We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HAD A GREAT TIME !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“HAD A GREAT TIME !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

Hotel and beach are BEAUTIFUL . WE stayed in A OCEAN FRONT SUITE on ground level . The food was very good ! WE HAD SUCH A GOOD TIME and would love to go back. VERY NICE FOR COUPLES .
GO!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIM095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,259
    1,654
    633
    179
    96
See reviews for
803
6,110
158
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,363)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamston, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

Our intent on this vacation was to relax and enjoy warmth and sunshine. This resort fit the bill perfectly. My husband and I traveled with another couple for an eight day stay and both rooms were ready within 10 minutes of check in even though we arrived about an hour before check in time.

We had garden view rooms that were clean and modern. The housekeeping staff was terrific. Didn't have turn down service every night but that wasn't very important to us. Refrigerator was filled everyday.

The drinks were very good. The drinks at the pool and beach were much stronger than the drinks at the lobby. We enjoyed them all and tried the drink of the day every day. Bring your bubba mug and they'll fill it for you no matter how big it is.

We really enjoyed the buffet and the two a la carte restaurants on the Royal side. Service was excellent. We stayed away from the Arena side other than to walk through one day.

Every night we would end our day by sitting at the front of the resort and listen to the music and entertainment and have a night cap. It was so beautiful looking up at the night sky and relaxing a little before bed. The music wasn't the greatest (although one of the guests got up and entertained on our last evening and he was terrific) but it was good enough for us and we weren't there for entertainment.

I agree with the great reviews posted previously. Our minor complaints were the charge for internet service, the guys didn't care for Presidente beer and they'd run out of Corona pretty early but they figured other drinks that they enjoyed, and the difficulty finding chairs some days - we refused to get up early to do the chair game - but we always found chairs within a few minutes or asked a resort employee to help us and they always did. These minor complaints did not hinder our enjoyment of this vacation at all.

If you have questions about the resort please private message me and I'll be happy to answer any questions that I'm able to answer!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

This hotel was a great all-inclusive. The rooms, staff and facilities were perfect. The food was good, not great. The ala carte restaurants were OK - in all i enjoyed the buffet more than the fancier fare. The fresh fish at the buffet was cooked to order and delicious. each night the buffet had a different theme so there was something different to try.

Do not leave the resort except for hosted outings. We made the mistake of going into Bavaro to shop and we descended upon by a wolf pack of vendors. we have traveled quite a bit and it was one of the first times we did not feel safe.

The diving was awful - lots of surge and poor visibility. Had an equipment failure on the pressure gauge on the rented dive equip - the gauge stuck on 1000 psi - after two checks of the gauge with no no movement I tapped the gauge and it dropped immediately to 500 psi. I had to do an ascent with a long swim to the dive boat.

Over all view this resort as a dry land cruise. The bars were great - the staff wonderful - but not for explorer types who like to interact with locals off the reservation.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donfarrell911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

It started off with a terribly cold woman at the reception area. Our friends had a great reception with a gentleman. He pointed out where the restaurants were etc.
When we got to our room we realized that even though we paid an extra $600.00 for a ocean view, we could just see a bit of it. We were supposed to be in one of the two buildings closest to the ocean, we were in the second away from the ocean , we complained and were offered the right building but on the second floor where the ocean is blocked by the pool bar. We declined.

The food in the buffet was excellent. The tables were covered in linen and staff was extemely accomodating. However, the food in the " A la cartes" was horrible.
We tried the restaurants in the "arena" and it was nasty. The staff acted like we were an annoyance. No smiles for us or anyone else. I hate to sound like a spoiled brat, but honestly this was as far away from a 4.5 star resort as you could get - food wise.
Unfortunately most of the drinks were not tasty. It was bottom end liquor unless you made a special request. Not up to 5 star standards.

If you were to choose between the NH Royal and The Majestic Elegance - no brainer - the Majestic Elegance wins hands down. Been there!

I will list some small annoyances
no towel art at all - but you could take a course offered at the hotel?
Fridges were not refilled unless you found the attendant - even though we tipped daily.
Our friends couldn't go walk from the porch to the lazy river because there was mud...the sprinklers went off daily - no sun shined on this area of grass.
Spraying for bugs at dinnertime - big billowing clouds of smoke that sent people running.
The spa was a joke. We went for a couples massage, and believe me these employees were not trained as masseuses', and the facility was not up to 5 star standards.

People that were terrific employees:
Willy - beach bar - very friendly
Susie - dancer and entertainment - awesome person to speak to.
Cleaning crew and grounds crew were outstanding.
The waitstaff on the "Royal side" were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

This was our first time to the DR and my first time writing a review. The NH Royal Beach Resort is a very beautiful and very well kept resort. As we arrived at the resort, we were told they overbooked the ocean view with king bed room and they would give us a swim up room with 2 double/queen beds. The next day they would move us to the room we had requested. We were disappointed but we would make the best of it. The front desk people spoke very broken english. They told us to have our luggage to the front lobby before noon the next day. We did and then had to carry my purse and a carry on around the resort for the next 3-4 hours without a room. Finally our room was ready! They took us to our ocean view room! The room had 2 double/queen beds and the ocean view was a BIG joke! If you went out on the balcony and stood in the corner on you tip toes you could see the the ocean view about the size of a quarter, After a two hour argument with a customer service woman, Ester, she agreed to call our Fun Jet Rep. He was great! About 5 minutes after his arrival, they upgraded us to a suite in the NH Areana. They charged us $160.00 more for the suite. At this point I did not think this was acceptable but just wanted to start our vacation!
The Suite had an awesome view . Most days we did not have wash cloths. Always had plenty of water and soda in our room. We had a hot tub on our balcony but as we filled it smelled of sewer water .
The service of the wait staff was good with the exception of the Front desk. The way our situation was handled was applauling! Never once was I am sorry was mentioned. And come to find out later, we were NOT the only ones this overbooking situation has happened to.
The ocean was full of weeds and it was dirty, They cleaned it every day but it was a losing battle. We spent time by the pool but it was very hard to get a lounge chair. You had to get up at the crack of dawn to "save" a lounge chair . They really do not have enough lounge chairs. The drinks are small and most are served in small plastic cups.
There are only two gift shops on the resort. That was a little disappointing.
The food was okay. They also charge you to use the internet and if you want to print anything there is a charge for that too.
The Resort does not do a very good job keeping guest inform of activities and services available to them.
We would like to go back to the DR but I will not go back to NH Royal Beach Resort!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

The staff at this hotel were awesome. They made it fun to go to the pool bar to see Julio dance and sing while he made you a pineapple filled with pina colada. The grounds staff are constantly cleaning the beach and the pool. Some of the al carte restaurants were lacking(El Motero and Senses). Service was mediocre and you could pretty much count on your meat being over cooked. The rooms were roomy and very clean. They did tend to forget to stock certain towels regularly. I would highly recommend this resort. If you are looking to book activities, shop around.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tictacniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

The food is poor to average. Gagged on my food at the Italian restaurant.
The room is stark with little on the walls. Jacuzzi outside is unusable due to lack of privacy. The noise from the halls is magnified for some reason--very difficult to sleep. Also noise from room above is loud!!
You have to weave around people at the pool to get to the beach, there is no direct route to the beach. There is very little decking around the pool and next to no lounge chairs.
Service on the beach is almost non-existant--we got asked if we wanted a drink on 2 occasions in 7 days.
The place is very clean and the help is very friendly.
We stayed at the Majestic Elegance last year and it was superior in all ways to the NH.
The best side of the NH is the cheaper Arena side.
The ocean is dirty in this area. We are used to clear water in the DR. Weedy and murky at best. Also, oils slicks on three different days forced us out of the water.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegsNorthBayOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
16.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,767 reviews
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing