We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome vacations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome vacations”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It's was one the best trips I ever had in life,exellent service,very nice people and they have awesome accomodations, Definitely this one of those destinations you want to come back again and again, good job guys

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,559
    1,744
    664
    186
    100
See reviews for
867
6,400
165
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,458)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are accustomed to high end travel - RUN! The food was terrible, beach covered with seaweed, and the rooms comparable to a budget hotel. Completely unmemorable for any positive reasons; but I will remember to never go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asteroid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Asteriod25

Receive cordial greetings from the entire personnel of Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana. We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your unpleasant stay with us.

I would like to express our most sincere apologizes for every inconvenience you have encountered during your stay at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana. We regret not being able to meet the expectations you had before arriving at our hotel.

I do not want to lose you as one of our privilege guests, so I appreciate If you kindly contact us through of my personal email address, lgomez@secretsresorts.com, where I would pleased to compensate you about the uncomfortable situation that you had this time, in that happens please, do not hesitate to contact me any time.

I regret about the unfortunate facts that did not allow you enjoy your stay plentiful and also I would like to think that somehow you can change your mind about our resort.
Thank you for your time and I hope to hear from you soon

Yours faithfully

Luis Gomez
Hotel Manager
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort & Spa
lgomez&secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon at secrets royal beach punta cana and we have not got a bad word to say about it. The only bad thing is we had to come home. We loved every minute of our holiday there. We were greeted with complimentary champagne and made to feel very welcome and looked after straight away, which remained to be this way for the entire holiday.
The resort is beautiful and really felt like a paradise, everywhere is spotlessly clean and so well maintained. We split our time between the beach and the pool which were both as lovely as each other. Our room was very spacious and the mini bar and maid service was a great bonus. We loved the little touches like the sundial so we knew what show to look forward to the next day. The shows were to a really high standard, which often doesn't happen in resorts abroad. I myself am a dance teacher back in England and so thumbs up to choreographer Ramon and his team of dancers (particularly Kiki).
There was a good choice of restaurants all very different to each other meaning that it was impossible to get bored with the food. All of the meals were more than generous and we were impressed with the high standard of the food (especially for an all inclusive), there was not a meal that we did not enjoy! Our romantic dinner on the beach was perfect and well worth paying for. Drinks were of the same quality, with a huge choice both day and night. The waiter service on the beach and around the pool bar was great, the staff work so hard and are always so willing to serve you with a smile.
Onto the other staff, throughout our whole stay we didn't meet one staff member who wasn't happy and smiling and welcoming towards us. Even the cleaners and janitors make an effort to greet you. There were so many lovely people working at secrets from the waiters, to bar staff, to the entertainment team. Our favourite staff without a doubt were Milkey Way, B Boy Kiki and Frank the Tank from seapro. All of these were a pleasure to meet and get to know aswell as making our trip even more special. They are all genuine guys whose main aim is to make sure that the guests stay is 'excellente' and ours definitley was which was partly thanks to them.
We arrived home this morning and are already thinking about booking a trip back next year to celebrate our 1 year anniversary because we loved the resort so much. A big thank you to all at secrets for making our honeymoon all we could have wanted! Matt and Steph Evans

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph87E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was the best vacation ever!! The people that work there, the food, the beach, the pools!! everything is amazing! Since we got there, the workers at the hotel tries to please you all the time, making you feel so comfortable and special.
Is a place and specially the hotel, you never want to leave, I wanted to be a few more day, it is like been in Paradise...
Next year, for sure, I´ll be there and I will always recommend the hotel.
The people is so kind and friendly, there is so much to do at any time.
The food is just like eating food from heaven... so delicious and so well done.
I have to give a five stars to Fidel and his team New York, Milkey Way, Akon from the entertainment...
I just love everything about the hotel, the beach is amazing, the gardens are also amazing. The pools are extremely clean.
I´m mexican and I use to be around warm nice people, and I found out, that at the Secrets Royal Beach, is exactly what I like to spend my money and my vacation time.
BUT MUST THAT ALL, THE FOOD!!! excellent as the people that work in there... See you next year!!!!!!
PS--- Excellent and delicious DRINKS!!!! thanks for all the guys that work at the bar....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigSilvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our 10th visit to an all-inclusive resort, our 2nd time to the Dominican Republic. We were celebrating my husbands 60th birthday. We had an awesome 9 days at Secrets even with a close call from Tropical Storm Chantal. The resort was gorgeous and immaculately clean.

When you arrive at the airport and a porter wants to take your bags from the carousel in luggage pick-up, by all means do it. He took our bags, by-passed customs and brought us out to the correct transfer van. It’s a big sea of vans/busses/cars in the transfer area and we would not have known which one was a VIP transfer. He was definitely worth the tip money. If you are like us, we can’t wait to arrive at the check-in desk. Oh, upon arrival if you don’t care for the glass of champagne (like us) don’t be afraid to request a cold Presidente beer or any other drink! Mmnnnn that beer sure tasted good after traveling all morning.

A big shout out to a fantastic entertainment staff including: Akon, New York, Usher, Mikey Wey, Cheveron and Fidel. Also our butler Jacky and Henry who restocked our mini-fridge daily and replenished our bottle of Brugal as needed. Ramon at Seaside Grill who was our fantastic waiter both times we ate there. Enrique and Flabia our Preferred bar/beach waiters were very attentive and fast in keeping us well hydrated. Kenia, our housekeeper, who made up our room daily, was great too.

My husband was in heaven with rum punches from the Sandbar and the Marlin bars. I enjoyed all the flavored Absolute Vodka’s they had to offer, especially the Ruby Red. The selection of liquor was more than adequate for our drinking pleasure.

The beach was gorgeous. Powdery white sand with lots of palapas and palm trees for shade. We enjoyed the crystal clear aqua colored water on our daily Hobie Cat sailing. We never had a problem finding a palapa anytime in the morning. We do wish they had drink tables under the palapas.

The only time we spent at the pool was to attend water aerobics with Akon everyday. If you are at the resort on Thursdays you HAVE to join the foam pool party in the afternoon. It was hilarious! We also enjoyed the lazy river each afternoon which was quiet and never really crowded. Wish the lazy river was a little wider though.

The nightly entertainment on the plaza was OK. Not the best we have experienced but certainly not the worst. Good variety with the bands and nightly shows. The entertainment staff did a good job talking with people and getting people up to dance. We did make it to the Manager’s Reception Party (by sheer luck in timing). It was definitely worth it. Yummy appetizers and a fantastic show. I believe it was called Showtender with the unbelievable main bartender. Don’t miss it!

Be prepared to use the complimentary hand sanitizer at all the restaurants. It’s to help prevent the norovirus. However, we both had to use the Cipro a few times during our stay . We liked all the restaurants on the Secrets side, especially the lobster/shrimp on Monday night at the buffet. The grill master was happy to warm up our lobster tails for us too. We did go over to the NOW side two times and ate at the Spice & Mecure Restaurants. Definitely not up to par with the Secrets side.

We did check out the casino and played the 5 cent slot machine. We moved to a 2nd 5 cent machine and it was not working correctly. We brought it to the attendants attention and she refused to reset it or refund our money, so we left.

The Seapro Sports Center on the beach was fantastic! We made sailing reservations daily. Contrary to what we had read there is no $10 insurance fee required for water sports (we were asked once by a Seapro worker if we bought the “insurance” and we said “no” and he said “OK”). We also went on the Banana Boat ride which was on my “bucket list” for a long time! It was great! Also, we received a free 5 minute massage on the beach which prompted us to book a “Couples Swedish Massage” at the Spa hut on the NOW side. It was fantastic and priced reasonably. I highly recommend one!

Our room was very comfortable except the lighting was horrible. I expected it to be bad from other reviews but it was REALLY bad. If you like to read in bed I highly suggest you bring a reading light and if you can ladies, bring a light-up makeup mirror.

When we booked our trip we were given $200 in free coupons. Upon arrival we found out that in order to get these coupons we had to talk with an Amstar representative. All we wanted to do was get to our room and begin our vacation. Instead we were scammed into listening to him trying to get us to go to a presentation about Amstar Resorts. Needless to say, we did not get our coupons because we never went back to see him the next day.

The best part of the whole trip was that we were upgraded to the “preferred” building for the 1st time. OMG! It was great. Perks included lobster tails for lunch everyday at the Seaside Grill, our own section of the beach, our preferred pool & bar and our own butler. Our building had free I Pads to use in our preferred little reception area with top shelf liquor and appetizers. We had our own concierge and a selection of pillows for the bed (you have to request the pillows from the concierge). We felt so pampered and special. Make sure you get the “romantic Jacuzzi night” from your butler! Very special !!!

If you have any other questions or comments about our amazing trip, please ask. I would be happy to write back to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Like you we had read reviews for every hotel on the island and you always come across some negative ones, but for this hotel there were less negative ones and we went for it...... And what a decision that was. We had a fantastic time, loved all of the staff, felt listened to and regard the hotel as a high class hotel.

We're experienced travellers and in the last 16 months have taken over 50 trips, so our words certainly hold true..

My advice is, if you are unfortunate enough to encounter a problem whether in a hotel or in life - call it out. And the difference with this hotel, they'll put it right.

Special call outs are to Usher, New York, Chevron and Luis Gomez the Director who all listened to us, provided us with a fantastic honeymoon and make the hotel what it is today - A Hotel of the Highest order.

Don't delay, book up & enjoy the endless list of cocktails.

Mr & Mrs Evia-Rhodes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_EviaRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Peter_EviaRhodes,

Greetings from the sunny Punta Cana, and thank you to share your comments about your recent stay in our establishment. On behalf of our entire personnel, we feel very pleasant that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities at all. Your comments are very important to increase the hotel value getting the best recognition as the best hotel in Punta Cana as well. We really appreciate if you can join us once again and it will be perfect if we can meet you personally as well, in that case do not hesitate to contact us any time.

Be well

Luis Gomez
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
lgomez@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay. The food was great, excellent room and great service. We will go back for sure! There were so many activities to do and lots of food choices. Transportation to and from the resort were quick and easy. Great introduction about shopping, water and how to get back to the airport. Good times, great memories!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BAkemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,031 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing