We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything I wished for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything I wished for”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

What can I say it was a fantastic vacation. Go VIP it gets you a room closer to the beach or pool if you prefer and access to a couple of private bars. We had a private bartender in our lobby which was amazing. I had a drink waiting for me every time I passed close to the bar. The pools were clean and full of fun people. If you wanted some alone time you could just take a floating lounge chair down the lazy river for a relaxing ride. The dinner options were many and the buffets were well stocked and appropriately prepared. The club was alive at night with guests. You do need to get up early and reserve your chairs for the day either at the pool or on the beach.

I really enjoyed my time at this resort. It did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Go VIP all the way. I gets you a private bartender and a room closer to the beach. The customer se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fidelis380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear fidelis380
Receive cordial greetings on behalf of our entire personnel , we would like to thank you for sharing your experience, is our absolute pleasure reading reviews as kind as yours.
We have congratulated all our staff whose service contributed in your happiness.
We hope that we can welcome you back soon, and we can meet personally!
Best regards
Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,559
    1,744
    664
    186
    100
See reviews for
867
6,400
165
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,458)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We recently visited Secrets Royal Beach in Punta Cana. We had an awesome time! The beach was beautiful, the hotel was first rate. The Entertainment Team was instrumental in making this a fun-filled vacation! Evelyn, Karen, and Charlie Brown ensured we had fun the entire time we were there! Our housekeeper, Ramona B was sweet and made sure we were comfortable and our room was clean. The bartenders at the pool, Ruben and Willie Mays were attentive and always remembered our orders. While at the beach, Jonathan was an excellent server and even taught us Spanish. The entire staff at Secrets Royal Beach were attentive, fun, and made sure we were having an awesome time! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Jackie K
Receive cordial greetings on behalf of our entire personnel , we would like to thank you for sharing your experience, is our absolute pleasure reading reviews as kind as yours.
We have congratulated all our staff whose service contributed in your happiness.
We hope that we can welcome you back soon, and we can meet personally!
Best regards
Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Went for a "birthday" retreat and traveled with others. All rooms were placed close to another as requested. The resort still looks new. Very clean! The swim up rooms were fun: grab a blue float and do the lazy river outside your room. Staff was "Magnifico", very kind and helpful! Never had trouble finding beach chairs. Had a wonderful cleansing facial! Highly recommend visiting the Spa, great facility! Loved the on site coffee shop, great STRONG Dominican coffee and pastries. Just a tip for those traveling; As a common courtesy and sign of respect I believe you should attempt the language of the country you visit...it really does make a difference in the way you are treated :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Heather G
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about experience among us. I have no words to express our most sincere gratitude for your lovely comments about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana; and on your behalf we will congratulate our personnel for helping to make your stay memorable.
Critics like yours, allow us to see the hotel from the point of view of the customer, and see through your eyes as you lived your holiday also you help us to improve the service that is why we are taking note about your kind suggestions.
On behalf of my team, I want to thank you again for choosing us over other Caribbean hotels for your holidays
Warm regards
Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Ok simply put,
Room: excellent, modern, spacious, comfy bed loads pillows.
Staff: excellent, friendly, obliging.
Facilities: excellent, best pool I've been to, lots of room to get a spot to yourself and then the big pool to mingle at the bar, gym, loads of restaurants, casino, shops.
Food: here's the small let down, it's just not consistently very good, the cooking of meat is average in most restaurants, I can understand this in the buffet as it sits cooking away but even in the a la carte it was disappointing across the board, Spice and Bluewater Grill were our favourites. But look, it was a decent standard and the selection is unreal! Room service not great!
Beach: great beach, nice clean sand and loads of chairs and space, seaweed is an epidemic there every morning but fair play to them the clear it off everyday!
That's it! Recommend it? Yes, it is a very good resort!

Room Tip: Swim up rooms look the business! If we were returning would go for this, it's close to pool obvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Ben H
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We congratulated on your behalf our personnel of Secrets Royal Beach, for helping to make your stay memorable. We will look forward to welcoming you back again. In our hotel we are honored to have customers like you.
Comments like yours give us strength to continue on our way, thank you for your warm words of support and encouragement, your message will be communicated to all staff to share the joy I felt when reading it.
Thanks again.
Warm regards
Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Everything perfect.. Food, sea... room.. Nice place to relax....
I would appreciate more place for dinner.. And some kids were coming from the close hotel making mess on the beach..
Amazing view from the balcony..
People are very nice

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parislo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Parislo
Greetings from Secrets Royal Beach
Many thanks for choosing to stay at our resort. Providing an excellent stay experience is our reason to be. Thank you for the kind words about the Hotel. We are indeed happy to know that you have a great stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again, and assure you of our best services and fullest attention at all times.
Warm Regards
Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We just returned tonight from a four day getaway at Secrets. We are a well traveled couple and mostly enjoy history, culture, and exploring on our own in new places. As a result, we had never been to an all inclusive prior to our trip to Secrets a Royal Beach. Our plan during this short getaway was truly to do as little as possible. We were successful in accomplishing that goal.

We arrived at one in the morning, after an emergency on our flight, being diverted to Orlando, and having to wait for another plane to continue on to Punta Cana. Being at the airport for more than 16 hours was not fun, but upon our arrival that didn't really matter. Check in was fast and within minutes we were being shown to our room. One thing which I found interesting was that check in did not require one to leave a credit card for incidentals, etc as is normal at hotels. (Perhaps this is normal at all inclusives?). We were in room 5340, which is located on the third floor in the first building once outside of the lobby. This was a great location as we were in very close proximity to La Havana bar, the plaza, and in close proximity to the restaurants on Secrets side (La Riviera, Oceana, Barefoot Grill, and Gohan), the pool, and the beach.

After unpacking we decided to order room service. According to the guest manual it was to take forty five minutes for the food to arrive (of course and average) but we were pleasantly surprised to see it far faster than that as we feared we would fall asleep due to our exhaustion. Placing an order was quick and efficient. This was one place were speaking Spanish wasn't necessary unlike so many other places around Secrets.

The following day we headed to Riviera for breakfast and found the buffet offerings to be plentiful and varied surely to please every palate. The wait staff quickly approaches you to offer drinks and maintains your glass/cup full throughout your meal. They do speak Spanish to guests far more than English, or at least use Spanish first and then switch to English if you don't reply in Spanish. I can't exactly comment on this fully however as I do speak fluent Spanish.

The beach was one our favorite places to be during our stay here. We went after 10am one morning and after noon on another day and never had trouble finding an available set of lounge chairs or a palapa. One day we even took a nap under one of them. In the beach drink service is provided and varies from very slow to the point where your cold drink will arrive hot and the ice melted to so prompt that the bottle of water will still have ice around it. We also saw a server hide under one of the palapas with a long overhanging roof where she drank a beer. The beach itself, just like very other review has mentioned, is full of seaweed. It is combed daily but still it will find its slippery self wrapped around your legs and feet.

The pool was interesting. I didn't really get it at times. There is a huge wrap around lazy type people where float around in a large circle and there is also an area of what I think is the same pool where people sit at the wet bar and drink, talk, shoot basketball, etc. not much swimming was happening at all, and I wanted to swim but didn't.

Being a guest at Secrets allows you the opportunity to venture over to Now Larimar, which we did. It was loud and quite crowded. The one thing that we did enjoy was the French restaurant Mercure. It was exquisite. We regretted not returning the second night. We tried the International Cafe but found it subpar.

The drinks at Secrets were horrible unless you specifically asked for alcohol in them. That was a bit strange to me, as they tout unlimited premium alcohols. I suppose you have to ask for them to get them. It must be in the fine print!

The Ultimate Vacation Club representative, George, was a delight. He was honest and open about his promotional sales. He told us he would have breakfast with us, offer us a small gift, give us $50 in vouchers to spend at the on site store, and tell us about the club. We declined and he was still pleasant throughout our stay.

The concierge desk was extremely helpful and is the place where you can check in to your flight, and print your boarding pass without paying ridiculous prices for wifi. Raquel at the concierge desk was fabulous. She was genuine in her interactions, and made you feel as if she wanted to know you not just treat you like a guest.

The entertainment which changes nightly was okay some nights while others it was good. It was concerning one night during the Taino show where young men danced with fire and the fire ring fell out of his hands and landed very close to the audience not once but twice. Ironically while he danced with it all I was thinking about was how close he was to the audience and what would occur if there was an accident of some sort. Luckily no one was hurt but it was worrisome. The karaoke was horrible. The equipment was not fully operational and it wasn't very popular to begin with. It seemed very difficult to get singers.

All in all, we achieved our goal of relaxing, enjoying far too many drinks, and doing nothing. We did not necessarily find the place to be overly romantic or did we find it to be overly private. However we did not seek opportunities to get to know others as we were looking to make friends nor hang out. That did seem to be quite popular though. We found ourselves finding opportunities to be alone rather than with groups or in crowded spaces. With all that in kind, we would likely return to Secrets. I do not see myself staying there longer than five days though. We did not leave the resort once and would likely not leave in the future. For me vacationing here is about relaxing and doing nothing rather than our typical style of vacationing.

The "excellente" thing they drill into your head drove me nuts after the second day. When someone would ask us how we were we never said excellente and they worried as if good wasn't good enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Belle1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Belle1025
We want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about experience among us. I have no words to express our most sincere gratitude for your lovely comments about your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana; and on your behalf we will congratulate our personnel for helping to make your stay memorable.
Critics like yours, allow us to see the hotel from the point of view of the customer, and see through your eyes as you lived your holiday also you help us to improve the service that is why we are taking note about your kind suggestions.
On behalf of my team, I want to thank you again for choosing us over other Caribbean hotels for your holidays
Warm regards
Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbon Cliff, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We spent 5 days at Secrets Punta Cana in August. The resort was wonderful, the wait staff and entertainment staff made the trip exceptional! The wait staff including Fernando, (poolside) and Herman, (beach grill) were always friendly and provided consistently fabulous service! The entertainment team made the experience the best part about the trip! Specifically Karen, Evelyn & Scooby-Doo! The entire 5 days they were engaging, friendly and fun!! We will miss them!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager N, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Kim S
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We congratulated on your behalf our personnel of Secrets Royal Beach, for helping to make your stay memorable. We will look forward to welcoming you back again. In our hotel we are honored to have customers like you.
Comments like yours give us strength to continue on our way, thank you for your warm words of support and encouragement, your message will be communicated to all staff to share the joy I felt when reading it.
Thanks again.
Warm regards
Clara Escribano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,036 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing