We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We chose this resort because our travel agent knew we would like this adults only relaxing,fun,private,clean and safe resort. We are not big drinkers or eaters,but we do enjoy trying different foods and drinks.This resort had both.We stayed in a swim up room #4150 which was a very good choice with the lazy river pool 6ft.from the patio.Waiter service all the time.The beach is very clean the water clear and just right.Grill on the beach had good chicken and steaks.The buffet we ate there for breakfast,I enjoyed the quiche and all the different fresh mango and pinnapple and the juices. We had dinner at the two restaurants on site --good. 3 dinners on the NOW site.Our best meal and entertaining meal was at the Bluewater grill with the table to table Trio playing requested songs .Pretty Woman for my wife of 34yrs. Just great! We went to the Casino bet $40 on Roulette and won every time we won we tipped the dealer until we were back to the orginal $40 then cashed out fun again! Went to a couple of shows they had and they are alot of fun with the cast being the young staff working as waiters ect.during the day. These shows are not Vegas Atlantic City or Broadway they are kids having a blast and doing the very best they can and we really enoyed thier efforts. My wife and I know that the people working at these resorts don't make alot of money,so that being said we tip everyone.$5 a day for the maid $5 at breakfast $5 at lunch $10 at dinner $2 per drink I can not get up from a table after being waited on and not tip.I am not wealthy,just a working class man that knows that the tip will go a long way in the Carribean. We ordered room service 3 times,was ther in 30min. good again. The one thing we didn't enjoy was the airport on arrival,very confusing.Filled out form on plane paid $20 entry fee for two but then was told we had to fill out another DR form.Noone had filled these out no pens no help.Then the guys wanting to carry our small carry ons added to the feeling of chaos of trying to find your way to your shuttle to the resort.Missed the Apple Reps. found on outside taking his lunch break at a food stand and he helped us get to our shuttle . Thank you $5tip. All and all great weather good food good drinks and as always we met some nice people enoying life.Germany,UK,Luxenberg,Oregan,Pittsburg,Michigan,PhillyandNJ Go here and enjoy! The SPA WAS GREAT!

Room Tip: Swim up room do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadrack28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear ed f

Greetings from Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay in our hotel.

I feel very happy that you had a memorable experience in our hotel and I hope that you had enjoyed the hotel benefits at all.

On the other hand, it will be an honor if you decide to join us once again, If that happens I will make sure to give you a memorable vacations in our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,559
    1,744
    664
    186
    100
See reviews for
867
6,400
165
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,458)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

From the pools that river their way across the resort, to the white sands on the beach, the resort was absolutely beautiful. The pools and garden are constantly tended to ensuring that everything stays clean and beautiful.
What makes this resort stand out however, is their staff. The service my friends and I received were well beyond expectations. We were greeted by practically everyone. All the workers are very happy and love to sing and dance. Even when they are alone! Everyone also gets very happy and excited when you order their local drink Mamajuana, which really makes the atmosphere and experience so much better!
I'd like to give a special thank you to the following staff members:
Karen from the entertainment team. She'll sit at your table with you and treat you as if you were good friends. She's always singing and dancing and full of energy. You'll never be bored when shes around.
Fernando from the pool bar. He's one of the nicest people you'll ever meet. He'll go out of his way to make sure you're enjoying yourself. As long as you're in or near the pool, you'll rarely find yourself without a drink!
Carlos from La Habana bar. He is a master bartender. Of the many Bloody Marys' i had during this trip, nobody was able to make it as good as him. He also made this custom blue drink called the Carlos Azure for my friend which was fantastic. Be creative and let him know what type of drink you want. He'll make it a reality!
And lastly, Vanessa and Juan from the spa. They were very helpful and nice. During the hydro circuit, we were never rushed (even when my friend and I contested on who can stay in the freezing water longer) and were allowed to take our time during the hydro massage and jacuzzi sections. They definitely made this trip more relaxing!
So overall, I would recommend this resort to everyone! It's Excellente!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Will W

Greetings from Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us.

I feel very thrilled that you had enjoyed of a memorable vacations in our establishment and it will be an honor that you join us once again in our hotel, where I will be pleased to give you our warmest service and attentions as well. If that happens, do not hesitate to contact us any time.

Warm regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarryville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

To begin, I want to share that I spent hours scouring TripAdvisor for the best resort in Punta Cana that our travel agent offered. I chose Secrets because of the excellent reviews it recieved and it's place on the hotel list. It was our first all-inclusive, though we have done many cruises prior to this trip. I understand that a lot of reviews can be overly harsh and I want to assure you that this is purely what we experienced. No overly high expectations. Here's the conclusion I've come to:

The Good
1. The beach is definitely beautiful. The have cute little hut umbrellas and plenty of chairs (though it is the off season)
2. The BBQ on the beach is SO GOOD. We ate the chicken every single day and it was probably the best meal we had.
3. The side-by-side excursion was so much fun!
4. As honeymooners, we got to have dinner on the beach! It was very beautiful.
5. There are certain staff members who certainly stood out. Henri and Felix were two of our favorites. For the most part, the staff is very friendly.

The Not-So-Good
1. There is seaweed everywhere. I mean EVERYWHERE. This resort is actually on the Atlantic side, so don't expect super clear caribbean waters or neat snorkeling right on the beach.
2. Weird restaurant hours. There are chunks of the day that no restaurant is open on the resort. Lunch usually closes between 3-4 and dinner doesn't begin until 6:30. There might be a restaurant or two on the Now Larimar side (sister resort you have access to) but not really.
3. We aren't super huge drinkers. We drank, but not nearly enough to justify the money we spent. Most of the entertainment are parties in the evening. We did go to the magic show and NFL Monday Night Football on the Beach, but other than that it wasn't too exciting. We went to the Casino which is actually pretty surprising. It consists of two roulette tables, 2 open black jack tables and about 20 slot machines. Not much of a casino at all actually. The entertainment definitely pales in comparision to what you get on a cruise ship. Also know that most shows, shops, the club and the casino are in the Now Larimar complex.
4. The rooms look huge on the website. They're really not. The ocean view is a tiny glipse over the tops of the palm trees. The fan was broken, the hot tub takes an hour to fill and the TV is almost entirely in Spanish.
5. We took a taxi to the Hard Rock Cafe, which is in a shopping cener about 3 miles away, on Friday night because we were craving some American food. We arrived almost two hours later, after the taxi driver took us to the other side of the island to the Hard Rock Hotel. I know it was a miscommunication, but when I asked to be taken back to the hotel, in Spanish, he just shrugged his shoulders and said no. Quite the trip believe me.
4. You CANNOT walk up and down the beach without getting hounded by people wanting to take you to their shops to buy things. You also cannot sit in a chair without people coming around to get you to book an excursion or write a TripAdvisor review for them.

Overall, it was a relaxing trip. The Seaside Grill is definitely the best food-wise. It was a nice time, but we would not come back. I recommend Royal Caribbean cruises over this by a long-shot. At least we know now that the all-inclusive isn't really for us. If you're looking to spend all your time drinking then it's probably a better deal for you.

One other side-note, there are no hammocks near the lazy river and the "hot tubs" at Now Larimar are cold tubs! Don't go in!

Room Tip: Don't spend the extra money for the "Ocean View". It's not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 846devanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very clean, beautiful resort ! We didn't even get to enjoy all the many amenities & events. Bring small bills, because even though it is not necessary, you will want to tip the staff for great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Jeffrey Mr C

Greetings from Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent anniversary stay with us.

I feel very thrilled that you had enjoyed of a memorable vacations in our establishment and it will be an honor that you join us once again in our hotel, where I will be pleased to give you our warmest service and attentions as well. If that happens, do not hesitate to contact us any time.

Warm regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful place, nature, pool river and excellent service. Everybody greets you, all are happy people and they all love to sing and dance even if they are alone.
The staff at the bar in the lobby (reception area) are a great family. Carlos Azul! Excellente! I requested a blue drink in a coconut with minimal alcohol, Carlos did his best to make it happen! Even though it was not in a coconut it tasted amazing. I highly suggest trying the Carlos Azul drink!!! Fernando (King Kong), Santo and other Carlos (Osso) will be missed.
Fernando and Derby from the swim up bar will make your drink come true, just describe the type of drink you want and they will make it happen. They also describe Mamajuana the best.
Pedro the night security between the 2 resorts is friendly and lively. Even though our Spanish and his English is limited, we still enjoyed the random broken language and hand gestures.
If you ever go to the family resort next door for the restaurants, there is an awesome waiter named Frey. Above and beyond service and very friendly, practically stole my heart :) If you have Larry as a waiter, you will never have an empty glass :) Excellente!
The Entertainment team with Karen, Akon, Eddy Murphy and Milky Way was muy EXCELLENTE!! :) Karen took the time to sit down to talk with my friends and me, as well as teaching us how to dance. Eddy Murphy is a fun and awesome guy. Akon is a great dancer, but still owes me a dance ;) wait until i return AKON! Milky Way, the man that many women requests and demands. You will understand when you meet him ;D
Entertainment Band of the resort plays great live music almost every night. In my opinion, they are usually under appreciated by the guests. The Circus Show was fabulous! Very impressive skills and talents. Too bad some of the acts were in the background, being over shadowed by the girl lip syncing and looking pretty on the main stage. Personal favourite was the man doing the fire poi act.

My friends and I might have been the only singles in this resort at first. Majority of the people there are couples, but it was still ever so fantastic. You will be pampered and spoiled.

EXCELLENTE!!! MAMAJUANA!!! :D

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Bonnie M

Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay in our Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and thank you for your confidence, your recognition is highly appreciated by my personnel.

I would like if you decide to join us once again, where we will do our best to give you another unforgettable vacation with us, if that happens, do not hesitate to contact us any time.

Warm regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The best experience of my life so far .. i had a good time and loved everything about secrets royal .. my favourite staff was topacio very helpful and a good laugh and all other staffs from seaside grill, la riviera the entertainment team where perfect .. i had fun and i will be back soon! ayo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ayokunle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Ayokunle M

Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay in Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.

We feel very thrilled that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities at all and also we feel very happy that you had a good experience during your stay.

Through of your comments, we can get the best recognition as one of the best hotel destinations in the Caribbean.

We hope you can visit us once again and it will be great if we can meet you personally. If that happens we will do best to give you a memorable vacations in our luxury hotel.

Warm regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very clean resort and rooms. The beach is very clean and the water is gorgeous, plenty of places to lounge and get a tan or sit under a palm tree and relax. I highly recommend the lobster dinner on the beach!!!! This is our second time going to this resort and plan to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerSERPC, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Kevin M

Greetings from Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us.

I feel very thrilled that you had enjoyed of a memorable vacations in our establishment and it will be an honor that you join us once again in our hotel, where I will be pleased to give you our warmest service and attentions as well. If that happens, do not hesitate to contact us any time.

Warm regards

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,031 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing