We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Punta Cana
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,568)
Filter reviews
13,568 results
Traveler rating
9,556
2,554
998
289
171
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9,556
2,554
998
289
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seaside grill entertainment team la riviera eddie murphy preferred club spaghetti juan manuel the lazy river pool pool bar sexy chocolate our honeymoon unlimited vacation club swim up room preferred area tropical view welcome home mama juana
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 13,568 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Been to many secrets preferred clubs in Mexico and Jamaica. Have to say that this is the best integration of the preferred with the actual preferred resort area. Many times the lounge is an afterthought that you seldom use. Here it is a focal point of the preferred resort area.

There were many available chairs in many types of locations: pool, deck, beach, etc. And they did a good job of preserving these for our exclusive use. Service around the pool, lounge, beach was fantastic.

Our butler, Martin, went above and beyond to ensure that our time here was the best that it could be!

Our room was steps away from the lounge and beach, pool area. Very convenient.

For the preferred area, you are sandwiched between a Now resort and the secrets. Not the most tranquil but they did their best with ambient music to mitigate the loud pumping music on both sides.

Regarding food, I have been to some amazing secrets restaurants. Here, I thought the Italian and Oceania were pretty good. The Asian was not and going over to the Now for French may be great for the Now chain but not secrets.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConcierge S, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear dbeiko,

First of all, thank you for your loyalty to our hotel chain. Thank you for the time invested to describe your experience. We’re overjoyed that we are your home away from home. It is also nice to know you loved our upscale accommodations, as the great integration of the Preferred services into our hotel. We manage to provide our guests with a premium experience and by your comment, we infer you experimented it.

We really hope to hear from you shortly.

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

I had never been to an all inclusive resort before, and I had never been out of the United States. From beginning to end, my visit EXCEEDED every expectation I had! Everyone on staff, was courteous and professional! Everyone was friendly and helpful! My room was fantastic, spacious and clean! The food was great, the bars were great! I would highly recommend this property to all of my family and friends! I even intend to go back, one day!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JeanGio1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConcierge S, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear JeanGio1970,

We appreciate you chose Secrets Royal Beach for your first all- inclusive experience. Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience. We are so happy to see that you had an excellent experience with us. We always strive to ensure that each of our guests has a memorable and flawless experience from beginning to end and that our hospitality exceeds your expectations and it is a major honor to learn it was your case.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

14 of us traveled to SRB and had a wonderful time. Resort is top notch, staff goes above and beyond to accommodate each traveler. Never had a problem getting into any restaurant with our large group. Rooms are beautiful, grounds are meticulously kept, beach has beautiful sand and you can walk for miles.Entertainment staff does a fantastic job. Too many great people here to mention by name, but they all left a lasting impression! Thanks SRB, we'll be back!

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank skstelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConcierge S, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear skstelke,

It was a pleasure accommodating you at Secrets Royal Beach during your holidays. Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey in regards to your recent stay.  We are really glad to hear you and your group had a wonderful time. It is also nice to know you loved our upscale accommodations, besides that you were able to enjoy our restaurants along with your group. Your review means so much to us and makes us feel that all the hard work pays off. 

We count ourselves lucky for guests like you and look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Check-in was too long, over 1hour 30 min. After 3 pm room was not ready.
There was nowhere to eat from 5 pm to 6 pm, after checking in.
Very poor choice of alcohol. And even what they have, they hide and dilute very much.
Although in their advertising they write that the best world drinks - "Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits" - this is an absolute LIE.
Only a couple of times were normal non-diluted drinks after talking with the manager.
"Unlimited natural fruit juices " - it's an absolute LIE.
"Limitless access to gourmet à la carte dining options without reservations required" - BIG LIE.
We visited only one restaurant because we had to wait in line for an hour ... and we could not stand it and went to the buffet, which also often had no empty seats, because it is very VERY small!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank alexF8691YI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConcierge S, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear alexF8691YI,

Thank you for deciding to stay in our property during your holidays. Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We are sorry if some of our services were not up to the standards you expected. Allow me to clarify that we do have rigorous standards of quality when it comes to food and beverage handling, to the point hat we are audited by an external company for this purpose. Regarding to the restaurants, one of our unique selling point is that our restauarants do not require reservation, in order to provide our guest with freedom sensation. As consequence, it certain times the wait can be longer. We regret the inconveniences.

We apologize for missing the opportunity to exceed your expectations and hope you will consider a return. 

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

The resort is quite small, which is nice that it's not too far to get to where you want to go, however, I think they could do with some additional washrooms near the different ends of the pool and near the beach, especially close to the barefoot grill.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Freddy who took us to get some food while we waited for our rooms to be ready. Then when we went back to the lobby to get our room keys, before we could get to our rooms, Freddy tried to talk us all into going to a "special breakfast" and that he would only need 15 minutes of our time...I mean at least we weren't hangry when he tried the sales pitch, but we did just fly in from a cold country and wanted to change out of pants and into anything that wasn't pants. We're really not fans of this "time share" type pitch at resorts and it immediately turned us off. I would recommend not trying to rope people into this breakfast when they first arrive. You could even send out an email prior to arrival and ask them if they want to go and offer the "gift" for attending, because let's face it, that's why people go to these things...the gift....

Food at the resort was just ok...some things on the menu were not what they said they were, for example, I ordered the pork tenderloin and received a pork chop. Not a huge deal but not what we were expecting either. The more traditional Dominican food though was amazing.

The rooms were clean, no complaints there at all.

The drinks at the resort were inconsistent. For example, at the pool bar, I received a drink from one of the bartenders which was excellent and the next couple that day tasted the same, fantastic, but I ordered the same drink, the next day, from the same bartender and it was nothing like I received the day before. Not sure if they ran out of all the things they needed for the drinks but seemed strange that the same person wouldn't make it the same way the next day. We were also finding our drinks to be a little weak at times.

The beach was very nice, lots of fine sand. The tractor seemed good about keeping up with the seaweed from what we saw. We didn't get to spend much time on the beach though because of the wind and rain while we were there.

The "lazy river" does not have a current but it's nice to have a quieter side of the pool to go to. It seemed to be colder in the river side of the pool than the main pool. Staff was constantly cleaning the pool which was great because the wind was constantly filling the pool with debris, it was very nice that they kept on top of it.

You have to go to the desk to check out, which is really just so that you can fill out a survey. Which is fairly long and the tablets do not respond well to touch.

All in all, it's a decent resort, short drive from the airport but I would likely look at other options before returning.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathermH9229QJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eConcierge S, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear heathermH9229QJ,

I want to express my gratitude for choosing our hotel for your holidays. Thank you for sharing your honest feedback about your stay. It’s always nice to hear the cleanliness in our rooms and pools stands out us from others properties.

Though, we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We are sorry your arrival was blurred by the approach form certain team, rest assure this situation, as your feedback concerning to the food and drinks are going to be addressed directly with the operative team.

However, we regret not meeting some of your expectations and have taken note of your intuitive feedback as we are always in pursuit of enhancing our overall guest experience. 

Best regards,

Clara Escribano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews