We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Rest and Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St Vallier
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal for Rest and Luxury”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had All Inclusive ++ and could enjoy everything the Resort had to offer. The room are of very high standing, the beach perfect and not overcrowded. The pool has to be one of the best ever because of it's shape. The Jacusy on the balcony made it even greater. It's just what you want.

Room Tip: You don't need a beach view room, it's much noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jidless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that our staff, property and services made it up and went above and beyond to satisfy you and make you have an excellent vacation in this Caribbean paradise.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,559
    1,744
    664
    186
    100
See reviews for
867
6,400
165
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,458)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

If we hadn't been to Secrets Maroma in Mexico in 2011, this would have been the best vacation we ever had (May 10-17, 2013). Secrets Royal Beach was excellent but Secrets Maroma was excellent PLUS. We would highly recommend both. The grounds at Secrets Royal Beach are beautiful, very well maintained, and extremely clean. Although the climate is hot and humid, we didn't see any pesky insects at all.

ROOM - Our oceanview jr suite was excellent in every respect, the view from room 4376 was terrific. We were very close to the beach and didn't mind the longer walk to the lobby area and the restaurants at Now Larimar. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. Great balcony with jacuzzi. Spacious bathroom and shower. The mini-bar was restocked every day. Our housekeeper, Ramona, took good care of us and was always cheerful as were all of the staff at this resort. The switch on the jacuzzi didn't work but maintenance came and fixed in less than an hour.

RESTAURANTS - With access to all the restaurants at the neighboring Now Larimar resort, there are 10 choices ranging from buffets to fine dining. We liked the food at the French restaurant (Mercure) and Sea Side Grill (great filet mignon) the best but the Italian restaurant (Capers) and seafood (Oceana) were very good too. Although the portion sizes were small at the restaurants, you can order as much as you want and you also have access to 3 different buffet restaurants. We liked the La Riviera buffet the best and visited for at least one breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You don't need reservations for any restaurant (never had to wait more than 5 minutes) except for the hibachi grill at Spice which was just OK in our opinion.

BEACH - As expected, the beach and ocean were beautiful. Yes, there was some seaweed especially after storms but the staff cleaned the beach day and night and we didn't consider it to be a problem. The beach was fairly crowded so it was a little difficult to find an umbrella and drink service at times but we always found some shade under the many palm trees. There is also a bar on the beach so drinks were only a few steps away. We loved the grill on the beach, which had excellent burgers, steaks, chicken, shrimp, and mahi mahi. If you walk the beach, the locals will try to draw you into the shopping area on the beach a block or two away. Some people like the bargains but just say no if you are not interested because they don't give up easy.

ENTERTAINMENT - The entertainers were very talented, energetic, and positive but we would have liked more variety in the shows (mostly dance and acrobatic/circus themes). The Secrets band was very good. Thanks to Terremoto and Cheveron for their enthusiasm in all that they do.

POOL - We spent most of our time on the beach but the pool was great too. As others have said, availability of chairs in the shade was very limited.

STAFF - Very friendly and willing to serve. Not all speak English so more difficult to communicate with staff than at Secrets Maroma (Mexico). This really wasn't a problem though. We really liked our concierge, Jeancarlos, who provided a great introduction to the resort and was very willing to answer any questions. My wife even adopted him as her son for Mother's Day on May 12. One word of caution, if you have no intention of spending $8,000-$30,000 for the AMResorts Vacation Club and don't care about a free gift, just say no to the breakfast invitation on the 2nd day. We didn't consider the 60 minutes of time spent to be a problem and liked the free helicopter ride.

COUPONS - Be aware that the $200 or $400 in resort coupons are not very useful unless you plan to put up most of the cost of the particular service. The total is broken down into many smaller amounts and you can only use coupon one at a time. You can only use up to $40 at a time for the spa and only for the services that are $129 and above. There is also a hefty tax of about 20% for spa treatments but the exchange rate was good. My wife enjoyed the Aromatherapy Massage and pool/jacuzzi at the Spa.

TIPPING - The staff appreciated tips but never acted like they were expected. We were happy to tip the hard-working waiters/waitresses, housekeepers, and concierge. Our total tips were about $100 for the week.

OVERALL - We did consider Secrets Royal Beach excellent even though there's room for improvement to be at the same level as Secrets Maroma. Any negatives were relatively minor. Our oceanview jr suite was terrific. The week flew by in no time. We would also recommend Apple Vacations who made sure every detail was taken care of, from our arrival at the departing airport to the trip back to the Punta Cana airport. We look forward to visiting another Secrets in the future.

Room Tip: Room 4376 was on the 3rd floor very close to the beach and the view was terrific. The higher number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that our staff, property and services made it up and went above and beyond to satisfy you and make you have an excellent vacation in this Caribbean paradise. We really appreciate you comments and highlights as we know there is always rooms for improvement.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Secrets Royal Beach in May 2013. I will preface this review by saying neither of us are ultra critical people and were very much looking forward to our stay. I had stayed at the Secrets Wild Orchid in Jamaica in October 2010 and my favorable experience at that resort was the reason we picked another Secrets hotel in the Dominican Republic. I figure the easiest way to go about this is to just list our likes and dislikes. Again, I don't go on a vacation to nitpick ever small detail. We were very open and excited to enjoy everything the resort had to offer. We booked a pool room view with king bed and were on the 3rd floor. Here are our thoughts.

Our likes:

Check-in process was fast and the layout of the hotel is very nice. The lazy river style pool and landscaping made for some pleasing visuals from our balcony. Being able to utilize the restaurants at the Now Larimar side was a huge plus. The cleaning staff did a nice job and seemed very attentive. The in room refrigerator was re-stocked early in the day. The bed in our room was very comfortable.

We liked to stop for evening cocktails at the outdoor plaza and the service there was mostly good. We did a couples massage at the Spa and both enjoyed that very much. We booked a parasail ride from the company on the beach and that was also a lot of fun. For the most part the entertainment staff did a good job trying to make the atmosphere fun.


Our Dislikes:

The food was bland and restaurant options on the Secrets side of the hotel were limited. Other than the buffet, which you will 100% be eating at for breakfast, the only other restaurants are Oceana (seafood) and Gohan (sushi.) The food basically tasted the same in every place with the only difference being the decor change at each restaurant. A steak at Oceana tasted exactly the same as Mercure as it did at he buffet.

Our biggest problem with the food was my girlfriend got food poisoning our 3rd night after eating at Gohan. Made for a miserable night and next day with the after effects lingering the entire trip. I dodged the bullet until the last day and got to bring my stomach cramps, etc.. back stateside which I'm still battling as I write this review. So as you could expect we were both less than thrilled with the outcome of our eating experiences during our stay.

One last goofy dining experience we had was the night we decided to eat at Mercure on the Now side. We should have known there may have been a problem that night when we walked in and another guest was yelling at the hostess about the wait for a table. We were told we were 3rd in line for a table for 2. After an hour wait I went inside and asked where we were on the list. The girl inside said we were next for a table. About 5-10 minutes later our buzzer went off and we went inside. My girlfriend and I both started laughing as the restaurant was less then half full and we definitely would have seen a huge group of people pass us outside on the couches where everyone had to leave. We chalked it up to being understaffed or something. Towards the end of our meal we noticed a server looking at something on the ground and then went to a man in a suit and pointed at it. What he was pointing at? A mouse. Yep. The fancy French restaurant had a mouse scurrying around on its floor. At least one other table near us saw it too. They never did anything to get rid of it while we were there.

Another problem was the language barrier with the staff at the hotel. I would say most of the employees knew the minimum amount of English necessary. Pretty sure as long as you can say, "It's my pleasure" they consider you ready for interaction with the guests. They are incapable of answering questions. Any question was met with a nervous look and a repetition of what ever key word you were asking about. This is an actual example: "Does Gohan just serve Sushi or are there other entrees?" The response: "Gohan open at 6." Very helpful. Haha.

We were aware from other reviews that the beach had seaweed. Well, we can confirm it too. Plenty of seaweed washed up on the beach and in the shallow water swimming area. Frankly, it didn't bother me too much. My girlfriend probably was more upset about it.

I would have liked to see a couple of areas near the pool to get towels. The only place to get a towel was a walk to a hut on the beach. There were no towel stands near the lazy river pool. We started to grab 2 towels at the end of the day and brought them to our room for the next days trip to the pool to avoid a walk to the beach.

For whatever reason if you order a drink directly from the bars at the beach or pool your drink comes in a small plastic cup. If you order the same drink from a server at the beach or pool, it comes in a much larger hurricane or margarita glass. I've never been to a resort that has done that. Just strange and a little annoying.

The nighttime shows were average. For whatever reason they were never in the theater. Every show was in the outdoor plazas at either Hotel. Made seating bad at times. During the singer impersonator show I would say there were 3X the amount of people than chairs available. If it wasn't for an older couple leaving during the Beyonce lip-syncing portion we probably wouldn't have stuck around to stand for the entire show.

Shopping was terrible at the resorts. There are 3 places and 2 of them sold the exact same things.

The disco was the hottest place I've ever been to. Just ridiculously warm even at 11:00 at night.

All this being said we enjoyed the getaway mainly because of the time we got to share together. It was just a major bummer for both of us to get food poisoning while we were there. All the other negative things would probably been less of an issue if it hadn't happened. But it did, so I doubt a return to Secrets Royal Beach is in our future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for sharing your overall experience and we really regret those points that disappointed you as that is not a way we used to treat our customers and as you can read in other reviews is not the everyone experience. We apologize for those points that did not make it up for you and expect you to give us a second chance to show you the real way is a vacation experience at Secrets Royal Beach. Thank you for all your highlights as they have been passed to the concerning departments.


Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Myself and two friends planned a girls getaway at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana. Although we were out numbered by couples, we still managed to have the time of our life. The staff from the entertainment team, waitstaff, maids, grounds crew and security were all extremely friendly and made us feel at home. We were overwhelmed by the level of friendliness. The food was excellent, although not what we were accustomed to (not a suprise since we were in a different country). Our room was lovely and easily accomodated the three of us. The beach was gorgeous and very peaceful.
We took advantage of all the live entertainment while there. The entertainment team is out of this world! We specifically want to acknowledge Akon, Mickey Mouse and JC. A great looking bunch of guys with a lot of talent. Thanks for making us feel special ;-))!
Would return to this resort in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that our staff, property and services made it up and went above and beyond to satisfy you and make you have an excellent vacation in this Caribbean paradise. As our main goal is our guest satisfaction, we feel so proud of your feed back.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just got back from an amazing vacation at SRB from 4/28-5/3! We previously stayed at Secrets Silversands and Secrets Maroma Beach. This was the first time traveling with family members.

This resort is one beautiful property. The beach is wide, long, and powdery white sanded and the multi-hued color of the water is beautiful! But what sets this resort apart are the people! The impeccable service and the playfulness and joy radiating from the service staff completes your vacation! (I will list below the names of the ones that truly went above and beyond!)

We were slightly worried about the rooms not being able to be together since the resort was at full capacity and we had 3 rooms (1 swim up and 2 pool views) so we emailed Ms. Erika Quispe, the Concierge Manager, at gteconcierge.serpc@secretsresorts.com. She was kind and professional and bent over backwards to help us. Since it is not entirely under anyone's control as room assignments depend on availability, it understandably couldn't be guaranteed but with Ms. Quispe's help and a bit of luck, we were able to get the 3 rooms near each other and most importantly the swim up room in building 41 where the sun shines on the pool all day long, making the water warm and wonderful to swim in until early evening! The preferred building is closer to the beach and restaurants which makes it prime location but the rooms are actually in the Now building and the rooms in the Secrets building seemed a little bit nicer. We wanted our bed to be a king but they only had doubles so we called front desk and by the time we got back from dinner, they had made it into one GIANT king size bed! It was so comfortable. Do not be afraid to ask for anything. They will never look at you like you are strange or crazy - they don't even skip a beat in fact. They simply say that they will do everything in their power to make it happen if possible. "Anything is possible" and "It's our pleasure" is their motto!


I would highly recommend getting at least one swim up room if you are traveling in a group or just as a couple. It is true that the seats by the pool go fast since the layout of SRB's pool is unique to other resorts - it is a lazy river structure so the public seating area is limited. But as long as you have a swim up room which is not that much more money, it is absolutely amazing! I cannot say enough about the lazy river! I have never stayed in a beach resort where I was drawn to the pool more than the ocean! The water is so clean with a small current which makes it a LOT of fun to float around or walk around in it! Highly recommended for groups! Gives you something fun to do together! But heed the advice of all the other reviews and BRING YOUR OWN INNER TUBES or FLOATIES. If you forget, then they sell some at the Now resort side.

The food is GREAT and having the Now Resort access is wonderful. It is definitely more elegant and relaxed at Secrets but the Now side is very fun and alive. It was a great to have both options to choose from depending on how the mood strikes you. I would recommend going to go eat earlier to avoid crowds if you are going to eat at Now's restaurants. Make sure you check the Now's entertainment listing from the Now's front desk every night just so you can choose between the two.

The beach is beautiful! Yes, there's some seaweed but it is the ocean and the staff works tirelessly to clean it up. Just FYI, being completely objective, I would have to say that out of the 3 Secrets resorts we stayed in, Secrets Maroma Beach has the clearest water. Secrets Royal Beach, which is this one, takes second place since the color is beautiful and it is different than SMB's since it is multi-hued (some may think it's more beautiful than SMB's), but it is not as clear as SMB's ocean. Secrets Silversands' had the poshest, most beautiful property with the same level of amazing service but the beach was unfortunately rocky. However, that was 2 years ago and I have heard that they were able to remedy this somehow.

Now just to send some shout outs to the amazing people that you will fall in LOVE with!
Juan Carlos was one amazing manager! He took care of all 5 of us the WHOLE trip! He was always friendly and impossibly happy that you can't help but to feel happier just seeing him come towards you for an enthusiastic high five! I believe he will be life long friends with our family! I don't remember the name of the lady who cleaned our rooms but our room numbers were 2159, 2161, 4163 and she was the absolute best! In our room, we hate the sheets being tucked under the mattress. It took ONE day of us undoing that for her to figure out our preference and she left it out for us after that. The bed was still made perfectly and looked beautiful but hidden under was the sheet that were kindly left out! How awesome and thoughtful is that?!
Maritsa, Maritsa... I don't have enough words for this wonderful woman! she was my angel!!! I was 3 months pregnant and got sick from just the sight of various foods. But her food saved me! She is the talented chef behind the grill at the buffet and she took care of me, morning, noon and night! She is the kindest soul and one of the most beautiful human beings that I know!! She made me the most delicious food that I was able to eat and I felt SO lucky to have met her! God Bless your heart, Maritsa! Thank you thank you!!
Jose is the other chef who makes the most delicious crepes with the biggest, friendliest smile. And Nellys is the amazing natural fruit smoothie expert who has a way of making you feel special and welcome! Plus she can instantly memorize your name and the names of your entire family the first time you tell her!
Alberto was our pool server through out the whole trip. He was the most fun and cheerful person who never made a mistake on your drink orders and was always super fast! He made our pool time fun and never boring with his jokes!!
We loved Esterling and Nidia who were working at the breakfast buffet and Oceana during dinner. They were so kind to our entire family (Especially my dad - remember "¿Quieres casarte conmigo", Nidia? ;-) and so much fun to talk to!! And again, Esterling would never look at me like I was crazy even when my pregnancy cravings made me ask for the same dish FOUR times! He simply listened to my requests and ran to get it! Amazing!!
Santos Castro and Yveta at the preferred club were so inviting and fun as well! They made the preferred club our preferred meeting spot and bent over backwards to help!
And the breakfast staff that showed my brother-in-law how to fold an accordion with paper were SO awesome too! Thank you!! The accordion is sitting on our mantle displayed proudly!
And last but not least, the entertainment staff - I don't know everyone's names but EVERY SINGLE ONE of the entertainment staff BOTH at Now and Secrets deserve a special thank you also! They are impossibly energetic, welcoming, and unbelievably funny! New York, Chocolate, Akon, Isdis, Usher, Fibel, and all the ladies and men of the entertainment staff at the NOW side too!! Thank you thank you!!! We will never forget some of those shows you had where we laughed until we cried and how friendly you were in the hallways, always concerned if we were having fun! And not to mention you guys are spectacular dancers!!! :-) Don't miss out on the Couples competition show at Secrets and the Battle of the Sexes show at Now! And also the Cultural Show at Now! They are the best!!

And please recognize the ENTIRE resort staff. Every single one of them, even the ones that just walked by or asked how we were doing - They made us feel right at home and made us want to return!

Many many thanks and God Bless to everyone at Secrets Royal Beach and Now! You have made our trip an unforgettable one!! We can't wait to go back! If only we could bottle your gratitude towards life and enthusiasm towards your jobs, all of our problems in the US would disappear!

Room Tip: 41 building swim up rooms and the 21 building preferred club are in the best locations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blueoceanjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that our staff, property and services made it up and went above and beyond to satisfy you and make you have an excellent vacation in this Caribbean paradise.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a great resort, we had a great time. the room is spacious & the resort is immaculate. Entertainment is always around when you want it, but they also don't pester you to take part which is nice, special mentions to Akon & New York who were fantastic both day and night.

The beach is beautiful, you have 2 get up at 6 to get a good spot by the pool or a spot with shade on the beach but if you're a sun worshipper there are plenty of sun loungers.

The food was good at the buffet, I would recommend booking up for tappenyaki at spice restaurant as soon as you arrive as they have a long waiting list but it's the best restaurant. The Italian Capers was another favourite.

All the staff here are friendly, would be ideal if they spoke better English but it's still better than my Spanish!

I wouldn't hesitate to return. I would just suggest to secrets that they should provide free wifi.

Thank you secrets for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor you don't hear noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah12388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that our staff, property and services made it up and went above and beyond to satisfy you and make you have an excellent vacation in this Caribbean paradise. Thank you for your highlight regarding the internet services, our management is already talking about it.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our vacation was wonderful! Everything was very nice and clean, and the workers were so all so friendly. They always made sure you were having a great time. The beach was very nice too, there was a little seaweed but nothing major. They did keep the beach very clean, there was never any trash anywhere. The room was very clean. Most of the restaurants were good, there was one we didn't like (bluewater grill on NOW side) but ate at the buffet right after which made up for it. Spice, Tamarindo, and Seaside Grill were all ok. The hibachi place was all booked for the rest of the week as soon as we got there, but we got lucky one night when someone canceled so we did get to eat there. The sushi place was great, the service was very good there. The buffet always had a wide selection and the food was pretty good. We thought drink service on the beach could have been a little better, there were only 2 workers which attended to the people closer to the bar more, and the umbrellas were always taken unless we woke up at 7am to claim one. The time we spent on the beach we usually had to get our own drinks from the bar, except for one day and we never got an umbrella (we didnt wake up early enough)! There were palm trees and chairs for shade though. The shows at night were entertaining...and we did do the Saona island excursion as well as speedboat driving and snorkeling. One negative was the timeshare meeting they tried to arrange, they say we get a breakfast for 50$ in coupons so when we go there then they told us its a 90 minute presentation for sales, at that point we said no. We're on vacation who wants to sit through a presentation? We did go to the nightclub one night on the NOW side which was very fun, the music was good as well as drinks. The drink service during the shows at night was excellent, they always served us right away when we were running low. We would definitely go back to Secrets. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul8098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager, we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your favorite vacation destination and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that our staff, property and services made it up and went above and beyond to satisfy you and make you have a good time while vacationing in this Caribbean paradise.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,031 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing