We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dolphins are nice, but I don't like being coerced into buying overpriced pictures”
Review of Dolphin Explorer

Dolphin Explorer
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Fur Seal Encounter in Punta Cana
Ranked #17 of 90 things to do in Punta Cana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come to our beautiful park and discover the awesome feeling of swimming with dolphins and interact with others amazing animals in an unique tropical environment
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The dolphins are nice, but I don't like being coerced into buying overpriced pictures”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited the park last July, and I must say it's a beautiful location. However, it is a rather annoying schema where you have to follow their predefined path, watching a sea lion show melting in the sun, to only then being able to go swim with the dolphins. The dolphins are really nice, and my kids, despite being a little scared, enjoyed the experience. Then you have to watch a bird show, and finally comes the last and most irritating part, where they offer you to buy a package with a DVD and pictures for an absurd price! We laughed at them and said we wouldn't buy anything, and then they started lowering the price. We ended up buying just 2 pictures, paying I think U$30 for both, which I still found overpriced. Oh, and then you spend almost another hour trying to get back to your hotel. When buying the trip, we were told we'd be back to the hotel in a couple hours, but we ended up spending the entire morning there. I've had a much better experience swimming with dolphins at Xcaret in Cancun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaInCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,715
    967
    509
    239
    250
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great trip, hung around for photos.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Picked up on time from hotel. We chose the excellence package as wanted more time with the dolphins and is smaller group. You get two dolphins and group is no more than 10 people.
We started with a quick check in then given an introduction about what will happen.
We made our way to see the sea lion for a photo opportunity and kiss from sea lion then taken to locker room to leave all valuables etc.
We proceeded to the dolphin section and put in groups depending on your chosen package. Spent well over an hour with dolphins doing various moves etc. trainers were great and staff friendly too. After this we were given a show by parrots and a great show by the sea lion. Hung around for photos at the end and DVD wasn't working so is hopefully being delivered to hotel tomorrow morning as promised. Aside from this a fantastic half day out we will never forget!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mw238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Very enjoyable day.. staff were friendly great shows... only one thing that annoyed me was the photos you buy at the end of your day.. first of all we were giving vouchers from our reps of the photos. When we went to pay for the photos they said the electricity went and we could not pay from the photos at that point so they said they would call to the hotel the next day with them... so we picked wat photos we wanted for 80usd and wrote down and the form that was giving to us...
next day came

Lad came with photos he had no english they tryed to charge me 120usd and would not let me use the voucher saying there had to be used on the day...
overall they felt like gangsters and tryi g to rob you with the photos

next day came

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deckie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience, shame about the waiting around.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We did the Dolphin Explorer trip whilst on holiday. We stayed in a hotel only a short bus 2minute ride from the Dolphin Explorer place. Checkin was quick, we were given a wrist band of the particular excursion we were doing.

We were then led into a wooded area to wait until other people from the group arrived and ready to start.

Firstly, we met with a seal and took a professional photo were the seal gave us a kiss on the cheek. We then saw a parrot show, which was good, however we had previously seen this shown when we did the Treasures of the Sea excursion a few days before.

We were then taken to drop our belongings off at the lockers, we were told there to take off all jewellery, sunglasses, shoes and no cameras we're allowed.

We were then lead down to the beach area where we waited for around 15 minutes with no explanation which was quite frustrating. There was no shade and it was very hot so make sure you apply sun screen just incase.

We were then lead back up to receive our lifejackets, watched a video explaining what we would be doing and then we're lead down to the pens where the dolphins were.

There were a lot of dolphins, they had plenty of space and all seemed to be in good condition and looked after.

The dolphin experience was amazing and could not be faulted. We were in a group of 12 with 2 dolphins. We got to do a series of actives with them including: a swim by where we could feel the skin of the dolphins, a dolphin kiss, dance, dolphins jumping over us and two dolphin rides being pulled by their fins. It was an amazing experience and they are such beautiful and intelligent creatures.

We had around 45 minutes in the water with the dolphins, each couple taking it in turns to do all of the activities. There was a professional photographer taking photos and videos of the experience.

After the dolphin experience, we were taken back up to the beach and taken to a seal show which was good. And then taken to the bar area where we had to wait again until the photos were ready to be seen.

The photos were quite expensive priced at $110 dollars for pictures and a video DVD of the experience, you can haggle the prices here.

On leaving the dolphin experience back to the coach area, you have to walk through a wooded area for a while. Please make sure that you take repellent with you and spray yourself before you venture through here, we learnt the hard way on a previous trip here a few days before and were bitten tonnes by Mosquitos whilst walking through this area. On this particular occasion, we decided to avoid the walk through and just walked back to our hotel via the beach.

Overall, the dolphin experience was amazing and a must do. However, it was just a shame about the waiting around and better communication to visitors about have would have been nice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparkly_jewel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Since a young age it has always been my dream to swim with dolphins! We paid rather alot but I didn't care!

Our guide was Carlos he was fantastic!

Different things to do including a kiss from a seal lion!

The dolphins are well looked after and appear to be happy!

The only downside was it was really rushed, and we didn't get any water time with the dolphins unless you pay over $200! It was like trick, photo, trick, photo and your done GoodBye!

The photos are extremely overpriced $40 for one persons photos which to be honest aren't the best of photos! But you buy them as its not everyday you swim with dolphins!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Explorer also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Dolphin Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing