We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad experience”
Review of Dolphin Explorer

Dolphin Explorer
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Fur Seal Encounter in Punta Cana
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Cabeza de Toro Natural Reserve Catamaran Cruise in Punta Cana
More Info
$35.00*
and up
General Admission to Wild Life Park in Punta Cana
Ranked #17 of 91 things to do in Punta Cana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come to our beautiful park and discover the awesome feeling of swimming with dolphins and interact with others amazing animals in an unique tropical environment
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very bad experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our experience was good with the dolphins but very bad regarding overall organization and customer treatment. Our group was schedule to leave the Hard Rock Hotel at 10AM but as predicted, it started 30 min later. The bus took 45 minutes to reach a 20 min drive because we had to wait the driver to pick up guests from all hotels. Then, our group had to wait for the 11AM group to start the program. At the end, same bus problem, we waited 60 minutes inside the bus, waiting it be overcrowded and spend the remaining 60 minutes of our day dropping gests in all Punta Cana hotels until reach Hard Rock.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,730
    979
    516
    244
    257
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thundersley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Swimming with freinds”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just a great day out with these gentle animals try and splash out and have the excelence package it is a once in a lifetime bucket list thing to do

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank simon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great experience but an expensive one.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Our family (wife, 9 month old daughter and I) went to the Dolphin explorer and it was really fun.

The day began with a pick up from our hotel. The driver was on time and it was well organized. It was also well organized after the show as there were 7 buses waiting to go back to different resorts.

We got a chance to interact with the sealion. It was adorable. The sealion was well trained to kiss everyone in the group. My daughter was too young so she had to sit on my lap while the sealion kissed me on the cheek.

Next we went to swim with the dolphins. The park employees lead us to get life jackets and put our valuables in lockers. They even had a life jacket that fit our baby daughter. A life jacket was mandatory to participate with the dolphin swim and activities. During our time with dolphins we had a chance to shake hands with Dolphin and kiss the dolphin. The instructor even got the Dolphin to do a special move to kiss baby because she was too young to hold dolphin. The instructor and Dolphin were very much in sync when it came to training. We were not alloweed to use our cameras during Dolphin swim because the park crew took pictures and sold them to you after show.

From there we went to see a tropical bird show. Again the birds were well trained. The birds were trained to play basketball, go down a slide and other things. After the show we were allowed to take pictures holding the birds. The trainers were very helpful with this.

Afterwards we saw a sealion show.

Overall the tour took about 4 hours. It was well organized and park personnel kept you moving from one activity to another.

After the show we had an opportunity to purchase video and/or pictures of the day. This was quite expensive. For a family of 3, the video and 28 pictures cost $120 USD. But you have no choice but to pay it because it is a wonderful experience that you will want to remember.

Overall I would highly recommend this tour. I would also make a recommendation to the park to make prices (especially pictures) more affordable.

Helpful?
1 Thank gcmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Its not everyday you can swim and play with dolphins in the Carribean sea, what an experience !!!!!!!!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimmyBORO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much cooler than expected!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We got lots of intereaction with the dolphins. They were really well trained and the trainers were well organized. The only complaint I have is that my mother came as a spectator and they stopped her on a dock were she couldn`t see us at all, it was very disappointing :(

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Explorer also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Dolphin Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing