We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are so happy we found the resort of our choice from now on.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We are so happy we found the resort of our choice from now on.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Space doesn't allow listing all of the attributes of this fabulous, new and beautiful resort. The staff was wonderful, spacious suites, immaculately clean, and many food choices.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SamsterCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,442
    1,711
    655
    183
    98
See reviews for
840
6,288
162
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,422)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Just returned from five days at NH Royal Beach. Hotel and grounds were beautiful. Rooms were nicer than expected...more upscale than other Caribbean resorts where we have stayed. Food for very good, but not outstanding. As others have said, it was tough to get reservations at the a la carte restaurants. Do that as soon as you check in. The Buffet was excellent, and the two a la cartes we ate at (Mexican and Italian) were very good, but not spectacular, so we were not disappointed the nights we ate at the Buffet. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Beach is great. There were plenty of palapas but they fill up fast in the morning. You should get out before eating breakfast and throw towels on lounges to reserve one.
Overall, this is a nice quiet resort. If you want some night life, you can go next door to the Real Arena -- shows, nightclub, casino.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VARob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

We got to the resort and it looked nice and we were excited. then we had to wait forever for our room. They did upgrade us which was nice.

Then... we get to the room. and we always like to see how the service is. We feel that is what makes the trip. Punta Cana is beautiful regardless. So we want to be taken care of and have good service. After all thats why we came right?

Ok so thing that sucked:
1. wthey wouldnt let us call and make reservations we had to walk all the way to the lobby... ??
2. ran out of towels constantly and it took over an hour to get more every time. so when we wanted to shower after sunbathing we had to wait! also they only let you have one towel each on the beach. that sucks.
3. room service was cold and crappy.
4. food was real nasty
5. no service on the beach and the bartender at the beach bar pays no attention to waht is going on.
6. room keys just stopped working. that was a major hassle.
7. had to ask for conditioner 6 times before they would bring some for my fiance.
8. whirlpool was broken we had 4 workers in out room for an entire afternoon!
9. drinks were watered down and gross.
10. one morning i was walking by the pool bar and 5 employees were yelling at each other. very unprofessional. bad vibe.
11. the list can go on. we were constantly wondering what was next... !!!
12. oh and they charge you 4 bucks for 15 min of internet use. LAME!!

crappy place to stay. CRAPPY.

good stuff.

1. clean
2. mall right there
3. beach is amazing
4. love punta cana
5. new resort
6. showers were nice.
7. good if you don't care about the service at all.

just don't go there. go to the majestic elegance or the iberostar grand.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddallen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron,Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

This fabulous all- inclusive resort left us wanting Nothing else. New, beautiful, immaculately clean, spacious suites, private jacuzzi on every balcony, and the best part- adults only. The staff were incredible. Warm and friendly, professional, and eager to make our stay just perfect. Two tips: If you want to see the island and culture, take one excursion. Outback Safari. You will see and do everything the island has to offer in one trip, and the tour guides make it a blast! Tip #2- At the resort, if you want a steak, don't eat at the steakhouse. Go to the Mexican restaurant and order their filet mignon.
This was the best trip I have ever taken. And this resort- I could live there! Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wen6017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Stayed at the Royal from 3-6 to 3-10-10. The hotel itself is beautiful ,however appearances are deceiving. This is certainly not a 5 plus star per Apple's rating. I have travelled extensively in the carribean and this is my second time visiting the D.R. The maid service was sketchy as was the mini-bar service. Since it is necessary to drink bottled watwer in the DR one does need water! After inquiring several times (4 to be eaxct) I finally got some extra water for the room. The food was mediocre at best. When we arrived we knew from past experience to book our restaurants immediately which we did. However, we were told there were no reservations except for 9:30. We reluctantly took those and wish we had shown up at all for dinner. Later upon talking to other guests (many whom had checked in a day later that we did) we found that they had received any reservations they wanted, They were also on Apple so it did not make sense.. The first night we went to the Shore Grill at the NH Arena to find that is was only half full. The stmosphere reminded me of a 70's Sizzler Steakhouse however, that's where the comparison ended. Sizzlers were much better! I ordered ribs and my husband ordered a steak. Both were served with a tiny baked potato. The food was literally cold! When I asked if it could be heated I was rudely told no! The irony of this is that people were coming in here dressed to the nines and acted like they were in a fine restaurant! The next night we didn''t get reservations and happened to be walking past Pure in our hotel. Two women were leaving and they adbvised that there was noboby in the restaruant. One women kindly went to the Maitre'd and asked if they would let us in fo dinner which they did. What a mistake that was. "dinner was a series of "tastings" with the first course being some type of cream soup whch couldn't rival Campbells! The next night we went to the Mexican, El Mortero which was by far the only one that could pass as acceptable. The final straw was that you cannot order any type of mixed drink in the restaurants or the buffets, only beer or wine which I have never experienced at any all-inclusive resort. The buffets actually had better food that the a la cartes. In a nutshell my general impression of these restaurants was they wanted to get you in and get you out as fast as possible. I found the wait staff to be bordering on rude without being overtly so. They would take your plate before you were finished in order to do thier clean up work but would not respond so quickly if you needed someting. I would like to say that I usually eat anything and I am not a picky eater but this place tested my limits. Next problem: the bar situation. Three bars on the Royal side. two of them closed @ 6:00 thus leaving only the lobby bar open. Many times you would have to wait to get a drink. The bartenders did their best but are grossly overworked. Also the liqour brands changed mysteriously from day to day @ each bar and premium brands were not always available. The disorganization continued at the beach. My husband wanted to use a hobie cat which is included but was told that reservations were not taken, that he would have to keep coming back all afternoon to see if one was available! I also witnessed several hotel employees yank towels off lounges on the beach and confiscate them for people who were requesting them if they arrived late to the beach! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone nor would I return as I feel you would be much happier somewhere else. Don't waste your time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Stayed here last week and it rained the first 3 days. Staff very upbeat and would have changed the weather if they could have. Rooms clean, showers with great pressure, nice thick towels. Buffet was plentiful and fresh, no complaints here. The best food we had was off the resort just a mile walk down the beach to Capitan Cooks. Freshest seafood I've ever had, highly recommend it if you want one meal off the resort. We also enjoyed Isaiah's beach yoga class and nicknamed it "beautiful man beach yoga :)". Did take a cab into plaza bavaro to shop and was harrassed to the point of it being annoying to enter all the shops. We only tried one restaurant, Pure, and it was OK. Room service on the rainy days were nice, with great cheese and fruit platters delivered promptly.
Would definately return to this resort and give it my highest rating.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevobeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

First time in the Dominican and we all had a awesome time. Weather was great, food was good, beer was cold. Staff was very helpful. Lots to do if that what you want or just crash at the beach. Able to watch the Olympic men's hockey final at the sports bar, lol. Food selection was good.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosuscca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,911 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing