring for the swim up pool suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kht1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

In The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real we have a strong commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests` expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal.

I highly appreciate the confidence you have placed in us and it will be a pleasure to host your next stay in the future at this your second home, The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If youre coming to the DR, look no futher than this place. It is spectacular in every way. The food, service, people, rooms, and drinks are top notch. This is our second trip here and I cant wait to come back.

A special shout out to Felipe in the Gabi club in the AM and Aqua in the PM. He is truly exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Bob,

Allow me to express you my gratefulness for selecting us as your vacation destination and for recommending The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real to future travelers. It is thanks to guests like you, that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Our biggest satisfaction is to know that all your expectations were exceeded and that you will visit us again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our family vacation to this luxurious resort was fantastic from beginning to end. The service couldn't have been better on all levels - front desk, room service, maid service and restaurants. All staff were exceptionally friendly and couldn't do enough to help make our vacation memorable. The one bedroom family suites were huge and the swim up room was a piece of heaven!!! Would not hesitate to go back or recommend this resort to anyone,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Smith Family,

I would like to thank you for selecting us as your vacation destination. It pleases us to hear your comments about our facilities and the great service you have received during your stay.

We await you soon at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real for another spectacular vacation.

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,244 reviews
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,699 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real

Property: The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Address: Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#2 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore The Reserve, our new boutique resort within a resort, designed for those whose stay in a luxury suite is as important as sun, sea and sand. Including three pools and a la carte restaurants, YHI Spa and gym, Swim up Suites with direct access to the pool Family Concierge Suites. Take benefit of your stay at The Reserve and use its facilities and services as well as the ones in Paradisus Palma Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reserve At Paradisus Palma Real Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing