We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great experience”
Review of Dolphin Explorer

Dolphin Explorer
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Fur Seal Encounter in Punta Cana
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Cabeza de Toro Natural Reserve Catamaran Cruise in Punta Cana
More Info
$35.00*
and up
General Admission to Wild Life Park in Punta Cana
Ranked #17 of 91 things to do in Punta Cana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come to our beautiful park and discover the awesome feeling of swimming with dolphins and interact with others amazing animals in an unique tropical environment
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I do not recommend this experience for a family with small children. The actual dolphin encounter (we did "Funtastic" with our 5 year old son) was ok, but really more of a photo opportunity for them to sell you pictures. Each person is only in contact with the dolphin for about 30 seconds total. We got suckered into buying the DVD & photos on CD for $120 US and are very disappointed that we cannot print any pictures. They format the CD so you cannot print them. They shuffle you through the place like cattle with your "guide" aka...guard. They have to keep you moving because they have another group scheduled right behind you. There is no time for actual enjoyment because they have to keep you moving. There is very little shade and none in the sea lion and bird show areas. Spectators are kept so far back from the actual dolphin swim and the sea lion kissing area (that they force you to wait in line to do) it is impossible to take your own pictures. The snack bar has chips, pop, beer and water...not exactly a kid friendly menu. But that doesn't really matter because you only get a few minutes in the snack bar and they shuffle you off to the next scheduled show. It was a big money grab and a huge rip off. They really just want to sell you pictures. That seems to be where they make their money. Choose a different option...we regrettably didn't look into other options, we just went with what our travel guide was selling. We went to Ocean World in Puerto Plata a few years ago and it was 100% better.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MommyTwoShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,747
    994
    526
    252
    262
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lifetime memories and experience”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We just came back from Punta Cana and bought swimming with the dolphins package from Dolphin explorer. Great time, very friendly personal, they treat animals very well and the experience we had to swim with the dolphins were awesome and worth the money we spent. Thank you guys !!! Great job you are doing:-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Playing in the ocean”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We loved getting into the ocean with the dolphins. The trainer who worked with us, Zoe, was amazing. First she told us about the dolphins & let us get familiar. Then she got us involved & taught us how to work with the dolphins. We did tricks & activites like you would see in a show with the dolphins. Going for a ride on the fins of dolphins is AMAZING!!! Lifetime memory!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank christine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dolphins were awesome. People were not.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Dolphin and Dolphin handler were fantastic. Made the trip worth it. However, every other aspect was painful. We felt like herded cattle, or worse. A lot of standing around, waiting, shouted at to move here or there. No personal interaction. I can think of 2 people that smiled at us. One while we were trying on life jackets, because we made a joke and he kind of smiled along. Another AFTER the dolphin encounter, probably because they figured we'd buy something now. They organize you into groups of 10 right before you head to the dolphins, and at that point it became pretty much chaos. We couldn't figure out who we were supposed to be following, ended up going every which way, kept getting hollered at. I finally threw my hands up in the air and said "Where do you want me to go??" I'm normally a very patient person!
However, our dolphin handler was very friendly and funny. That made all the herding worth it. Same process when we got out of the water, though, except now everything was in a rush. I felt like I couldn't get dried off and dressed fast enough because they were herding us to the next area. Gracious! Took forever to get our bus going for the ride home, and seemed a little unorganized so I made sure we verified with our driver that he was going to hit our resort. Was it worth it? Yes. Was it painful? Yes :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very bad experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our experience was good with the dolphins but very bad regarding overall organization and customer treatment. Our group was schedule to leave the Hard Rock Hotel at 10AM but as predicted, it started 30 min later. The bus took 45 minutes to reach a 20 min drive because we had to wait the driver to pick up guests from all hotels. Then, our group had to wait for the 11AM group to start the program. At the end, same bus problem, we waited 60 minutes inside the bus, waiting it be overcrowded and spend the remaining 60 minutes of our day dropping gests in all Punta Cana hotels until reach Hard Rock.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Explorer also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Dolphin Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing